web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » B » BELFASTTELEGRAPH.CO.UK

Total: 2383

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    the larger Beannchor Group The full group has interests in hotels and a number of licensed premises across Northern Ireland There are major inter dependencies for the group in the financing of the Merchant Hotel and the other related businesses Growing trend to look for acquisitions in corporates Overall we have been seeing a fairly good flow of corporate activity in the technology space generally and telecoms has been part of that Tax cut could help to rebalance our economy For small business owners the last few years have been lean they have had to cut costs and sometimes their workforce This Cloud really does have a silver lining As even a cursory glance at the business headlines will highlight times are difficult in the manufacturing sector Jury still out on whether terror attacks will deal blow to economic confidence As Paris continues to struggle with the aftermath of the recent tragedy many European countries remain on high alert due to threats of terror attacks Most recently we have witnessed the unprecedented lockdown of Brussels Dad told us to buy things we could afford Q Are you a plastic or cash person Why we need bright ideas to solve energy problems Electricity users and electricity policymakers will be reading the small print in the Chancellor s autumn budget statement this week There is expected to be some clarity on the way in which incentives in Great Britain are trimmed or reduced for investors in energy from on shore Saudi Arabia planning war of attrition with Russia s oil industry Russia s central bank recently warned about the growing financial risks to the Russian economy from Saudi Arabia encroaching upon its traditional export market for crude oil A new era for business if politicians can move forward The confirmation that a cut in corporation tax levied on trading activities by businesses in Northern Ireland will become effective from April 2018 will be generally welcomed by business owners across Northern Ireland There can be silver lining to world of cloud computing In a new series of articles on the relatively new world of cloud computing Gareth McAlister of Belfast company Nimbus CS busts the myths and explains some of the benefits Growth in Republic s GDP set to exceed 6 this year And faded through the brightening air Debt can be useful if you live within your means Each week we ask a businessperson about personal finances This week it s Gareth Chambers managing director of Around Noon Sandwiches in Newry more Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Most Read Most Shared Most Commented Why Minister must consider a Translink price increase John Simpson Why risks posed by Brexit don t add up for province John Simpson Making it simpler to cope with daily stress Opinion Northern Ireland economy is vulnerable in long term John Simpson Why council chief needs bold plans for Belfast s future John Simpson Pregnant woman booted off Belfast bus in blizzard

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=2 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    plants some of which are large traders in national and international markets The era of public influence through marketing Why our farmers have got to stay ahead of the field This is a challenging time for many farmers and agri businesses There has been pressure on prices in various sectors particularly dairy and livestock To get through tough times Northern Ireland agri food businesses need to continually improve Those that stand still will be As dividends roll in sitting tight may be best strategy Dividends paid by UK companies were at a record high of 27 2bn in the third quarter of this year according to the quarterly UK Dividend Monitor published by Capita Asset Services Be smart and act quickly or you risk finishing up in Room 101 The well known radio and television series Room 101 has been on our screens since 1992 In the show celebrities are invited to discuss their pet hates and persuade the host to consign them to oblivion in Room 101 Changes mean consumers face price volatility The UK government is bringing forward a new energy bill that is expected among other things to close the Renewables Obligation RO the main support scheme for wind energy in 2016 a year earlier than planned Why it makes sense to switch your supplier The home energy market has come a long way over the last few years Since other suppliers began to enter the market five years ago and compete for customers there has been a steady if not spectacular growth in the deals and offers available How social media in the workplace could be deleting our productivity Productivity in the UK workplace has risen by over 80 since the 1970s according to research by the Centre for Business and Economic Research with mobile phones email and business software responsible for the increase New hatchery will inspire and support our leaders As part of the recent Belfast One City conference I had the opportunity to talk to many members of Northern Ireland s diaspora to understand what their aspirations were for NI and get the perspective of some informed outsiders on the sectors and local businesses Why we need more than low costs to be competitive Doing business in Northern Ireland is cheaper for companies than the average in the rest of the UK or Ireland The cost of doing business in Northern Ireland compares favourably with equivalent costs in the rest of the UK Local costs also compare favourably with those in the New retailers coming to Belfast shows it s becoming an attractive destination for UK and international brands A retailer s choice of location is crucial and they spend a lot of time getting it right While some companies may have found it difficult to find exactly what they want in Belfast the run of new retailers arriving in the city indicates it is becoming an increasingly attractive destination for both UK and international brands Why you can bet the farm on

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=3 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    series of problems Some could and should have been foreseen at an earlier date but delay has compounded the immediate difficulties But regret has no contribution to make in offering solutions now The Minister acting By becoming global we create more security for Delta in Belfast When Game of Thrones runs out of steam and we need to pitch a new epic series to the studios we could do worse than give them the life story of Terry Cross How exports are key when building on the success of our food and drinks industry The renaissance of microbreweries home crafted foods and bespoke textiles are playing an ever increasing role in the vibrancy of our local economy Why political crisis isn t just a drop in ocean for NI Water Northern Ireland Water is trading successfully making a satisfactory profit and earning an annual dividend of 25m for its present shareholder the Department for Regional Development DRD Why lawyers should get off the hamster wheel I started my professional career in a small provincial practice doing whatever came through the door The notion of a billable hours target was an alien concept it was a case of doing the best job possible for every client and billing a fair amount to build a reputation for excellent service As a junior lawyer I tried to do exactly that but I never had to cancel a holiday or feel estranged from my wife and children due Dublin will pay price for a lack of ambition Is Dublin s tech dream beginning to wobble Last week certainly didn t do it any good First there was the Web Summit s decision to move its tech conference for 30 000 people to Lisbon because of Dublin s sub standard infrastructure and user experience We must not diminish the conditions for doing business I enjoy John Simpson s regular column I also enjoy John s company He is generous with his time and knowledge and I always leave knowing more than I did before we met Of course that does not mean that he is always right Indeed elements of his September 8 column Why Belfast must get the correct mix in business tourism Belfast and Northern Ireland s business tourism is a fast developing success story and its importance to the local and wider economy is integral in increasing our reputation as a world class visitor destination Conferences exhibitions incentive travel corporate hospitality How we re climbing ladder of the knowledge economy Expanding the knowledge economy is critical to a more prosperous Northern Ireland drawing more businesses using more highly skilled people that in turn can afford to offer higher earnings The dynamics might be described as enhancing productivity improving How report adds weight to cause for welfare reform The special independent commission set up by the Labour Party to make recommendations on tackling intergenerational poverty and social exclusion in Northern Ireland has published its report Professor Deirdre Heenan Pro vice Chancellor Ulster University

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=4 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    clusters are home to fewer than 10 of the nation s businesses but employ one in seven UK workers and generate 20 of national George s dividend reform is a pain for business owners It was good to see last week that in spite of recent uncertainty and volatility in markets the early signs were that UK growth rebounded in quarter 2 to 0 7 up from 0 4 in quarter 1 exceeding pre crisis levels Why the pain of the property crash goes on for borrowers Financial loans bought by newly arrived financial organisations such as Cerberus are a continuing responsibility for the original borrowers The banks have cleaned up their balance sheets by selling outstanding loans often at a large discount of usually 50 to 75 of the face value Why going solo on renewable energy could cost us more Northern Ireland faces a difficult decision on policy in support of renewable electricity generation Critical decisions have been made for Great Britain but Northern Ireland retains an option that could leave customers paying more than Great Britain because we are clinging Ulster Bank aiming to support women entrepreneurs At Ulster Bank we believe that we are the best placed bank in Northern Ireland to support female enterprise We have the capacity the culture and the credentials that mark us out helping us build local businesses and remove some of the barriers that stop women from Dale Farm profit slump Most valuable assets can not be easily replaced A former CEO of United Biscuits once famously said Buildings age and become dilapidated Machines wear out People die But what live on are brands How British Airways can help businesses take off At British Airways we currently provide passengers from Northern Ireland with up to six flights a day from Belfast City Airport to London Heathrow The route has become an essential airlink for both business and leisure customers offering excellent connectivity to our global network of more than 130 destinations worldwide from London Heathrow Why our leaders will learn a lot from the Greek tragedy as benefit cuts bear down on the I am writing this month s column from a family holiday in Florida I spent a week working in New York prior to the holiday meaning I will have been out of the local news for the best part of a month when I return Travelling can help bring perspective helping prevent one s Why our budget crisis gives Greece a run for its money Stormont faces major financial problems which can be compared to those in the Greek crisis The scale and seriousness of the deficit in the Stormont budget is not fully appreciated Stormont departments are today living well beyond their reasonable expectations Company report Ballyvesey Holdings Ltd The Ballyvesey Holdings group is owned by Northern Ireland family shareholders and has its headquarters in Doncaster The group s principal activities are described as in transport services vehicle sales and trailer manufacture Budget 2015 It s

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=5 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    and leisure industry providers for advice on what if anything government should be doing to make sure that Northern Ireland has enough good accommodation available to attract more Bond markets are demanding care in a brave new world Unprecedented is a word that is often overused yet it is entirely appropriate for what bond markets have experienced in recent years Through our pension or investment funds many of us are indirectly invested in the bond markets representing government and Let s do the right thing and fix these unfair anomalies If you are female and were born in the 1950s you could be facing a much worse retirement that you hoped for Emerging markets offer potential but choose wisely Some volatility has recently returned to the global financial markets on the back of rising oil prices and increased rates and yields particularly in Europe This has caused some spillover to emerging markets where for example the Central and Eastern European currencies have Assembly could benefit from the Chamber s credible policy ideas Too often political and business spokespeople make glib aspirational statements of ambition The aspirations easily encompass more jobs higher incomes improved productivity and world beating competitiveness Get the fundamentals right before you start investing your money With many property investors having had their fingers burnt is it any wonder there is a reluctance to re enter the market And for those who are considering investing in property for the first time there is a justifiable nervousness about parting with their hard earned cash So Money Matters Why cutting wedding day costs can make the difference for a happy future Summer is always a very popular time of year to get married but with the average 2014 wedding costing over 20 000 according to some research many couples are taking longer to tie the knot Jobs outlook is good but higher pay could help us push forward The latest figures in the monthly Labour Market Report provided an optimistic outlook for the jobs market in Northern Ireland as unemployment levels continue to fall which is encouraging Banks ready to supply loans but some SMEs just don t need them The commercial banks operating in Northern Ireland are a critical influence on the development of businesses A number of different factors are influencing how this is evolving First an important influence is the way in which negative equity in property companies Grant Thornton runway run Working well together will help your project lift off the According to research commissioned by Citrix 31 of office workers detest team building activities Whether it s the icebreaker questions or problem solving tasks they make employees cringe Given the benefits strong employee relations can bring to an organisation introducing Painful decisions ahead due to big number of claimants Spending on welfare benefits is proportionately higher in Northern Ireland than in Great Britain That s because the incidence of the number qualifying for benefits whether caused by unemployment ill health disability or low income is

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=6 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    same straightforward way as in England Clarity needed on how recovering banks will repay debt The recent House of Commons Committee examined the possible contribution of the banks in Northern Ireland to the recovery in the local economy The committee noted that the local banks have an important role to play However whether the Northern Ireland Transforming Northern Ireland s haywire electricity market will leave us all lighter in Great Britain has been operating an incentive mechanism for renewable electricity supplies that is proving too expensive and must change Northern Ireland has had a better deal but this too must now be changed Now they re leading the pack not following blindly As an ex fashion designer I ve always followed M S s fortunes with interest I was one of the company s womenswear designers in the late 1980s and got to see how the design selection process worked From 1987 90 I was a lead designer in a womenswear company and its Prudence set to prevail as folk pay off their debts The pension reforms which come into force on Easter Monday bring a hefty new responsibility to many people But there is a school of thought which suggests that the Chancellor s reforms announced in the Budget last year are simply giving people the right to do what they Business view Meeting the demands of canny shoppers Long after punishingly high inflation had us slashing our household budgets it appears we still can t get enough of Lidl It would appear that thrifty spending habits aren t easy to dislodge once they have taken hold even in this era of 0 inflation Exciting times for firms who benefit from our support With rates relief corporation tax and sector specific tax allowances all at the forefront of recent policy discussion it s been an exciting period for businesses in Northern Ireland Some of the proposed changes are likely to have profound impacts on employment and the sectors that Can Northern Ireland firms meet the powerful challenge of CBI chief John Cridland the director general of the Confederation of British Industry believes that Northern Ireland s medium sized businesses must stand up and be counted His appeal or challenge was delivered to an audience representing many of the significant businesses in It s use it or lose it time over Isa funds The countdown has begun again With less than one week until the end of the tax year time is running out for people to use up any of their remaining Isa allocation Business View Working together for brighter future The 50th anniversary CBI gala dinner celebration in Belfast contained some moments of nostalgia UK boss John Cridland and Taoiseach Enda Kenny were the special guests at the dinner Time has arrived to get more women on board ventures The representation of women on boards in Northern Ireland has a long way to go Researching appointment reports on our top companies shows that just three out of 20

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=7 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    Stormont budget for 2015 16 was inevitably going to prove difficult Before the Stormont House Agreement the prospects were frightening Now with the Agreement the prospects have been eased to the point where they can be described as only very difficult Commercial property picture a little brighter The buzz which surrounded transactions in the retail sector in 2014 will be hard to replicate this year Future of the economy rests in the hands of voters The mood which overtakes a voter in the ballot box is hard to predict Yet the future of the Northern Ireland economy rests on how voters in Great Britain decide on May 7 Businesses speak with one voice and it s about Vat cut Commentary on pubs and clubs tends to focus on what s going on in Belfast The city undoubtedly has a wealth of successful operators The reckless could cause their own poverty in old age Saving enough to help maintain living standards in retirement is challenging The consistent message has been that the danger is that not enough will be saved for the proverbial rainy day New Belfast City Council lacks vision to improve urban policies The new and reshaped Belfast City Council is gearing up for the changed responsibilities of the city council from April 1 when the long awaited reform of public administration becomes effective Financial world fails those who need help Do you think finance firms do everything they can to help vulnerable people those with poor literacy skills or those with caring responsibilities as well as people with disabilities dementia or the old It will be tough task to pilot port through years ahead United Dairy Farmers chief executive David Dobbin has faced many challenges in his career Minister s tough decisions over private buyers facing mortgage repayment debts House prices in Northern Ireland fell sharply from the artificial peak of 2008 9 until they bottomed out in 2013 Now in 2015 the slow and more sustainable recovery in house prices is set to continue Problem over What now for those in difficulty in the housing market Money Matters Don t suffer in silence make a complaint Fewer than half of all the problems we have with UK businesses result in us making a complaint instead we choose to suffer in silence That s according to the annual Consumer Action Monitor published by Ombudsman Services Business View When ads flaunt the boundaries of taste As wisecracking American Will Rogers once said advertising is the art of convincing people to spend money they don t have for something they don t need more Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Most Read Most Shared Most Commented Why Minister must consider a Translink price increase John Simpson Making it simpler to cope with daily stress Opinion Why risks posed by Brexit don t add up for province John Simpson Flexibility key to keeping Northern Ireland mums in workplace Opinion Dunbia continues to find the perfect

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=8 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Business Opinion - Business Comment and Analysis - BelfastTelegraph.co.uk
    must act to avoid an invasion of solar sites in Northern Ireland While I embrace renewable technologies in principle their integration into our environment has to be done with forethought and care so that random opportunism does not prevail Corporation tax powers could make NI more productive The UK Treasury and Government have been persuaded that devolved authority for corporation tax rate setting is desirable in Northern Ireland but importantly it is doable Austerity or stimulus Participatory development offers a third way The election results in Greece have again elevated the debate across Europe between proponents of austerity and stimulus Franchising doesn t need to be totally doom and gloom Fashion franchising can be fraught as the experience of Mexx in Ireland demonstrates The bankruptcy of the Dutch parent company has resulted in a lack of stock in Mexx shops around the province According to franchise holder John Houston this has left him with Don t put a ceiling on the mind and we can accomplish anything The majority of business people hide their light under a bushel But the EY Entrepreneur of the Year programme which is launched today is all about turning the tendency towards self abasement on its head Northern Ireland employers need funding for challenge of skills training For too long too frequently policy makers have relied on sweeping generalisations that Northern Ireland has a well educated labour force and employees who are adaptable to new challenges Unfortunately Northern Ireland is badly served by these generalisations since to a Don t forget your skis at one stop mall of future A commercial property outlook courtesy of agents CBRE yesterday brought us an intriguing glimpse into the future of retail Tourism Northern Ireland is not the only big change for tourism bosses The Northern Ireland Tourist Board is gone welcome to Tourism Northern Ireland The new name is only one step in a big change Retail not out of the woods yet So the new year sales have come and gone for another year and practically every day for the past two weeks we ve been reading about the trading results of the major retailers Business View NI labour market stats a curious mixed bag of results Northern Ireland s labour market statistics make intriguing reading because of the contradictions they throw up Judicious use of money still sees all departments facing Budget management issues Simon Hamilton as Minister of Finance and Personnel has now made the best deal available for a Budget for 2015 16 The task in the coming year is easier to manage than when he produced the draft budget last November The Budget will have painful consequences more Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next Most Read Most Shared Most Commented Why Minister must consider a Translink price increase John Simpson Why risks posed by Brexit don t add up for province John Simpson Making it simpler to cope with daily stress Opinion Northern Ireland economy is vulnerable

    Original URL path: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/opinion/?page=9 (2016-02-15)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-18