Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:

Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » C » CHOCOLATEREVIEWS.CO.UK

Total: 869

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Montecristi Organic Couverture from Ecuador
    in that they are only creating chocolate in couverture pistole form for these uses I ve already put an order in for Susana s chocolate to sell on Chocolatiers as I d like to give people the opportunity to try it and for people to start asking their chocolatier to use it or even try and making your own cakes or chocolates at home We hope to have the chocolate arrive within a few weeks But other than the ethics why would I want people to try it Not only is the chocolate physically well crafted and suitable for kitchen use as it is a well structured chocolate but the flavours are very interesting too and change remarkably through the cocoa percentages The 63 understandably closer to the caramel tone but also raisin and a touch of floral which makes it a wonderful chocolate to nibble on The after taste is fairly sweet and lingering which allows for you to get a much longer chocolate hit The nose of the 70 offers more of the archetypal Arriba Nacional spice but on the taste buds starts off much more mellow but builds up to a fairly strident molasses The spice isn t as dominant as I would expect instead of a pepper profile it is more cinnamon The 85 is much more adult It s drier much closer to tobacco on the nose and a much earthier appeal on the nose But with that comes coconut and lime and which pushes it more into the pina colada profile The difference between the 70 and the 85 is stark however If you re in tune with the 70 I doubt you will be with the 85 and vice versa For me I feel that the two will appeal at different times of

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/montecristi-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Daintree Estates Vanuatu 68% Dark Chocolate Review
    the Felchlin Cru Suhum It certainly is markedly different to the Pralus Vanuatu These new specials are a departure from the chocolate made with locally produced cacao in that they re devoid of soya lecithin or vanilla This is a definite step in the right direction and proves to be a greater test of the chocolate maker s skills The specials are also different in that they re stone ground and formed in very thin rustic slivers instead of the uniform and well moulded bars I m not a died in the wool fan of the conventional method of forming chocolate and am completely open to this more laid back approach It s that smokiness that just dominates the initial flavour It reminds me of an ex girlfriend s parent s inglenook fireplace in their Devonian 18th Century cottage It s slightly dry and with only a very mute molasses context and if you re pushing it some caramel I do like to support those that push into new origins or seek to increase their product range But this one didn t reach the heights of their others I do however expect more from the New Britain bar Did you like this review Follow Chocolate Reviews Chocolate Reviews on You may also like Daintree Estates Solomon Islands 68 Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title Daintree Estates Vanuatu Author Lee McCoy On 25 01 14 10 03 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Daintree Estates Vanuatu Feedback 0 comments Search Show Your Love For Chocolate Follow chocolatereview Tweet Find Reviews By Category Find reviews by category Dark Chocolate Milk Chocolate White Chocolate By Flavour By Rating By Flavour By Country By Maker By Rating By Type News Features Mystery Shopping International Industry

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/daintree-estates-vanuatu/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Mayta Esmereldas 71% Arriba Chocolate Review
    cold After a visit to the pub then out into the cold I visited a lovely restaurant and then went out in the cold The journey home from London was on an intensely hot train which then resulted in a short walk in the freezing cold This undoubtedly did the chocolate no good As I was doing business deals in these locations unrelated to chocolate it completely slipped my mind that the chocolate really won t take to this constant change in extreme temperatures For that I feel incredibly guilty But as a chocolate reviewer it s my obligation to see past that look at how the chocolate has changed and estimate how it would have been if I wasn t such a pillock The Arriba cacao used here originates from a similar stock to that of Pacari Domori Original Beans and others Those exemplory chocolate makers seem to buck the light spicy trend of Esmereldas with more earthy creations whilst some of the less well known outfits seem unable to push the envelope on this cultivar of Criollo heritage The ancestry of Esmereldas is still unclear Some assert it is a cross of Nacional and Criollo whilst others believe it is less of a hybrid but more of an evolved Criollo from northern Venezuela The issue here is that I have so much of a tainted bar that any analysis of flavour or texture seems moot The aroma does however remind me of the spiced 100 hot chocolate Bouga make intensely acidic peppery with hints of brandy Allowing the brittle form to settle in my mouth I can certainly detect a rich creaminess which I believe is why it is typically used to make milk chocolate in fact my tongue is still coated with a velvety chocolate solution that

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/mayta-esmereldas-71-arriba-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Szántó Tibor Peruvian 70% Bean to Bar Chocolate Review
    chocolate arrived it was broken to a degree and had a bit of blooming due to being sent from Belgium That I don t mind I didn t buy it from a retailer or direct So I can t really comment on the visual appearance The cocoa originated from the Ayacucho district which shares a small border with the highly respected Cusco region and has a high proportion of native origin rather than the CCN 51 hybrid where around 5 000 families farm cocoa The aroma is incredibly earthen but with a salinity that draws the nose in closer and ginger with vanilla ice cream back drop whilst the mouth feel is more granular than one would have expected It sticks to your teeth as your jaw rises whilst the flavour is very mellow It s almost Mellow Birds coffee with half a teaspoon of sugar and the whiff of Sutton Harbour in the background To be fair it s not the best chocolate ever But considering chocolate is naturally compared to the last you have and that one was utterly smooth with well toned flavours but not explicit this was always going to be difficult for the Szántó Tibor It is interesting but not exceptional It s another maker to tick off and say I ve tried I have some more sample bars to try out so I ll see how they fair shortly No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title Szántó Tibor Peruvian 70 Author Lee McCoy On 1 12 13 1 45 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Peru Feedback 0 comments Search Show Your Love For Chocolate Follow chocolatereview Tweet Find Reviews By Category Find reviews by category Dark Chocolate Milk Chocolate White Chocolate By

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/szanto-tibor-peruvian-70/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Limited Edition Demarquette Grandiflorum Truffle Logs Review
    herbs spices cheese or stuff you would spread on your toast in the morning it still offers a massive amount of intrigue In actual fact they remind me Antiguan cocktails They also bring me back to the unusual fruit flavours I ve experienced in the Caribbean and perhaps even reminiscent of the unusual flavours I experienced growing up in Africa The core flavour here is most definitely similar to chocolate but it has more of pineapple edge with a coconut base and even some lumi at the edges It certainly is unusual but not so far removed from chocolate that people would feel uncomfortable The after taste is pleasant but with the very slightest hint of under ripe banana The tartness definitely comes from the fact that 85 cacao grandiforum solids are used here Normally I would look at the origin Brazil in this case and compare the flavours I experience to my own mental profile of chocolate from that origin Usually I would look at the variant of bean used and perhaps even the plantation Of course that is impossible as this is based on a different species to cacao The problem I have is that I now what to learn even more about the natural history of the Theobroma genus However that is firmly a secondary aspect to these chocolates truffles the primary thought I m left with is that these Theorbroma Grandiflorum Log Truffles manage to blend a curious flavours with an immense amount of satisfaction and a masterful texture no filled chocolates truffles I ve tried have managed to come anywhere near this triumvirate of sensations Another thing that these truffles have achieved is that they have changed my perception of Chocolate Week I have always wrongly viewed it as an event for dark chocolate tablettes

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/demarquette-grandiflorum-truffles/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Pralus 100% Dark Chocolate Bar Review
    I got hits of marmite blackcurrant jam beef and brandy It still has a central core flavour that doesn t deviate as some other chocolate bars do Instead this one concentrates on a direct unwavering bitter flavour just until the end when it transforms into an enduring nicotine characteristic The lack of added sugar isn t noticeable It didn t even come into my head that there was none My focus instead was just placed upon the utterly sensational interwoven flavours The physical structure of the bar is almost perfect too The crystals are small and tightly packed and it s only marred slightly by the odd air bubble The top of the bar had a blob of chocolate covering Pralus logo which really shouldn t have been there It was however sublime in terms of flavour and the odd imperfection is meaningless outside of a judging environment But what of the fact that this bar is made with some an unspecified lineage of Criollo cacao bean I would have loved to have specifics just for my own interest but for the vast majority of people that is incidental to the supreme nature of this Pralus 100 bar Where To Buy This 100 Dark Chocolate Bar Amazon 5 99 Quick Rating 85 absolutely loved it You Might Also Like Menakao 100 Grenada 100 No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title Pralus 100 Dark Chocolate Bar Review Author Lee McCoy On 27 08 12 2 36 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories 100 Dark Chocolate Criollo Madagascar Pralus Rating 85 89 Feedback 2 comments Ron P Where did you get the information that this is Criollo from Brazil and Venezuela via Sao Tome Pralus harvested cacao from Nosy Be last

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/pralus-100/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Chocolate Reviews Organised By Country Of Origin
    offer more when bought by the maker themselves In this instance I would say so but that may be tarnished by the fact that this bar was out of date Hotel Chocolat 100 Hacienda iara Chocolate at this sort of level just isn t for me you might like it but well nothing really I wonder how much Hotel Chocolat actually sell of it Duffy s 70 Star of Panama Duffy always makes awesome chocolate it s assured as the sun rising the next day But just like the weather every day is different and so is every bar I prefer his other Panama bar but this is still fantastic Jeff de Bruges 43 Venezuelan I m not exactly sure what I expected from this bar Milk chocolate is such a strange beast that it can so easily turn into a saccharine cloud hovering over you This doesn t go that far its very milky which some people will enjoy I m just in two minds unfortunately Betty s Grand Cru Swiss 65 This 65 dark chocolate from Betty s made with Felchlin couverture was sweet and bland I just prefer dark chocolate to have bit more personality it was lacking here Бабаевский горький шоколад Certainly not a chocolate that you d want to travel all the way to Russia to try Thorntons Bakewell Tart If you love sweet flavoured milk chocolate that you can easily get hold of then you ve got to try this Bakewell Tart milk chocolate bar from Thorntons Rococo Crystallised Ginger 65 Do you like chocolate that only has the mildest of flavours but still has personality If you do then you should really try this one out from Rococo Hotel Chocolat Chuao When it comes to the Chuao I m a bit of a purist It just didn t taste like the others or have the same feel But I could just be wrong about it Artisan du Chocolat Costa Rica 72 Another example of beautiful chocolate made with cacao from Costa Rica this one had a lovely variety of flavours through out the melt If you re near one of their stores and like chocolate with personality then try it Kakaw 70 With Chilli If you re after a dark bar with chilli that offers something different and you find yourself in Belize then this one from Kakaw could be for you Artisan du Chocolat Bali There s just something fantastic with what Artisan du Chocolat are doing these days when they source cacao from destinations the less adventurous chocolate makers can t be bothered to explore The flavour of this Bali bar was incredibly interesting Thorntons Cloudly Lemonade White Chocolate When one things of white chocolate I m sure many would think of an intense sugar and vanilla flavour But with this bar that combination of flavours is kept to a minimum Instead there is a fresh earthiness to it which was very pleasant Valrhona Guanaja 70 Grand Crus This Grands Crus

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/category/abroad/page/3/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Chocolate Reviews Organised By Country Of Origin
    never know what they ll be like This one from Chocolate Craft I thought was lovely Jean Paul Hévin Príncipe 75 I m normally fond of what Jean Paul Hévin does But with this one I thought was way off the mark Matcha Chocolat Mixed Selection Box What a journey it has been for Katie with her wonderful Matcha Chocolat company One year from inception she s created a much broader selection of ganaches that won t dissapoint Amelia Rope 71 Dark Chocolate From Mexico If you re looking for a dark chocolate bar with a slightly sweet flavour but nothing too dramatic then this could be the perfect bar for you Amelia may not be making it any more but its certainly worth trying to find out if she has any left Czekolada Deserowa Prażone Ziarno Kakao This 70 Dark Chocolate From Ghana bar from Manufactura Czekolady was a lot sweeter than I thought Instead of having an acidic tone it was more fruity and sweet Original Hawaiian 60 Dark Chocolate I enjoyed this Original Hawaiian 60 Trinitario Dark Chocolate bar but expect it would have tasted much better when it was fresh last year instead of waiting eight months to review it It produces a mild flavour that be a perfect compromise for people just starting their dark chocolate experiences Blyss Chocolate Tangerine Romance Ah Blyssfull chocolate This was a big hit for me And that s not only because of the ethics behind the company Amedei 1er Cru 70 Single Origin From Madagascar The Amedei 1er Cru 70 Single Origin From Madagascar was a very good bar of chocolate but what else would you expect from this company Michel Cluizel 1er Cru de Plantation Mangaro This Michel Cluizel 1er Cru de Plantation Mangaro is a very fruity bar of dark chocolate that may be too sweet for most dark chocolate lovers Domori Porcelana 70 Dark Chocolate Bar The Domori Porcelana 70 Dark Chocolate Bar is truly a wonderful bar of dark chocolate made with the Porcelana Criolllo cacao bean from Venezuela It is delicious but not very bitter or a wide range of notes Michel Cluizel Los Ancones 67 This Los Ancones dark chocolate bar from Michel Cluizel is indeed a very enjoyable bar But it just didn t offer the range of flavours that I expected It is very creamy but there wasn t enough character to keep me interested too long Rose And Violet Dark Chocolate This 66 dark chocolate bar with rose and violet was more bitter than I anticipated and would have preferred it to be lighter and more fragrant Thorntons Dark Chocolate With Colombian Coffee This bar could have done with a more prominent coffee flavour and a fair bit less of the sugar At first it tasted really good but then the sugar came through and pushed the espresso off the stage and demanded your attention Paul A Young Valentine s Brownie What more could you want from a special Valentine

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/category/abroad/page/4/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

web-archive-uk.com, 2016-10-25