web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » B » BLUEPRINTREVIEW.CO.UK

Total: 475

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Sophie’s Fortune: The Treasure of Quetzalcoatl | Blueprint: Review
    3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Features Sophie s Fortune The Treasure of Quetzalcoatl Justin Richards August 22 2014 Features Short Films Director Chris Cronin Screenplay Chris Cronin Paul Thomas Starring Simon Hardwick Donald Standen Cameron Prudames Elsa Busow Year 2013 Country UK Running Time 29 mins BBFC Classification N A Brendan Simon Hardwick turns up at a summer party with his niece Sophie Elsa Busow only to find it nearly over and all the cakes and sweets already scoffed Fortunately the annual fathers only treasure hunt is soon to start giving Brendan the chance to compete for the Treasure of Quetzalcoatl on Sophie s behalf so that at least she ll hopefully have something to go home with As he and the other dads set off through the woods leaving behind rather bemused wives and kids Brendan begins to wonder what he s let himself in for particularly when various masked and heavily armed men start shooting at him Five minutes in and we re in quasi Indiana Jones territory as our would be heroes journey through jungles and across dangerous terrain in the hunt for this mysterious treasure all the while having to avoid traps and battle various armed goons who do seem to genuinely want to kill them all and keep the treasure for themselves Sophie s Fortune is a lot of fun with the kind of surreal plotting normally reserved for a Terry Gilliam film Once the action begins and there s a lot of action the film hardly pauses for breath as the dads find themselves flinging themselves around like characters from a John Woo or Ringo Lam movie Playing out like some sort of homage to those kind of eighties action flicks that crammed punters into cinemas up and down the UK at that time Sophie s Fortune never takes itself too seriously and ends up making the viewer feel delirious as we try and keep up with the overly competitive dads Oh and there s an amusing coda at the end of the credits Not only is the action fun but there are lots of intentionally funny moments sprinkled throughout mostly at the expense of the men who are running around like crazy things sometimes looked upon by their kids shaking

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2014/08/sophies-fortune-treasure-quetzalcoatl/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Favourite Nursery Rhymes and Songs | Blueprint: Review
    Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Film Reviews Favourite Nursery Rhymes and Songs Grant Powell June 6 2014 Film Reviews Reviews Short Films Producer Neil Ben Year 2014 Country UK Running Time 60 mins BBFC Classification U Favourite Nursery Rhymes and Songs Not a complex thriller or savagely brutal horror but a nursery rhymes dvd When I saw this available for review I thought it might make a nice change to look at something that my 3 year old daughter Evelyn could enjoy too I don t know what I was expecting here I guess something from what s rapidly becoming a bygone age of model making stop frame animation or even just something vaguely Thomas the Tank Engine ish given the link to that show s producer After initially pressing play I m surprised at how cheap and amateurishly made at home on a computer this looks at first glance It begins with a cartoon audience silhouetted against a theatre stage upon which the nursery rhymes will play out The stage curtain opens with a stock PC Ta da that s been well over used and a bunch of characters roll onto the stage Oh dear this looks bad But as the first rhyme begins and just as I ask the question why are they wearing black suits Surprise It s Gangnam Style Characters dance in Gangnam style poses as the nursery rhyme sets the usual lyrics and melody against a dance beat to comic effect Evelyn starts smiling and gets up to do some spinning around the room And so it goes traditional nursery rhymes given a new and original touch Incy Wincey spider s rhyme is interrupted by a brief refrain from Mission Impossible as the spider is lowered down a drainpipe in spy gear past laser beams he cleverly avoids Old Mother Hubbard s poor doggy goes hungry because the short sighted old dear neglects to look in the right bone filled cupboard the door to the correct one popping open as she walks away at the end of the sketch to comic effect Of course Evelyn loves this dvd sitting glued to the screen for some parts singing along in others and dancing about 50 of the time She wants to watch it and re watch it so to that end it succeeds If I had purchased this I would be

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2014/06/favourite-nursery-rhymes-songs/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Underwire Festival 2013: the XX Awards | Blueprint: Review
    2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Featured Underwire Festival 2013 the XX Awards Katy Vans November 21 2013 Featured Features Short Films There were 5 films in this category a mixture of documentary and fiction This award showcases films with females as the lead character although the website s typo on this was confusing but I worked it out First up was Recommended Washing Powder by Chloe White a documentary about Kaz a North London woman who works in her local launderette on Blackstock Road The lead character was engaging and funny and the whole thing was shot in the launderette The live action pieces of this were the most engaging Kaz s old fashioned values and free admission to hating change warms you to her and the way she interacts with her customers is charming The use of voice overs set to the images of washing machines washing powder etc became a bit repetitive and perhaps this conceit was pushed too far Overall this was a good character study that managed to touch upon the feel of the diversity of the big city and its tenuous connections between people in their everyday lives A fictional offering was next Morning by Cathy Brady was the tale of a bereaved woman dealing with the press It had some great acting and was very atmospheric in tone but ultimately this was the weakest film of the night it is worth pointing out that it was a Film School film in this situation Motorbike Midwife by Masumi Higashi was our second documentary which followed the exploits of Linda a midwife in Ghana who visited and collected her charges on said motorbike of the title This was an engaging insight into a completely different world to ours in terms of how we deal with giving birth Once watched you will feel very lucky indeed that we have all the modern trappings but on the other hand there is a simplicity and naturalness to the experiences of the women here which divests it of the drama we might otherwise expect There is a lady in the film who I shall only describe as the hole lady the look on her face when she is examining the women in various stages of labour made me wince The style of shooting this with no voice over but simply letting the story and the characters speak for themselves as events unfolded is perfect seeing Linda at home with her own baby was a perfect counterpoint to the pain and exhaustion we were seeing in the clinic I m sticking with

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2013/11/underwire-festival-2013-the-xx-awards/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Dinner Short Film Review | Blueprint: Review
    Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Featured Dinner Short Film Henry Tucker October 18 2013 Featured Features Short Films 1 Comment Director John Buchanan Screenplay John Buchanan Starring Meredith Branham Dennis Marsico Christina Zelner and Troy Stephan Producer Omar Suarez Country USA Running time 7 minutes Year 2013 In recent years films just seem to have got longer and longer I blame Christopher Nolan The last two Batman films and Inception could and should have been shorter Films don t have to be sleep inducingly long though James Cameron please take note Dinner is a perfect example of this Yes you read that right at the top of this review it is only 7 minutes long but it does so much in those lucky few minutes Described by the writer director John Buchanan as an homage to Alfred Hitchcock and Roald Dahl it is beautifully shot and manages to create more tension than the last few thrillers that I ve watched I won t go into the plot because understandably there isn t a lot of it but suffice to

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2013/10/dinner-short-film/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Short Film Showcase: Choke Mate | Blueprint: Review
    8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Featured Short Film Showcase Choke Mate David Brook December 11 2012 Featured Features Short Films It s been a while but we re back with another Short Film Showcase This time it s a poignant post apocalyptic story set in the world created for a feature film that the producers are currently developing The film can be found at the bottom of the page but to find out more here s what the film s producer James Heath had to say Our short film Choke Mate was made as part of our Kickstarter campaign for the feature Fim The Fitzroy www thefitzroy com ks a short film made in just over 48 hours from suggestions by our supporters and the internet at large We first called out to our audience for ideas for the short film We had some incredible suggestions for the original idea which were just not possible or quite with the original rules which were 1 It must be set in one location 2 The story for the film should be no longer than 2 minutes in length though in the end we broke this rule ourselves 3 A gas mask must be involved in the story 4 Most importantly the idea must be set around the post apocalyptic world of The Fitzroy On the sub off the sub during the film before it whatever you like check out www thefitzroy com ks to better understand the world We received around 50 ideas and put our favourite two to add to our original three and put these to the fans 1 Two female hairdressers design a hairstyle to be worn with a gas mask 2 As an air raid siren sounds two people play chess for the last gas mask 3 In an office building a council inspector looks to hire his replacements 4 A salesman tries to sell his last gas mask just before a nuke goes off 5 On a beach a young man is about to propose but everything goes wrong The overwhelming winning idea was As an air raid siren sounds two people play chess for the last gas mask As well as the original idea we got our audience to suggest locations props and titles and we put our favourites to public vote on Facebook These were the winners The Location Beach Prop Snow Globe Title Choke Mate We called out to cast and crew across social media We received an overwhelming support and got a fantastic team together To make it achievable within a tight time scale with only having about 7 hours of daylight we got to location for sunrise on Saturday morning It was shot on the

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2012/12/short-film-showcase-choke-mate/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • No Witnesses Short Film Review | Blueprint: Review
    Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Features No Witnesses Justin Richards October 17 2012 Features Short Films Directors James and Thomas Pickering Screenplay James Pickering Starring Alison Harns Ella Thorpes Matthew Wyatt Thomas Medlock Year 2012 Duration 7 mins Country UK BBFC Classification N A No Witnesses basically falls into the same category as Wes Craven s The People Under the Stairs in that one set of criminals put themselves in a dangerous predicament by being in the wrong place at the wrong time whilst they themselves are committing a lesser crime In this seven minute short two young female burglars break into a house and very quickly realise that all is not well when they come across a couple of bodies in the house they ve chosen to burgle As they stand around trying to decide what to do whether to report the bodies to the authorities or whether to just split and keep schtum the killer returns to the house I think the pleasure you ll get from this film will depend on whether you are happy to go along with the idea that two felons would stand around arguing with each other about the morality of reporting the bodies or not long enough for the killer to return to allow the final pay off to happen I personally think it s unlikely they would but these two burglars look too young and too innocent to steal a chocolate bar from their local corner shop let alone break into a house And I think this is the film s main problem because of the casting the film comes across as a decent student project rather than a serious film one which might get entered into film festivals and the like I just didn t buy either of the girls as felons However on a more positive note the film is pretty well put together some of the dialogue is quite funny my favourite line was Quit fuckin and get lookin and I liked the printed captions about each of the film s characters as a way of introducing them While

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2012/10/no-witnesses/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Other Side - Short Film Review | Blueprint: Review
    4 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Features The Other Side Justin Richards October 17 2012 Features Short Films Directors Santoro brothers Screenplay Ben Scott Joshua Van Hooke and Jeremy Drysdale Starring Nick Moran Jennie Jacques Amelia Warner Year 2012 Country UK BBFC Classification N A A young woman Sophie arrives at a farmhouse and says that she s here for the baby The young couple that live at the house invite her in and she stays the night When she goes downstairs in the middle of the night for some water she hears a gun shot and is told by the woman not to worry it s probably just James her partner Sophie returns to her bedroom while the other woman Rachel goes looking for James As Rachel nears an abandoned van she senses all is not well Sophie gets dressed and as she makes it to the front door she sees a scary figure and runs back upstairs and hides in a walk in closet with the baby All sorts of gruesomeness follows Now I m not going to reveal any more of the plot cause I don t want to spoil it for you However if you ve seen Switchblade Romance you probably already know how this ends I m guessing the Santoro brothers whose maybe not so original story this is based on have seen it too Don t get me wrong I quite enjoyed The Other Side it s certainly well made and manages to keep the viewer s attention but I guessed what was going to happen pretty early on which kind of made the rest of it pretty redundant The film is well shot and aside from a couple of confusing edits and a couple of unanswered questions it holds together quite well The level of acting is pretty good and I liked the comedy cops who had all the best lines Plus the dead head psycho make up was excellent and pretty creepy It

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2012/10/the-other-side/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Short Film Focus: Jenny Ringo and the Monkey's Paw | Blueprint: Review
    Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Featured Short Film Focus Jenny Ringo and the Monkey s Paw David Brook August 15 2012 Featured Features Short Films Our latest Short Film Showcase looks at Jenny Ringo and the Monkey s Paw which was written and directed by Chris Regan produced by Andrea Regan and stars Rosie Duncan and Lukas Habberton I ve already reviewed the short as part of one of my movie marathons but now the film is available for all to see so I thought I d share it with you all To tell us more is Chris himself Jenny Ringo and the Monkey s Paw is a short horror comedy that features magic monsters monkeys and a musical number It s a film about a witch who comes home one day to find that her slacker buddy Gavin has found a monkey s paw which grants him three wishes Unfortunately he made some really bad wishes and now Jenny has to figure out how to reverse them before things get any worse Jenny first appeared as a character in a short story I wrote at college I continued to write her into stories and scripts throughout university and she changed a little with every new incarnation She started off like a female John Constantine I was reading a lot of Hellblazer back then but now she s more like a grown up version of The Worst Witch The stories are mostly about how she wants to be really good at magic but real life keeps getting in the way usually in the form of her inept flatmate Gavin The inspiration to make the film really came from watching other short films I used to attend a monthly short film night in Brighton called MovieBar which I now run www moviebar co uk and I d see all these fantastic short films competing for the attention of a mostly drunk pub audience I started to think about things that would really shock the audience into paying attention mostly by featuring elements that you don t usually see in short films such as monsters

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2012/08/short-film-focus-jenny-ringo-and-the-monkeys-paw/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-14