Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:

Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » C » CHOCOLATEREVIEWS.CO.UK

Total: 869

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Can You Make A Nice Summer Ice Lolly From Winter Gingerbread Hot Chocolate?
    of the lolly they weren t that expensive and could obviously be re used And they looked kind of cool too I thought I was being clever by studiously measuring out just enough milk for the four of them but forgot to deduct an amount for the hot chocolate mix I d be putting in I also hoped that the hot chocolate mix would be suspended in the milk I was wrong on that count so I just put it in the microwave for about 90 seconds and stirred it in Thankfully it melted nicely and we were away despite me using a load more of the stuff than I anticipated Having put them into the freezer overnight and got it out this morning to enjoy in the blisteringly hot garden And I must say it s absolutely gorgeous Perhaps I put too much of the mix in as the ginger flavour is very prominent but I like that There s a slight burning sensation at the back of the throat but it s still gorgeous So can you make a nice summer ice lolly from winter gingerbread hot chocolate Yes you can Just play around with the amounts of the mix you put it Where To Buy The Lolly Kit Firebox 7 99 No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title Can You Make A Nice Summer Ice Lolly From Winter Gingerbread Hot Chocolate Author Lee McCoy On 2 05 11 11 36 AM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Features Hotel Chocolat Ice Cream Feedback 0 comments Search Show Your Love For Chocolate Follow chocolatereview Tweet Find Reviews By Category Find reviews by category Dark Chocolate Milk Chocolate White Chocolate By Flavour By Rating By Flavour By Country By

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/hot-chocolate-lolly/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Toblerone Ritual - TV Advert
    On 4 04 11 1 52 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Advertorial Kraft Toblerone Video Feedback 1 comment yoyo plzzzzzzzzzz tel me the name of musicccccccccc Search Show Your Love For Chocolate Follow chocolatereview Tweet Find Reviews By Category Find reviews by category Dark Chocolate Milk Chocolate White Chocolate By Flavour By Rating By Flavour By Country By Maker By Rating By Type News Features Mystery Shopping International

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/toblerone-ritual-tv/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • 315 Chocolate Tweeps You Can't Afford Not To Follow
    over 2 000 people on twitter working in food PR too so I ll create another list for those too What was surprising was the number of great chocolate brands not on Twitter strange as they re missing out on a load of great natter If I ve missed out anyone then drop me a line below and I ll add you in Update I m moving this list over to PeerIndex as it ll be easier to keep up to date You can find it here or as a scrollable list below If you would like to add someone to this list then you can request it here Your Name required Your Email required Type of Tweep Chocolate Maker Chocolatier Chocolate Shop Chocolate Blogger PR Journalist Information Othjer Twitter Handle Anything else you d like to say Checking you re human box fill in the letters you see No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title 315 Chocolate Tweeps You Can t Afford Not To Follow Author Lee McCoy On 2 04 11 2 19 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Features Feedback 2 comments Rupert Jones Hey you missed out a gorgeous chocolate shop who are good on twitter Lucky s London Lee Hi Rupert Thanks for that Yup I filtered over 5000 possibles down to about 1000 and then by hand down to nearly 300 I certainly did miss Lucky s an oversight I ve now fixed If there s anymore let me know Kind regards Lee Search Show Your Love For Chocolate Follow chocolatereview Tweet Find Reviews By Category Find reviews by category Dark Chocolate Milk Chocolate White Chocolate By Flavour By Rating By Flavour By Country By Maker By Rating By Type News Features Mystery

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/287-chocolate-tweeps/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • State Of The Chocolate Chocolate Reviews 2011
    Haiti 2 Hawaii 2 Indonesia 2 Korea 2 Papua New Guinea 2 Saint Lucia 2 Switzerland 2 Turkey 2 Algeria 1 Australia 1 Belize 1 Congo 1 Costa Rica 1 Finland 1 Honduras 1 Ireland 1 Lebanon 1 Malaysia 1 Panama 1 South Africa 1 Spain 1 Sweden 1 Thailand 1 USA 1 Cambodia 1 São Tomé and Príncipe 1 Dark Chocolate Reviews As a child I was always told that the darker the chocolate or the higher the cacao content if you want to be accurate the better the chocolate will be Well I ve tried the 99 Noir Infini from Michel Cluziel and I didn t like it it was far too bitter for my liking Over time I ve bought more and more dark chocolate around the 70 to 75 level and I just feel this is my mark The 85 Amatller Ecuador was lovely as well as the Divine 85 In terms of my favourite brands It seems that Paul A Young and Pralus are the two brands with the most top scores whilst Amano Pierre Hermé Chapon Friis Holm and Geert Vercruysse do well The brands I seemingly don t like are Prestat Schmerlings Nestle Caderel Sainsbury s and Orion Dark Chocolate Reviews 70 Dark Chocolate 41 72 Dark Chocolate 18 60 Dark Chocolate 12 75 Dark Chocolate 12 64 Dark Chocolate 10 66 Dark Chocolate 8 52 Dark Chocolate 7 65 Dark Chocolate 6 67 Dark Chocolate 4 50 Dark Chocolate 3 68 Dark Chocolate 3 85 Dark Chocolate 3 54 Dark Chocolate 2 73 Dark Chocolate 2 74 Dark Chocolate 2 100 Dark Chocolate 1 53 Dark Chocolate 1 61 Dark Chocolate 1 69 Dark Chocolate 1 77 Dark Chocolate 1 80 Dark Chocolate 1 81 Dark Chocolate 1 99 Dark Chocolate 1 55 Dark Chocolate 1 By Flavour It s pretty obvious that I love chilli chocolate but what s shocked me is the number of caramel reviews I ve done When I first started reviewing chocolate I couldn t stand caramel chocolate but over time I ve come to love it Also I can see that I ve also gone out to try a great number of citrus chocolate which I generally love Apart from the Lindt Tarte Citron Meringue which was naff Brand Reviews Features Chilli 19 Caramel 16 Almond 12 Lemon 12 Raspberry 12 Coconut 11 Ginger 11 Strawberry 11 Hazelnut 10 Mint 10 Praline 10 Banana 7 Champagne 7 Coffee 7 Sea Salt 7 Cherry 6 Cinnamon 6 Nougat 6 Rum 6 Cardamom 5 Lime 5 Tea 5 Apricots 4 Fruit And Nut 4 Honey 4 Honeycomb 4 Nutmeg 4 Pistachio 4 Walnut 4 Amaretti 3 Peanuts 3 Pepper 3 Raisins 3 Wine 3 Cashews 2 Bacon 2 Blueberries 2 Cheese 2 Cocoa Nibs 2 Macadamia Nuts 2 Marshmallow 2 Orange 2 Peppermint 2 Rose 2 Whisky 2 Blackberry 1 Baileys 1 Beer 1 Blackcurrant 1 Brazil Nuts 1 Buffalo Milk 1 Butterscotch 1 Cloves 1 Cognac 1

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/state-of-chocolate-2011/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Real Meaning Of Christmas And The Chocolate Cafe
    most of them have hardly had a Christmas before Knowing that my best friend had a similar childhood I just couldn t refuse That s as much as I really did though I asked Paul because I realised he was local and a great bloke as well He then took some of his own and his staff s time and sorted out all the gift bags full of chocolate and at this time of year it was a fantastic act of generosity To John I thank you for giving me a real life example of what Christmas is really about and a huge thanks to Paul for being a real life St Nicholas I know most businesses have their own charities or good causes they support but I hope everyone can be that bit more generous not only at Christmas but throughout the year We may not be able to solve the world s problems with a bar of chocolate but we can make them disappear for a moment No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title The Real Meaning Of Christmas And The Chocolate Cafe Author Lee McCoy On 15 12 10 5 09 PM Section Other Editor Lee McCoy Categories Features The Chocolate Cafe Feedback 4 comments http kaveyeats com Kavey This is definitely what Christmas ought to be about Well done to you for taking your friend s idea and running with it and making it happen And of course to Paul for being so generous and giving http districtchocoholic blogspot com Victoria District Chocoholic Very cool idea more people should take this on in their respective areas antibeschocdrop Paul your a real Father Christmas to 56 underpriveliged children Ramsbottom is very proud of you Thanks http www

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/the-real-meaning-of-christmas-and-the-chocolate-cafe/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The A-Z of Chocolate Makers In Five Words Or Less
    as torture implement Hotel Chocolat Very friendly people with accommodation Hovby No 9 Strange message on his website I Ikea Much better than I anticipated J Jacques Torres Makes quick chocolate for breakfast Jean Paul Hevin died and gone to heaven Joel Durand Makes jam too must try K KShocolat Went bust but coming back L La Maison du Chocolate Shop felt stuffy chocolate nice Lauden Chocolate More zippy than Rainbow episode Leonidas I had really bad service Lindt In every supermarket it seems M Malagasy Where did they go Mars More sugar than chocolate perhaps Mast Brothers Awesome talented bohemian bearded guys Matcha Chocolate Fantastic tea inspired chocolate assortments Melt Chocolates Pricey but delicious needs innovation Michel Cluizel Never spell his name right Montezumas Not my favourites by far My Chocolate Bar Chocolate truffles to die for N Neuhaus Very old modern chocolate makers Nestle Is it really chocolate New Tree funky sound chocolate names O Original Beans awesome wicked chocolate packaging Oriol Balague Great but should update website P Paul A Young More talented than his namesake Pacari Chocolate covered coffee beans wrong Patrick Roger French chocolatier doing great stuff Pierre Herme Simply wonderful French chocolate Pierre Marcolini Abandoning London made me grumpy Plamil Really ethical but not nice Pralus Colourful Italians making wikid chocolate Prestat Wear sunglasses when eating them Q Q Comes with a golden spoon Quality Street Quality missing me thinks R Rawr the name gives it away Red Star Chocolate micro batch chocolate heaven Reese s Can t pay me to eat it Ricard Chocolat Booking my plant tickets now Ritter not my cup of tea Rococo Chocolates Chantal s chocolate fantasies played out S Seeds Of Change What Owned by Mars now Scharffen Berger Esteemed chocolatiers from San Francisco Simon Coll Spanish chocolate that s surprisingly good South Devon Chilli Farm Chocolate with a definite kick T The Chocolate Cafe the pride of the Northwest The House of Minerva really friendly people in Bath Theo Chocolate really interesting chocolate from America Thorntons traditional and imaginative chocolate creations Tipyn Bach My favourite chocolate makers in Wales V Valrhona Small town chocolatier making waves Venchi Cigars taste better this way Vosges Haut Chocolat Popular chocolate in the States W William Curley Irresistible cakes in relaxing environment Wittamer Yet more chocolate to try Zotter Are these guys on something If I ve missed any out or you ve got some good descriptions of chocolate makers in five words or fewer then share them in the comments below No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title The A Z of Chocolate Makers In Five Words Or Less Author Lee McCoy On 2 09 10 11 54 AM Section Features Editor Lee McCoy Categories Features Feedback 9 comments http twitoaster com country gb chocolatereview chocolatereview The A Z of Chocolate Makers In Five Words Or Less http www chocolatereviews co uk chocol SerizawaKatsuki chocolatereview Nice At my hometown I

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/chocolate-az5/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • English Chocolate
    fevered pace to fill in the demand One English chocolatier Thorntons is celebrating a significant milestone in 2011 The company was founded in 1911 and is about to enter its 100th year of business While other English companies such as Cadbury have merged with larger corporations Thorntons remains an independent English chocolate maker What s With the French Names Discerning English chocolates from other European competitors can be a bit confusing When English chocolate companies tastes and techniques were first being developed there was a strong French influence This may be why so many of the English chocolatiers have French names Chocolate companies with distinctly French names such as Artisan du Chocolat Charbonnel et Walker and Demarquette are in fact English companies Besides the early French influence chocolatiers sometimes use French names to denote a more exotic and sophisticated palette Other Great Names in English Chocolate Willie Harcourt Cooze Unlike many English chocolatiers with deep roots in the industry Willie Harcourt Cooze brings a distinctly modern and quirky feel to the field Willie is first and foremost and entrepreneur Chocolate making began as almost an experiment for this famous Englishmen In fact the ins and outs of his chocolate making process were revealed in an English documentary entitled Willie s Wonky Chocolate Factory Paul A Young Paul Young is another British chocolatier who has appeared on television However he is definitely known for his quality and expertise in chocolate more than his unusual approach Paul started as a career caterer studying hotel catering as a young man After being groomed as a pastry and desert chef in several fine English establishments he collaborated with business partner James Cronin to open a distinctive English chocolate house in 2006 The two now sell boutique chocolates in the heart of London William Curley

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/english-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Chocolate Glossary - Terms and Phrases
    heavy cream and whipped egg whites While chocolate mousse is typically prepared as a rich frothy and light dessert it may also be creamy and thick depending on preparation methods Chocolate mousse was once only served as a specialty dessert in fine French restaurants but emerged into the homes of English and Americans in the mid 20th century Chocolate Nib A Chocolate nib is the small piece or kernel of the coca bean that remain after the winnowing crushing and roasting process in chocolate manufacturing Chocolate nibs are the primary ingredient of chocolate At times the original chocolate nibs which tend to be darker and richer than the rest of the bean are used to add composition and smoothness to chocolate bars or desserts Chocolate Truffles Truffles are so named because they visually resemble the rare French mushroom of the same name Chocolate truffles are created from a confectionary combination of butter sugar chocolate cream and occasionally a liqueur or flavouring The confection is heated cooled then delicately rolled and shaped into small balls and coated in cocoa or covertures of milk dark or white chocolate Sometimes different textures of a truffle may be achieved by rolling the centre filling in powdered sugar chopped nuts or cocoa powder Chocolate truffles are either domed with piped centres or hand rolled Chuao Located in the state of Aragua in Venezuela Chuao is a chocolate producing region harvesting what are considered to be some of the finest beans in the world While the upper plantation is planted solely in Criollo beans the remaining part consists of a cross breeding variety of Amelonado and Criollo blanco This hybrid tends to be a much hardier and productive variety The richly esteemed chocolate produced in this area has an intense robust flavour subtly hinting at traces of molasses plums blueberries and vanilla Cocoa Hot Chocolate Drinking Chocolate In ancient times the Maya and Aztec civilizations prepared a cold spiced drink from chocolate The Conquistadors brought this drink to Spain where it eventually evolved into the hot beverage we refer to today as cocoa Cocoa is a mixture of cocoa powder and hot water The drink is generally sweetened with sugar or a sugar substitute though the Aztecs chose to drink their version unsweetened The Maya however sweetened their beverage referred to as xocoatl with honey The spiced drink of the Aztec was called cacahuatl Cocoa powder is produced by removing a portion of cocoa butter from the bean grinding the rest into a fine powder Many consumers confuse hot chocolate and cocoa often believing them to be the same However while cocoa is mixed with hot water and cocoa powder hot chocolate is actually produced from shaved chocolate Hot chocolate tends to have a richer flavour since it also contains the cocoa butter that was originally removed from the bean during the production of cocoa powder Couverture Chocolate Couverture chocolate is a chocolate coating of professional quality used to cover candies The chocolate is tempered to form a shiny smooth shell coating on various confections It generally contains between 32 and 39 cocoa butter The high amount of cocoa butter used in couverture chocolate makes it easier to work with providing a finer coating shell than chocolate that contains a smaller percentage of cocoa butter Couverture chocolate possesses a different texture and consistency than other forms of chocolate bars or wafers as a result of a better quality of bean finely ground to perfection as well as its high cocoa butter content Couverture chocolate may be purchased in blocks of various sizes as well as wafer discs suitable for the home chocolatier or baker Cuvée Cuvee is a French term used to refer to a blend of various cacao beans Some manufacturers may use the term to refer to a specialized batch or blend of chocolate they have derived from several different types of cacao beans to produce a particular or desired flavour texture and aroma Criollo Considered as one of the finest in aroma and flavour Criollo is a flavour cacao bean Originating in Mexico and Central America the Criollo cacao bean makes up less than 5 of cacao in the world today As a result of its fine qualities in both aroma and taste the Criollo bean is used in some of the finest chocolates in the world producing an aromatic deeply flavourful and smooth chocolate of highest quality and delicate undertones The majority of Criollo beans are harvested in Columbia and Venezuela though some crops are also produced in Madagascar and Comoros While some Criollos have been transported to other areas in an attempt to harvest them elsewhere there has been limited success Due to the fragility and low productivity of the bean the Criollo is in danger of extinction Dutch Chocolate In 1828 a Dutchman by the name of Coenrad Johannes Van Houten patented a method for processing and pressing cocoa butter from roasted cacao beans to create a powdered cocoa While many believe Dutch Chocolate to have a stronger more robust flavour because of its dark qualities the darker characteristic of Dutch Chocolate is actually a result of the processing method not a flavour ingredient During the processing method of Dutch Chocolate the pH of the cocoa is altered by the alkali used prior to roasting This alkali generally potassium or sodium bicarbonate neutralizes the bitterness and acidity levels of the bean actually producing a milder flavoured chocolate In addition Dutch Cocoa tends to be more soluble than other varieties making it easier to mix with water Enrobing Of the four basic methods of chocolate coating enrobing is the process of coating a caramel fruit or other centre with tempered chocolate by using a machine referred to as an enrober The centres are placed on a conveyer belt travel down the belt to be sprayed with a showering of liquid chocolate then travel through a cooling area in an effort to set the tempered chocolate As the conveyer belt moves it creates a slight vibration that distributes the chocolate evenly over the centres The other methods used in covering centres with tempered chocolate include moulding shell moulding and dipping Fair Trade Chocolate The term Fair Trade Certified refers to the certification by the Fair Trade Association that the chocolate or other commodities complies with specific social economic and environmental conditions as set forth by the association At least twenty Fair Trade Associations exist nationwide including 17 European countries Japan Canada and the U S The purpose of a Fair Trade Association is to ensure proper and fair payment to farmers for crops and commodities thus providing an agricultural standard Forastero The Forastero variety of cacao bean makes up about 75 to 90 of the world s cacao crop The Forastero tree is capable of growing and thriving in all chocolate producing regions such as the Caribbean Africa the Pacific Rim and both Central and South America The majority of the Forastero crop however is harvested in West Africa This particular species of cacao originated in the Amazon and is much heartier than the Criollo variety However the quality of the cacao is not as high The Forestero bean possesses a more bitter flavour thus requiring a longer fermentation process While the majority of Forastero beans are used to produce generic chocolate some varieties such as the Amelonado and the Nacional cacao are well known for their aromatic properties and are often sought after as a higher quality of chocolate Framboise Framboise is a French word meaning raspberry While the term is often used in reference to a clear French brandy with a light and fruity raspberry bouquet it is also used by some to refer to a chocolate bonbon made with a raspberry filling such as a crème or liqueur French Style Chocolate French style chocolate often refers to French chocolate bonbons French bonbons often have a thinner outer chocolate shell than Belgian or Swiss The original process of hand dipping rather than moulding produces this thin chocolate shell French style chocolates generally have a ganache centre of chocolate or cream sometimes infused with flavourings such as orange coffee or raspberry This style of chocolate also often uses pralines or nuts Fudge Adding sugar to boiling milk and stirring until it reaches the soft ball stage for candy making produces fudge The mixture must then be beaten as it cools to ensure a creamy and smooth texture Chocolate is often added for flavour though other varieties also are made Fudge is generally very rich in flavour Ganache Ganache is a smooth mixture of chocolate cream and butter Generally it is dipped in tempered chocolate and rolled in powdered cocoa sweetener or other coatings to create a truffle though it is also frequently used as the centre of a bonbon Ganache is often flavoured with a variety of extracts coffee or liqueurs and can be produced from white milk or dark chocolate To make the ganache firmer a larger am ount of chocolate is used in the blend If a softer more velvety texture is desired a higher yield of cream is used In addition to being used as the centre of candies ganache is also used to frost or glaze cakes or pastries German Chocolate In 1852 a man by the name of Sam German invented a baking chocolate for Walter Baker Company In 1957 a woman in Texas used this sweet baking chocolate in a cake recipe and submitted it to a local newspaper in Dallas The German Chocolate Cake we are familiar with today was born with this submission Traditionally the popular German Chocolate Cake recipe consists of a chocolate layer sour cream cake with a coconut and pecan frosting Gianduja Or Gianduia Gianduja sometimes spelled Gianduia is a velvety paste blended from hazelnuts chocolate and sugar Occasionally this paste may be made from almonds instead of hazelnuts Gianduja originated in the Piedmont area of Italy a large hazelnut producing region According to history during the Napoleonic blockade of the 19th century cacao obtained from South America was scarce Chocolatiers began implementing roasted hazelnuts into the chocolate as a means of making the chocolate more affordable Gianuioto was introduced in 1865 and later referred to as gianduja While milk and dark chocolate are commonly used in the production of Gianduja today cocoa powder was its original chocolate ingredient Grand Cru Chocolate Grand Cru Chocolate refers to chocolate beans that come from a single region whether a blend or a single variety To be defined as a single origin the beans used must be geographically located in the same general area The first use of the term Grand Cru was used with the introduction of the Guanaja 70 bar in 1986 The chocolate bar produced by Valrhona was a blend of Trinitario and Criollo beans from South America Valrhona produces a variety of other Grand Cru bars including a number of bars from the Madagascan and Caribbean region as well as the Jivara Lait bar also from the South American region Ier Cru Premier Cru An abbreviation for premier cru 1er Cru is often mistakenly spelled with an I replacing the 1 1er is actually a French term for 1st or premier While the term originally was used to designate the finest grape vineyards in the Bordeaux region of France it is now also widely used to refer to the highest quality beans harvested by a grower of chocolate Kastanjes Kastanjes is a chocolate moulded and shaped in the form of a chestnut and often filled with ganache While the word is derived from the Spanish for wild chestnut the term likely has its origins in the shape of the chocolate rather than the taste The filling of a kastanjes may or may not be of a chestnut flavour The term is pronounced kas TAN ya Liquid Chocolate Liquid chocolate is a chocolate flavoured product that uses vegetable oil instead of cocoa butter as its base It is often marketed in individual packages for baking purposes While liquid chocolate is convenient and requires no melting it lacks the texture and flavour of tempered chocolate made with cocoa butter Little Squares Of Chocolate Semi sweet chocolate is often sold in small pieces or squares suitable for the home baker Liquid chocolate is combined with sweetener and extra cocoa butter to create semi sweet chocolate Some flavourings or liquors may also be included in the mixture Semi sweet chocolate can be used in recipes that call for either sweet or bittersweet chocolate but should not be substituted for milk chocolate In addition to being sold in little squares other common forms of semi sweet chocolate include bits morsels and chocolate chips Maracaibo Maracaibo refers to a cacao bean of the Criollo variety that is harvested in the Sur del Lago region of Venezuela near the Maracaibo River The Maracaibo cacao possesses a slight fruity and woodsy tone with a hint of sweet spice The cacao bean has a smooth and gentle consistency Marzipan Sometimes confused with almond paste Marzipan consists of melted sugar and finely ground almonds Originally the thick paste was used as a covering on wedding cakes prior to layering the cake with icing or a fondant Some even used Marzipan as the only cake covering Today Marzipan is frequently given a chocolate coating or shaped into figurines Marzipan has a sweeter flavour than almond paste and is often used in baking Mendiant A mendiant is a beautifully presented delicious disk or bar of chocolate studded on top with a variety of colourful fruits and nuts Most often it is created in the form of a large slab or bar of chocolate and broken into small pieces of bark French for mendicant the word means beggar indicating that it has such a delightful flavour one would be willing to beg for a piece Traditionally the various fruits and nuts decorating the chocolate represented the different orders of the monastic robes Hazelnuts represented the Augustinian order raisins the Dominican almonds referenced the Carmelite and dried figs were representative of the Franciscan Nougat A blend of honey sugar and egg whites creates a firm centre confection called nougat that is often dipped or covered in chocolate Hazelnuts almonds or other varieties of nuts are commonly added to the nougat At times other elements such as lavender or fruit are added as well to provide a unique flavour Nougat can be either very stiff or lightly chewy depending upon the combination of ingredients Chocolate nougat is a popular variety Nougatine Or Croquant Nougatine or croquant is brown nougat produced from caramelised or crystallised sugar The texture of nougatine is often firmer than white nougat which includes egg whites in its ingredients Generally ground almonds are added to nougatine Crushed pieces of nougatine are a popular addition to chocolate candies and other confections Organic Chocolate Food that is organically grown refers to an agricultural system that includes proper maintaining and refurbishing of fertile soil and healthy naturally grown plants No chemicals are used in the fertilizers or pesticides that are used in the growing or harvesting process In addition no artificial ingredients or preservatives are added to the product Organic chocolate is produced with a minimum of 95 natural materials With the recent growing trend in organically grown and manufactured chocolate candies many mainstream producers of chocolate have introduced organic lines of chocolate bars and candies Some of the well known names include Blanxart Dagoba and Valrhona Palet D Or In 1898 a confectionary artist by the name of Bernard Serady introduced a dark chocolate bonbon with a creamy coffee flavoured ganache The flat irregularly shaped disc featured a golden leaf decoration setting this bonbon aside as a truly unique treasure Palet d Or literally means golden disc Palets d Or are now made worldwide with a chocolate as well as coffee flavoured ganache Pastille Though the word pastille has had a number of connotations throughout the years in the world of confections it has come to mean either a simple chocolate disk or a small fruit flavoured hard lozenge The flat bottom of the candy and the rounded top of the disk were the intentional design of Droste who popularised the uniquely shaped confection to fit perfectly within the pallet allowing the chocolate to literally melt in your mouth Porcelana Porcelana is so named for the near white colour on its interior surface However the nibs are still of regular cacao colour Originally called Maracaibo Porcelana beans are one of the rarest cacao beans in the world Once considered to be amongst the finest high quality cacaos in the world Porcelana is not very resistant to disease resulting in the near extinction of certain varieties of the bean The existing hybrids of the Mexican and Columbian varieties are inferior in quality The prized Venezuelan variety however with its distinct almond flavour is used in the production of some of the highest quality chocolate bars distributed throughout the world Porcelana bars are deemed one of the finest chocolate bars available upon the market and are produced by only the greatest chocolatiers in the business In addition to the traditional almond flavour Porcelana bars are also produced in strawberry cream and butterscotch flavours Some of the producers of the fine and rare Porcelana bar include Pierre Marcolini Domori Amedei and Valrhona Pot de Creme Pot de Crème is chocolate French dessert custard served in tightly lidded cups During the baking process the cups of custard are placed in hot water This process is commonly referred to as a hot water bath Baking the delicate chocolate dessert by this method produces light creamy and smooth custard of fine quality Praline The word praline has a wide variety of connotations The original pralines were caramelized almonds invented by Clement Lassagne of France in 1636 These original pralines were created simply by dropping almonds into a pot of boiling sugar A family owned confectionary in the town of

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/chocolate-glossary/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

web-archive-uk.com, 2016-10-24