web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » C » CHOCOLATEREVIEWS.CO.UK

Total: 869

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • La Maison Du Chocolat Akosombo 68% Dark Chocolate Bar From Ghana
    lift off the tongue After they ve hit the roof of your mouth then a second flavour takes over This flavour is more of a Mellow Birds coffee flavour There s also vanilla and caramel in their too This bar is a complex creature It s sleek and sophisticated exterior belies a more intriguing creation inside My hat off to them In the next couple of weeks I ll be reviewing similar bars from Paul A Young and the new bars from The Chocolate Café so there s a good amount to look forward to in the world of plain chocolate Rating Taste 90 I needed a break from acidic dark chocolate from companies such as Pralus and Green Blacks this was very welcome Texture 90 I neglected to mention the very crisp break of the chocolate This was excellent Appearance 85 the outer packaging was great the inside ok and the rich dark chocolate with their logo embossed looked great Nutritional Information 70 there s enough there but it was exceptionally difficult to read Price 70 at 6 a bar 75g they re taking the Mickey a bit Overall 81 Where To Buy The La Maison Du Chocolat Akosombo 68 Dark Chocolate Bar La Maison Du Chocolat Nutritional Information Cocoa mass sugar cocoa butter emulsifier soy lecithin natural extract vanilla Dark chocolate contains Cocoa solids 68 minimum May contain traces of nuts milk and egg proteins gluten and peanut La Maison Du Chocolat News Item Factory Tour In French No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title La Maison Du Chocolat Akosombo 68 Dark Chocolate Bar Author Lee McCoy On 19 03 10 Rating 81 100 url https plus google com 113766011686508596772 posts Section Reviews Editor Lee McCoy Categories 68

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/akosombo-68-dark-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Chocolate From Vietnam and Vietnamese Cocoa Production
    significant contributor to world cocoa production When you read stories of local cocoa farmers such as Mr Trinh Van Thanh then you realise how important it is to support cocoa production from countries that aren t blessed with support from the large multinational chocolate producers The Vietnamese chocolate I have comes from Trinitario beans made from trees planted as seedlings originated from Malaysia ten years ago in the Ba Ria Vung Tau Province which is East of Mekong Delta and nicely situatied by the sea I must visit The cocoa is still conched when it reaches Kent which would obviously affect the flavour but the local atmosphere soil acidity particular provinence of the cocoa would all play a significant part in the overall flavour of the chocolate you ll enjoy View Larger Map In 2007 the country was responsible for only 1 000 tons of cocoa with an aim for 15 000 tons this year which when compared to the 740 000 tons of cocoa produced by Ghana and 1 400 000 produced by Ivory Coast every year you can understand that Vietnam has a long way to go to match their standing although they do intend to increase this to around 100 000 by 2020 according to the WWF Currently most of the aid to Vietnamese cocoa production comes from the US Department of Agriculture and the Dutch We should be doing more especially as they re not long out of communist rule where crops such as cocoa weren t really supported What we can do is what the German Ritter company is doing by stating an interest in buying a set amount of organic certified cocoa from Vietnam annually Worth a read India Vietnam Complex Cuisine Gourmet 2009 Study on Suitability Feasibility and Socioeconomic Benefits of Cocoa in

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/vietnam-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Artisan du Chocolat Vietnam Origin Bar Review
    bean actually first came into being but also a slight citrus note which you d get from Indonesian cocoa I m not sure if my mind is just playing tricks on me but there is a hint of rice wine in there too But what all this makes is for a very light mild bar of dark chocolate that doesn t have anywhere near as much of acidity as many of the Pralus bars In fact the flavours are delicate that I d not actually have it with any drink such as white wine as the luscious flavours would be completely lost Although that being said there is a slight alcoholic nature to it at the very end of the melt which reminds me slightly of Baileys I do love robust dark chocolate But on a hot day like this then a bar is absolutely perfect to keep in the shade and nibble a bit every couple of pages as you pass through a novel This definitely has to be one of my favourite bars this year Rating Taste 95 this was right up my street Texture 70 the texture may not have offered the wow factor that a Beschle bar might offer But the snap was very good and crisp and the melt did offer some good resistance Appearance 80 I love their packaging But might actually prefer the bar itself a little bit thicker and perhaps with a bit more character Nutritional Information 75 it s good but the provenance is more important to me I don t eat chocolate to lose weight I eat it to experience different things Price 96 Gerard 2 75 is too cheap for this bar It s worth twice that Overall 83 2 I want more Where To Buy The Artisan du

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/artisan-du-chocolat-vietnam-origin-bar/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Willie's Delectable Cacao - Indonesian 69% Dark Chocolate Review
    Pralus Tanzanie and a touch like Valrhona 64 There s also a touch of sweaty feet about it but don t let this put you off he says As the chocolate subsides there is an arid sensation that your taste buds have had all other sensation blocked out any other lingering flavour that could be left The joyful part of this bar is that each and every nibble seems to be different which may be due to the fact that it doesn t appear to be either single estate or single bean I could be wrong But that s not to distract from the fact that this bar is full of character It s just that people have to be prepared for the intense bitterness and dryness that really belies its 69 minimum cacao content The colour hides nothing It s a typical 65 70 type fairly dark brown which looks warm and inviting And the texture is pretty good too if a touch dry Little bits will flake off on to your lips and you ll be fighting against gravity to keep them under your control Rating Taste 80 the caramel aspect I liked the acidic I expected but it did leave my mouth gasping for flavour at the very end Texture 75 Generally it was good but I can t explain the intense dryness at the end Appearance 90 very good indeed Nutritional Information 60 There s not a great deal there Price 60 this cost 3 49 in Selfridges and it ll set you back 2 99 direct You can get a bar of Tainori 64 cocoa single origin dark chocolate bar for 2 95 though Ah sod it buy both You only live once Overall 74 worth trying but not my favourite bar in this category

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/willies-indonesian-69/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Red Star 70% Dark Chocolate From Peru
    off just the right amount for each bite Whilst the texture might be a touch more course than one would expect from say from Chapon Pierre Hermé and Bonnat that texture only appears at the very end of the experience In fact the first 90 of the melt is excellent It does take a bit of time to get going but holds together very well and lets the wonderful caramel and cherry notes escape very slowly There may be a touch of acidity at the very end but it is far less pronounced than any Pralus I ve tried For a bar to taste so good without the massive scientific support of the well established companies to balance the inherent slight farmyard notes of organic chocolate and to cope without lecithin to smoothen the liquor this is a bloody brilliant bar of dark chocolate It s strange that this bar is slightly more bitter at 70 than the 75 Chapon from Cuba but I actually prefer the bitterness of this Red Star creation even though the melt seemed more complete Rating Taste 85 I really did love the mellow notes and a slight acidity at the end Texture 75 not as moist as some of the bars made in Italy or France but still better than most made in England Appearance 75 unpretentious Nutritional Information n a it s too natural and unadulterated to require much information Price 85 I don t think he s selling them online anymore but via Paul A Young but I d expect them to still be about 3 50 each Overall 80 worth a trip to Paul s shop to get some And please support the guys that can t afford a cross your fingers campaign on national TV but offers chocolate more likely

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/duffys-star-peru/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Demarquette Pure Wild 68% Dark Chocolate Review
    replicate with the texture It reminds me of a meadow of sweet pea in summer s breeze There s nothing heroic macho or pretentious about this bar It s bar that is confident in itself It doesn t need trowel and a bag of expensive makeup It is naturally gorgeous This natural unadulterated simplicity of flavour comes from the fact that it s the first chocolate of the modern era to be made with wild and undeveloped cocoa trees There s no mass produced factory line processed intensive harvesting of these cocoa pods And it tastes better for it The negative aspect of this bar and all of their bars of this ilk is that there s no nutritional information The packaging states that it s a 68 bar made with pure Bolivian cocoa but there s no information regarding suitability for vegetarians vegans or for people with nut or other allergies I can t see any information regarding the use of soya lecithin that might be useful But that s all meaningless if you re like me you just love the taste of real chocolate well made And that s exactly what this bar is I just wished the other bar I bought wasn t the 64 Mexico but the much darker 80 Uganda so I can get a feel for the more intense end of the Demarquette range But that being said I enjoyed this bar immensely You must try it Rating Taste 90 delightful A smidgen too sweet for me Texture 98 rapturous Appearance 60 disappointing Nutritional Information 30 almost nothing Price 80 even though its 7 its great value Just don t eat it as quickly as I did Overall 71 6 but if it was just on taste texture and price it would be 89

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/demarquette-wild-68/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Criollo Dark Chocolate From The Original Hawaiian Chococolate Company
    don t worry about that hopefully they ll export to other UK chocolate fans too Another thing that you ll notice is the Hawai i Seal Of Quality from the Hawaiian Department of Agriculture which proves that it s locally produced and should be good I certainly like how much effort Bob and Pam got involved in the local community and governmental systems Moving on to the aroma I ve never witnessed anything as strong as this before It s peppery with a fairly noticeable wasabi note which reminded me of the chocolates I tried from Spice Rack Chocolates last year I m used to acidic aromas when it comes to dark chocolate but I ve never had the pleasure of aroma like this before And having never been to Hawai i before I couldn t tell if it s distinctively Hawaiian or not but it certainly was different The snap was understated There was no crisp snap but more of a laid back break which wasn t rushed or purposeful It was just yeh you ve broken me The texture was absolutely fantastic It was smooth and just plain delightful I can t think of any more suitable adjectives to be honest I actually preferred the texture to the Amano Chuao and yes I said it There was just a certain richness to it which the Chuao just didn t have Having read the absolutely fantastic amount of press coverage and general information they gave me I saw that they only conch for 17 hours which lead me to think that the flavour would be as intense as the aroma I was completely wrong The flavours alternate between milky and nutty and with a slight zip at the end Actually there does seem to be a touch of under ripe banana to it just at the end the rest of it is milky wholesome but still undoubtedly dark This chocolate is truly remarkable I m not just saying because they ve stuck to their beliefs and remain 100 Hawaiian or that I admire how they ve taken a big risk started producing chocolate against the odds but because it tastes damn good It s quirky I know the bitterness isn t typical but this makes it a great alternative to our traditional dark chocolate paradigm It s starting to seem that chocolate from the far reaches of the cocoa world such as Vietnam and Cuba I think I ve got some from Haiti somewhere make far more interesting chocolate from even some of the more well known producing countries I was trying to be good as I ve got a fair few reviews to do But I absolutely loved this bar I ll save what s left for mother as she loves dark chocolate and it is her birthday on Friday and I m sure she ll love its intense aroma and mild and interesting flavour But what about cost Well this bar was 15 for 85g which is

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/hawaii-criollo-dark-chocolate/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Choc-O-Bars 54% Belgian Dark Chocolate Review
    with it The sugar completely overpowers the cocoa and the more and more you have the more stark the difference is It becomes a bar of sugar rather than a bar of chocolate Even with milk chocolate there s a roundness to the cocoa that often compliments from the sweetness other than the Nestle rubbish I m left feeling that I ve had a whole bottle of chocolate sauce poured down my throat I now that sounds harsh but any quality of the chocolate and any excellence in chocolate manufacturer have been lost in a sea of sweetness I hope this doesn t foretell of my Belgian chocolate experience later on this year I m not having a good run at delicious chocolate lately Rating Taste 50 much too sweet and nothing else to distract from that Texture 75 the texture was very nice indeed but my thoughts were complete distracted by the taste Appearance 60 the plastic wrapping didn t contribute to a positive experience Nutritional Information 60 hardly anything there Price 59 at 3 59 for the bar it s overpriced Overall 60 8 Where To Buy The Choc O Bars 54 Belgian Dark Chocolate Bar Bon Bons Nutritional Information Sugar Cocoa Butter Cocoa MAss Soya Leithin Natural Vanilla Contains Soya and may contain traces of nuts 54 cocoa minimum No related posts Post Information Below you ll find all the meta data about this post Title Choc O Bars 54 Belgian Dark Chocolate Bar Author Lee McCoy On 8 06 10 Rating 60 8 100 url https plus google com 113766011686508596772 posts Section Reviews Editor Lee McCoy Categories 54 Dark Chocolate Belgium Rating 55 59 Feedback 3 comments http twitoaster com country gb chocolatereview chocolatereview New Post Choc O Bars 54 Belgian Dark Chocolate Bar Rating 59

    Original URL path: http://www.chocolatereviews.co.uk/chocobars-55/ (2016-02-13)
    Open archived version from archive


web-archive-uk.com, 2016-12-08