web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » B » BLUEPRINTREVIEW.CO.UK

Total: 475

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • American Horror Story: Freak Show DVD Review | Blueprint: Review
    of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews American Horror Story Freak Show Katy Vans November 23 2015 Reviews TV Reviews Creators Brad Falchuk Ryan Murphy Starring Jessica Lange Michael Chiklis Angela Bassett Sarah Paulson Kathy Bates Year 2014 Country USA BBFC Certificate 18 The first episode of the first series of American Horror Story made me so scared I had to turn it off and wait for my then boyfriend to get home to watch it with me S1 was full of excellent scares but ended with a whisper instead of a bang I don t think the series has ever quite reached the same heights but it does throw up some interesting settings but alas this show now in its 5th season has always been a bit hit and miss in this way some episodes are better than others and some series are better than others Rather worryingly with AHS Freak Show it is at its worst the law of diminishing returns is in full swing Freak Show is S4 the setting is a travelling freak show circus that arrives in Smalltown USA and brings with it mayhem murder and a special service for the lonely housewife The usual rolling cast returns which is one of the joys of this series Jessica Lange plays Elsa Mars the ringleader of the troupe with dreams of stardom still in her sights she gathers her family of freaks and swings between good mother bad mother The first time Lange sings a cabaret version of a pop song Bowie s Life on Mars geddit it is amazing and breath taking the 3rd time you see something similar you ve sort of had enough this trope is seriously over milked Sarah Poulson plays Siamese twins Bette and Dot who share more than just a body they also have a telepathic connection Poulson is a great actor always outstanding in AHS but like many others given not enough to do in this season Evan Peters plays lobster boy Jimmy Darling who in between servicing the local bored housewives with his unique hands is looking to prove himself and grow up Denis O Hare is on form as a shady con man who wants to take advantage of the freaks in a murderous manner There is a very scary clown and an even scarier local rich kid to contend with not enough of these 2 characters was my feeling The bearded lady is a great turn from Kathy Bates but like the aforementioned clown there isn t enough of her either Naomi Grossman is great as Pepper the pinhead who we first saw in AHS Asylum one of the better AHS seasons and here we get her back story showing how she ends up in the institution in her later years This is one of the

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/11/american-horror-story-freak-show/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Avengers – The Complete Series 4 – Blu-Ray boxset | Blueprint: Review
    Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews The Avengers The Complete Series 4 Blu Ray boxset Grant Powell November 20 2015 Reviews TV Reviews Director Peter Graham Scott Screenplay Robert Banks Stewart Starring Patrick MacNee Diana Rigg Patrick Newell Terence Plummer Peter J Elliot Country UK Running Time 1295 minutes Year 2015 BBFC Certificate PG British through and through Cups of tea bowler hats cheeky humour union jacks sixties chic it s all present and correct in this fourth series of The Avengers The flirting and crime fighting is all here in abundance courtesy of professional agent John Steed the late Patrick MacNee ably assisted by talented amateur Mrs Emma Peel Diana Rigg The two genuinely appear to enjoy themselves immensely throughout this cleaned up and enhanced blu ray version of a good old classic spy crime comedy thriller series from yesteryear Following a deal with American company ABC an in pouring of funding allowed a shunning of videotape in favour of the much more versatile 35mm file stock and a move from shoddy studio sets to much more upmarket ones plus on location shooting to boot The clothes budget appears to have been improved too particularly regarding the range of stunning outfits worn by Diana Rigg but also in the great tailoring of Patrick MacNee s suits The picture and sound quality here is superb like a real labour of love These episodes have never looked and sounded so good and enjoy a great new lease of life here The storylines actually vary surprisingly well so each episode is different enough to keep the viewer engaged Whether it s post war crazies waging a silent war from the ocean on unsuspecting towns and cities the foiling of a plot by an intellectual group to steal a nuclear missile or our two heroes infiltrating a sinister matchmaking agency who are targeting their rich clientele each episode has just the right dash of humour and an abundance of action and suspense There s not a lot more to be said other than that if you re a fan of the series this boxset is well worth shelling out for If you re a newcomer it s a great

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/11/the-avengers-the-complete-series-4-blu-ray-boxset/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Grant Powell | Blueprint: Review
    April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Author Grant Powell Grant Powell Father husband retired Greyhound owner Editorial comms by day hard rock guitar by night film reviews when I can 4 0 Countess Dracula Grant Powell November 20 2015 Film Reviews Reviews Grant Powell isn t a virgin or female so thankfully avoids having his blood drained by Countess Dracula Now on Blu Ray Here s the review 4 0 The Avengers The Complete Series 4 Blu Ray boxset Grant Powell November 20 2015 Reviews TV Reviews Grant Powell reviews some classic British television The Avengers Series 4 Blu Ray boxset 3 5 Contamination Grant Powell August 7 2015 Film Reviews Reviews Grant Powell avoids glowing alien eggs and the Cyclops stare to bring you this review of Italian gore drenched sci fi horror 3 0 Dead Shadows Grant Powell July 29 2015 Film Reviews Reviews

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/author/grant-powell/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Supernatural Season 5 | Blueprint: Review
    March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Supernatural Season 5 Loki Dawson November 17 2015 Reviews TV Reviews Director Eric Kripke Screenplay Eric Kripke Starring Grigoriy Fesenko Yana Novikova Rosa Babiy Country USA Running Time 42 min Year 2009 BBFC Certificate 15 Well well well season five already this programme really is becoming rather addictive It is rare that I find a show that I want to watch continually yet this is one that I can not stop watching Let s start off with our general rundown of what s going on then I will go on to my selected episode which this season is Changing Channels the eighth in the season and in my eyes one of the funniest episodes I have seen yet So what will the Winchester boys have to face this time round after the spectacular season finale First up we have the obvious one Lucifer Also we have the four horsemen of the apocalypse various gods from Greek Roman and Hindu beliefs they meet a cupid the Trickster returns and they even have to survive inside a Japanese game show called NutCracker it is exactly what it sounds like All of these things combined create a suspenseful and entertaining season of true suspense that will have you itching for the next episode Okay let s talk about the wonderful comedic episode with a profound message within that is Changing Channels Whilst the boys are working a case in Ohio they cross paths once again with the Trickster who sends them into a TV land where they are told that the only way to get out is to survive 24 hours So what kind of shows will they have to survive each of them is a parody of popular tv shows including Dr Sexy Grey s Anatomy a spoof of C S I a Japanese gameshow where if you do not get the answer right you get hit in the nuts with a large ball I know it is immature but I couldn t help but laugh at this scene and even an advert for a medication called Herpexia in which Jared Padalecki declares he has genital herpes This

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/11/supernatural-season-5/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Supernatural Season 4 | Blueprint: Review
    Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Supernatural Season 4 Loki Dawson November 11 2015 Reviews TV Reviews Director Eric Kripke Screenplay Eric Kripke Starring Jared Padalecki Jensen Ackles Misha Collins Country USA Running Time 50 min Year 2008 BBFC Certificate 15 I really can t believe that we are on season four already and what a doozy This is a truly phenomenal program that actually does get better as it progresses So what s gone on since the heartbreaking season finale I ll try and explain with as few spoilers as possible Sam has been hunting for four months and a new player enters the fray with the brothers in the form of Castiel who is played by Misha Collins 24 Over Her Dead Body Stonehenge Apocalypse The boys are forced to accept the existence of angels as they are thrust into a war between heaven itself and hell This is a season where the stakes are a lot higher and the Winchesters will be pushed to their limits as a family and even their beliefs as hunters in the face of the apocalypse Can they stop the rising of Lucifer himself So what do the dynamic duo have to face in this no holds barred season then We have our demons of course still being led by Lilith renegade angels a prophet and a seven foot manic depressed gun toting liquor drinking masturbating teddy bear as well as a mummy the wolf man and even a classic Dracula I will come back to that one in a moment Before hand I would like to talk about the only thing I think this season did wrong In this season we know that Lilith is behind the demons trying to break the sixty six seals that bind Lucifer in his prison but she seems to be doing it from a back room somewhere rather than being out there as much as she was in the previous season I understand it was for effect and ran well with the story line but I just cant shake the feeling we should have seen a bit more of her before the final episode as she was shown to be a big baddie in season three That said it was not the kind of thing to ruin the season in anyway for me As you know by now I like to try and pick a favorite episode from the season and write a little bit about it and this time round the episode is an early one so lets talk about the fifth adventure the aptly titled Monster Movie So what makes this episode so special to me This was shot entirely in black and white in the style of the classic monster movies that were being parodied perfectly in this splendidly scripted funny and enjoyable nod to the forerunners of this genre we have grown to love Sam and

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/11/supernatural-season-4/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • MISCONDUCT SOUNDTRACK | Blueprint: Review
    Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews MISCONDUCT SOUNDTRACK Brian Runciman March 21 2016 Reviews Soundtrack Reviews Original Music by Federico Jusid Featuring a track by Lee Coombs Duration 65 min Label Varese Sarabande Misconduct is about an ambitious lawyer who finds himself caught in a power struggle between a corrupt pharmaceutical executive and his firm s senior partner When the case takes a deadly turn he must race to uncover the truth before he loses everything The original music was composed by Federico Jusid who has previously produced work for among other productions The Secret in Their Eyes Isabel My Queen and also Ridley Scott s less than stellar Exodus Gods and Kings writing additional compositions for the original score with Alberto Iglesias As with all soundtracks the lengths vary hugely from the 55 second Art Gallery to the plus five minutes of the Overture Rather like the sweet overture for the Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind theme the orchestral instruments have been mixed with synthesizer textures As the composer says I used a large string orchestra colored with woodwind and brass sections and some bold timpani playing thematic material My team did a wonderful job processing them electronically to enable me to manipulate and blend them into the string texture The result is that on top of all these electronic sounds you can hear a solo violin playing virtuoso passages with a lot of nerve accompanying either our impulsive or our conniving characters Overture starts with string stings reminiscent of Psycho and morphs into a theme with a little touch of Phillip Glass The record sets out its thematic feel with track two What Comes Next is Our Secret moody a little eerie and with a clearly manipulated piano sound I have always liked the titles of film score tracks a mix of say what you see and hints at the plot This one doesn t disappoint in that regard either Fistfight at the Church a string driven throb of a piece being a favorite along with Take His Head and Put it on the Wall which is not as violent piece as you may imagine but rather a swelling and rather eerie little number with an insistent harp motif and an atmospheric melding of some background synthetic sounds with a lovely melody later in the piece The chilling titled I Took Actions With My

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2016/03/misconduct-soundtrack/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Swindle OST (extended) Review | Blueprint: Review
    admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews The Swindle OST extended admin November 24 2015 Reviews Soundtrack Reviews Format reviewed MP3 download Composer Tobey Evans Price 6 80 Website Official Website The Swindle OST is really just a big mashup of all things Steampunk Cyberpunk Crime Caper Victorian and everything else from The Swindle and from the world outside of the game The Swindle on Wii U available as an eShop download is a self confessed steam punk adventure caper It plays as a rogue like beautifully aesthetic 2D platformer with randomized levels A quick look at its average scores across the board level it at 70 Does the Original Sound Track OST of that very game live up to the high praise of its actual gameplay though The Swindle OST doesn t pull its punches Packed with 51 tracks totaling a hefty 2 hours and 19 minutes of full playback there s no filler here to be seen no 5 second sound effects no fluff just the music The Steampunk influences are huge with ticking drums echoing mechanical strikes of repetitive machinery or military marches Victorian sounds can be heard through bawdy bar romps and circus themes Crime Capers are effused with sneaking infiltration motifs aided with Bond like string and brass runs All of these influences are unpinned by a love of classical piano harpsichord concertos and electronic synth style rock flourishes with a splash of disco for good measure The vast majority of the OST s tracks are based upon level themes of a similar vein throughout For example Bacca Pipes Slums 1 Calm plays like a Bond infiltration theme sneaking into enemy territory with clock based percussion and piano runs as if tumbling down slopes The very next track elevates the same theme into a more frenzied version Bacca Pipes Slums 1 Alarm brings more urgency through its honking brass and an insanely tempo d electronic piano not tumbling this time but rolling in an uncontrolled dangerous descent to death This Calm and Alarm phase of the OST s level structure is repeated heavily throughout the disc and due to this it becomes repetitive rather earlier than it should To ease The Swindle s OST s repetitive nature a series of stand alone and stand out tracks raise their head RagtimeBot is a

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/11/the-swindle-ost-extended/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Condemned O.S.T. review | Blueprint: Review
    2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Condemned O S T Alex Porter October 30 2015 Reviews Soundtrack Reviews 1 Comment Composers Daniel Davies Sebastian Robertson Tracks 14 Total length 28 00 Label Lakeshore Records Digital Release Date 13th November 2015 C D Release Date Forthcoming The composers to this film have an impressive heritage Daniel Davies father is Dave Davies of The Kinks and Sebastian Robertson s father is Robbie Robertson of The Band However the styles of music associated with these lock legend fathers are in no way present on the soundtrack Davies Robertson juniors pride themselves in having used a selection of retro synthesisers as the core instrumentation for this soundtrack The track Shynola s Rumble kicks off proceedings with brassy synth drones surrounded by analogue noise it has a nice feel Cookie s Theme conveys a sense of spacious drift complimented by a cantering string plucked motif just before the tracks close some hard electronic beats drop in also Hub To Dream places a romantic piano motif through what sounds like a fluttering analogue delay which has an effect both pleasing and disorientating Maya s Hope utilises a dreamy sounding synthesised flute perhaps intended to be ironic in it s cheesiness Johnny s Jazz is a slight departure from the other tracks in that it incorporates a jazzy double bass groove no doubt employed to create a desired mood for this particular part of the film although it seems out of place in an otherwise electronic score Alejandro s Angels has a doom laden vibe achieved through a funeral like dirge played on a blocky sounding organ Black Disco lifts the atmosphere considerably referencing Italian electro disco legend Giorgio Morodor with upfront deep bass lines airy melodies shuffling drum beats and a bongo solo I d imagine this music works well in the cinema both as background music but also bringing some life to what I m guessing is a bleak film at least that s what the title Condemned seems to suggest Cookie s End has nice touches including an echoing drum machine beneath dark bouncing grooves it has a vaguely Depeche Mode feel For Locked In the composers get to use an electronic arpeggiator which clearly references John Carpenter s soundtracks to films like The Fog and Halloween Broken Phone is upfront with pounding analogue rhythms to the fore Room to Roof continues in the vein of a John Carpenter as composer tribute act with bouncing drones and some menacing sighs Axe Face creates a metallic type atmosphere whilst Maya s Escape marries the suspense soundtrack cliches with what sound like an exotic Eastern style melody On this track the percussion sounds orchestral but it could be synthesisers being

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/10/condemned-o-s-t/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-14