web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » B » BLUEPRINTREVIEW.CO.UK

Total: 475

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Lists | Blueprint: Review
    the LAMBcast Roll Your Own Top 5 David Brook February 15 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Best Movies of 2015 David Brook January 7 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Star Wars The Force Awakens David Brook December 22 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Episode 6 Melancholia Andy Goulding December 4 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Tagged Lists Home Lists Blueprint on the LAMBcast Roll Your Own Top 5 David Brook February 15 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint s own David Brook joins members of the LAMB on the LAMBcast to roll their own top 5 lists Our Favourite Films of 2011 David Brook January 12 2012 Featured Features 5 Comments The whole team at Blueprint Review look back over the year s best films Blueprint Review Podcast Episode 20 David

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/tag/lists/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Podcast | Blueprint: Review
    Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Star Wars The Force Awakens David Brook December 22 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Episode 6 Melancholia Andy Goulding December 4 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Tagged podcast Home podcast Blueprint on the LAMBcast Roll Your Own Top 5 David Brook February 15 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint s own David Brook joins members of the LAMB on the LAMBcast to roll their own top 5 lists Blueprint on the LAMBcast Best Movies of 2015 David Brook January 7 2016 Featured Podcasts David Brook joins members of the LAMB to discuss their favourite films of 2015 Blueprint on the LAMBcast Star Wars The Force Awakens David Brook December 22 2015 Featured Podcasts David Brook joins members of the LAMBcast to talk about the highly anticipated continuation of the Star Wars saga Spoiler Podcast Episode 4 Some Like It Hot Andy Goulding November 6 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast This week we don our wives best frocks and stockings as we watch the 1959 Billy Wilder comedy Some Like It Hot Blueprint on the LAMBcast John Carpenter Retrospective David Brook November 2 2015 Featured Podcasts David Brook joins fellow members of the LAMB to discuss the work of the great John Carpenter Blueprint on the Forgotten Filmcast David Brook September 28 2015 Featured Podcasts David joins Todd Liebenow on The Forgotten Filmcast to review the comedy western The Frisco Kid Blueprint on the LAMBcast Grosse Pointe Blank David Brook July 10 2015 Featured Podcasts David Brook joined members of the LAMB on the LAMBcast to talk about this month s MOTM Grosse Pointe Blank Blueprint Review Podcast Episode 47 David Brook May 26 2015 Blueprint Review Featured Podcasts David and Darren review Mad Max Fury Road Tomorrowland and Big Game Blueprint on the LAMBcast Worst Movies David Brook May 25 2015 Featured Podcasts David Brook joins members of the LAMB to list the 3 worst movies they ve ever seen Blueprint Review Podcast Episode 42 David Brook February 6 2014

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/tag/podcast/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Top 5 | Blueprint: Review
    Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Recent Spoiler Episode 11 A Separation Andy Goulding April 22 2016 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Spoiler Episode 10 Ready Player One Andy Goulding April 10 2016 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Spoiler Episode 9 Mad Max Fury Road Andy Goulding March 26 2016 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Spoiler Episode 8 Dumbo Andy Goulding March 12 2016 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Spoiler Episode 7 This is England 90 Andy Goulding March 1 2016 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint on the LAMBcast Roll Your Own Top 5 David Brook February 15 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Best Movies of 2015 David Brook January 7 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Star Wars The Force Awakens David Brook December 22 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Episode 6 Melancholia Andy Goulding December 4 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/tag/top-5/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • 30 Minute Gamers Podcast Episode 9 | Blueprint: Review
    Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comments Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Podcasts 30 Minute Gamers 30 Minute Gamers Podcast Episode 9 David Brook July 28 2011 30 Minute Gamers Podcasts 4 Comments The latest episode of the 30 Minute Gamers Podcast is up already I was late in posting Episode 8 sorry Blueprint Review s Darren Bolton joins them this week to cement our new relationship and to discuss video games based on films which we will mirror in our film podcast by talking about films based on video games To keep up to date with the guys head over to their Podomatic page http 30minutegamers podomatic com Or follow their RSS feed http 30minutegamers podomatic com rss2 xml Or sign up to the podcast through itunes http itunes apple com gb podcast 30 minute gamers id444572954 Or just take a listen to the

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2011/07/30-minute-gamers-podcast-episode-9/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Blueprint: Review Podcast Episode 47 | Blueprint: Review
    Podcast Blueprint on the LAMBcast Roll Your Own Top 5 David Brook February 15 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Best Movies of 2015 David Brook January 7 2016 Featured Podcasts Blueprint on the LAMBcast Star Wars The Force Awakens David Brook December 22 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Episode 6 Melancholia Andy Goulding December 4 2015 Featured Podcasts Spoiler Podcast Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Recent Haiku Review April 16 admin April 11 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review 4 5 Trash A VHS Festival Justin Richards March 27 2016 Featured Features Reviews 4 5 Interview with Amber Fares Katy Vans March 3 2016 Featured Features Interviews Haiku Review February 16 admin March 3 2016 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Last Shift on DVD David Brook January 18 2016 Competitions Featured Features Interview with Steve Oram admin January 11 2016 Featured Features Interviews Our Favourite Films of 2015 David Brook January 4 2016 Featured Features 2 Comment Haiku Review December 15 admin December 12 2015 Featured Features Haiku Review Competition Win Aferim on DVD David Brook December 8 2015 Competitions Featured Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Reviews Book Reviews Film Reviews Game Reviews Short Films Soundtrack Reviews TV Reviews Podcasts Blueprint Review Spoiler Podcast Features Competitions Gates of Video Hell Haiku Review Interviews Short Films Weekend of Trash Home Podcasts Blueprint Review Blueprint Review Podcast Episode 47 David Brook May 26 2015 Blueprint Review Featured Podcasts OK so it s been almost a month rather than the fortnight we promised but we have come back with a new episode more quickly than usual It s a fairly short chat this time around with Darren and David only reviewing three new releases Mad Max Fury Road Tomorrowland and Big Game

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2015/05/blueprint-review-podcast-episode-47/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Three Days of the Condor Blu-Ray Review | Blueprint: Review
    style than most so is seen as a director for hire but it s hard to find many others with so many solid titles under their belt and so few clunkers although his 90 s 00 s work isn t as strong as his 70 s 80 s output I must admit I ve not seen a huge number of his films and some I haven t seen for years Tootsie and The Firm but I love his underrated gangster movie The Yakuza and can t resist a 70 s thriller so didn t hesitate to volunteer to review his 1975 film Three Days of the Condor finally released in the UK it s never been available on home video for some reason on dual format Blu Ray DVD as part of Eureka s excellent Masters of Cinema collection Based on a novel called Six Days of the Condor the film adaptation was originally going to be directed by Peter Yates and star Warren Beatty but Beatty turned it down The producer s second choice Robert Redford was interested but only if his friend Sydney Pollack could direct it Yates was promptly paid off and Redford and Pollack began to make the project their own rejecting the original script which they weren t happy with largely because they weren t convinced by the novel itself and forging the film that would become Three Days of the Condor It s a post Watergate thriller that sees CIA researcher Joseph Turner Redford become the only survivor of a carefully planned hit on his New York office Being a purely academic employee of the agency Turner codenamed Condor has no field experience so is frightened and not sure what to do when the assassins return to finish the job However he has the brains to stay alive and get to the bottom of who set up the hit and why Along the way he takes a sort of hostage in Kathy Hale Faye Dunaway so that he can use her apartment to lay low and think The two form a relationship whilst Turner uncovers the truth behind the shady organisation hiding within the CIA itself which is out to get him I m always of the opinion that it s hard to beat a good thriller and this is perfect proof of their ability to engage and excite Pollack keeps things moving swiftly along through intercutting between Turner s plight and the actions of the CIA and its shifty dark branch The second half is a little slower than the first but for the most part the film rockets along towards its nicely uncertain final moments Taking advantage of the mood created by the Watergate scandal still looming over America at the time the film has a great sense of paranoia too No one can be trusted There are even moments where the audience doubts Turner s intentions when he takes Hale prisoner and we re never quite sure whether Hale will turn

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2016/04/three-days-of-the-condor/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Culloden & The War Game Blu-Ray & DVD Review | Blueprint: Review
    shown the stupidity and cowardice of Bonnie Prince Charlie whose incompetence and poor choice of military advisor dealt a decisive victory to his enemy the loyalists After the shambolic massacre of the battle we then witness the systematic murdering raping and pillaging of the king s dissenters as the loyalist troops tear their way back to England through the Highlands It s a powerful film with some intense battle scenes Watkins resources were meagre the budget being a scant 3 000 so the lack of wide shots of great armies is noticeable but through keeping shots tight and handheld cutting quickly the scenes remain effective It s not quite up to modern war movie standards but its raw close quarters approach still manages to horrify at times A brutal execution shot from a first person perspective is particularly shocking Watkins uses largely non professional local actors reportedly to better educate them in their own history as much as to save money or add authenticity This does provide characters that look and act like real people although some amateur dramatic types ham up their lines from time to time The film has dated somewhat in its presentation as documentaries have moved on over the years which is why I haven t given a higher rating but I can t deny its importance It was way ahead of its time and largely remains a powerful unflinching account of a pivotal moment in British history Through digging into the facts behind the battle and what it must have meant to the average people at the time Watkins also made his film relevant when released in the 60 s and still now which was quite an achievement The War Game Director Peter Watkins Screenplay Peter Watkins Starring Michael Aspel Peter Graham Kathy Staff Country UK Running Time 48 min Year 1965 BBFC Certificate 12 Where Culloden helped make a name for Watkins at the BBC The War Game effectively ended his career with the broadcaster Although the film has seen wide acclaim over the years even winning an Oscar for Best Documentary Feature in 1967 its brutal unflinching portrayal of its subject matter proved too much for the BBC who effectively banned it from broadcast for around 20 years even though they themselves commissioned it Thankfully it was allowed a cinematic release thus the Oscar and its reputation grew eventually leading to a TV screening in the 80 s The War Game takes Culloden s authentic docudrama approach to examine something that could happen rather than had happened This controversial documentary shows the audience what could conceivably happen if Britain was subject to a nuclear attack This is no Duck and Cover style government approved fluff designed to placate the masses during the Cold War though The War Game is an anti war film showing the horrifying realities of the wave of death and decay caused by a nuclear strike And the film truly is horrifying All the Saw s and Paranormal Activities in

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2016/03/culloden-the-war-game/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Waking Life Blu-Ray Review | Blueprint: Review
    his shifting dreams Along the way he meets a wide variety of characters who each give their differing theories and philosophies about life and consciousness And that s pretty much it The film is largely just a series of monologues lectures discussions with our protagonist not really interacting with the speakers until the final third where the topics lean more heavily towards dreams and reality and he asks them about his predicament of being trapped in this dream in such a lucid state On paper then this is a film I should hate I ve talked in previous reviews about my distaste for films where characters spout philosophy and the experience becomes a lecture rather than an engaging narrative I think I prefer philosophies to be explained visually or metaphorically or maybe I m just stupid but I find it tedious to listen to an intellectual spouting theories at me Roughly knowing what to expect from Waking Life before going in to it this was my first watch I was fully expecting to hate it but I m a big fan of some of Linklater s work and I m also a huge animation fan so I thought I should give it a try Well I m happy to say something really drew me in to Waking Life I m not sure why as my worst fears about the film s content were technically true but I found myself hypnotised by the experience I think the style was a big help A variety of animators were brought in to work on a scene or two each giving the film an ever shifting look tied together by the unusual rotoscoping technique making use of a consistent shooting style Speaking of which the film s source material was shot handheld very roughly on early digital video cameras utilising natural light for the most part Looking at the raw footage on the disc s supplementary material reveals a pretty ropey looking film but the final result after animation is stunning Combining the handheld camera and lifelike animation aesthetic with a fairly rough and simplistic art style creates a bizarre yet beautiful look and feel It looks like nothing else I ve ever seen so I found the film endlessly fascinating to look at The music is excellent too and suits the dream state of the film perfectly The content of the scenes is often very interesting too With such a barrage of varying ideas and theories it can get overwhelming and some sections went over my head or didn t engage me enough to keep me listening However if one doesn t grab your interest there s always a totally new one around the corner and enough scenes got my brain whirring to make for an enjoyably mind expanding experience The final third in particular got very interesting as the film becomes more self reflexive and the protagonist questions what is happening to him some suggestions are that he is in fact dead

    Original URL path: http://blueprintreview.co.uk/2016/03/waking-life/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-14