Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:

Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » K » KHALWEIR.CO.UK

Total: 135

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Khal Weir - Book review : REWORK
    37Signal s project management tool Basecamp for a few years now While it isn t the most feature complete tool it gets the important stuff right in fact thats one of 37Signal s mantras build half a product not a half assed product Even before using any of their products I ve enjoyed reading the company s blog Signal vs Noise and have always admired their openess about the way they work and been inspired by their success I ve never read or had any interest in reading a business book before I m allergic to buzzwords and marketing speak but knowing that this would be a different kind of business book I pre ordered a copy and have read through it in only three sessions REWORK is playbook for starting or running any sized company based on 37Signal s principles with a proven success The book is very easy and fast to read each section is to the point and at most a couple of pages long The statements are bold contradicting what you have likely experienced at work however they make sense and are backed by real world examples not only from 37Signals but Amazon Zappos Dunkin Donuts

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022201023/book-review-rework#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - 4 Great movies so far this year
    fighting back Visit www foodincmovie com for more information All Tomorrow s Parties A collection of footage collected from fans and musicians over a decade of the unique Butlin s based music festival curated by bands or fans featuring Sonic Youth Nick Cave Portishead Iggy the Stooges The Yeah Yeah Yeahs Seasick Steve Lightning Bolt and more A Single Man Set in 1960 s California every single frame of this movie looks like it was taken from a glossy vintage fashion magazine The director Tom Ford is a fashion designer and previously worked as a tailor on Bond movies however there is more to the film than it s look The film follows a middle aged man Colin Firth as he prepares to commit suicide after his partner is killed in a car accident the story is compelling and the performances superb highly recommended MicMacs This is the latest film from the director of Amelie and A Very Long Engagement Jean Pierre Jeunet however it is closer to his earlier movies Delicatessen and The City of the Lost Children in its style and subject It tells the story of Bazil who s life has been ruined by two rival weapons

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022200267/4-great-movies-so-far-this-year#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - The Death of Flash?
    Flash but why would they The Flash player is a buggy resource intensive security risk that these devices are better off without There is very little that Flash can do that can t be done with other technology such as jQuery HTML5 and CSS3 see the links below for some examples all of which will run on modern browsers without the requirement of any plugins The two main video streaming sites YouTube and Vimeo are trialing HTML5 versions of their sites using the h 264 video format in place of Flash I m hoping that the popularity of Apple s mobile devices will encourage more content providers such as Hulu and BBC iPlayer to turn their backs on Flash and embrace these new technologies For the past few weeks I ve been using ClickToFlash for Safari which blocks Flash content giving you the option to run it or not I have noticed a significant increase in the loading of pages and am not missing the horrible Flash ads that have frequently crashed my browser and brought even powerful dual core computers to their knees I m ready for a future without Flash and praise companies like Apple Google and Vimeo

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022199614/the-death-of-flash#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - Do I even need a tablet?
    regular basis more suitable although still unpleasent to spend much time using are the cheap netbooks that have become so popular So whats left web browsing and media playback I already have a great product for that in the iPhone a fair percentage of my personal web use is already done on my iPhone Using excellent mobile formatted sites like BBC and Google s web apps and apps like Facebook and Tweetie I rarely miss a larger screen About the only situation I could see the larger screen of a tablet being an advantage is as an ebook reader however the larger the screen the less likely I am to carry it which is the strength of the iPhone I always have it to hand But what will the iSlate be It makes sense that it would run existing iPhone apps however it ll be a huge disappointment if it turns out just to be an iPod touch with a big screen but equally I don t want Apple to go the Microsoft route of cramming their full OS onto a small device Having owned a few Windows Mobile devices and a touchscreen PC I know that using unmodified Windows

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022198688/do-i-even-need-a-tablet#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - 2009 round up
    amazing stage presence and Jack White just kills on drums or guitar Them Crooked Vultures s t listen on Spotify Another debut from a supergroup Josh Homme QoTSA Kyuss Eagles of Death Metal Dave Grohl Nirvana Foo Fighters and John Paul Jones Led Zepplin I had to pay a silly amount of money on eBay to secure tickets to the Edinburgh show but it was worth it these guys rock Fuck Buttons Tarot Sport Just under an hour of awesome lo fi instrumental noise imagine Exit Planet Dust era Chemical Brothers combined with Mogwai great for coding and working out to Movies There were some really terrible movies this year with the exception of Where The Wild Things Are A beautiful adaption of the much loved children s book I m tempted to go see it again already Everything in the film is fantastically designed and takes inspiration from the source material I loved this film The Hurt Locker A superbly shot film about a bomb disposal unit in Iraq directed by Kathy Bigelow District 9 I loved this I was really into it s documentary style beginning although it gradually devolved into something more generic later on For me its between Where the Wild Things Are and this for the film of the year Moon I caught this at Edinburgh Film Festival and have been looking forward to seeing it again since Moon is a dark moody SciFi film directed by David Bowie s son starring Sam Rockwell and Kevin Spacey with a great soundtrack by Clint Mansell Drag Me to Hell Sam Raimi returns to horror and kicks ass the train wreck that was Spider man 3 is almost forgotten Avatar OK so I love SciFi movies and this is just Dances with Wolves in space but it

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022197081/2009-round-up#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - The Awesome power of Social Media
    single single page on a website the RATM for Christmas Number 1 campaign had such a viral effect that it eventually generated more sales than a campaign based on one of the UK s most popular TV shows radio play etc The fact that a single person could have an idea and reach so many people in a short period of time with easy to use tools is as inspiring as it is powerful The facts are these The campaign made Sony even more money Simon Cowel is still uber rich and doesn t give a crap over 60k was raised for the homeless charity Shelter through Facebook plus RATM are donating the proceeds of sales Killing in the Name is first song to reach number one in the UK charts through downloads alone The Facebook group has almost 1 million members RATM should release a new album already Don t feel bad for this X Factor guy he sold exactly the number of singles he was going to anyway its just more people thought it would be funny to make a mockery of the system I m sure he still has a few months of excitement in the music

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022197815/the-awesome-power-of-social-media#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - Microformats
    blog khalweir co uk 2 Some Street Edinburgh Midlothian sourcecode With the hCard markup this information has become more useful the content has context making it easier to be automatically processed or extracted for use in applications like Outlook or Address Book hCard is the web based equivalent of the vCard format Other Microformats include hReview hCalendar hResume and hRecipe take a look at http microformats org for more information One of the principles of Microformats is that they should be presentable and parsable visible data is much better for humans than invisible metadata this definitely seems to be the direction the web is going in as Google recently announced they ignore keywords in meta tags and Apple Microsoft Google and Yahoo have incorporated support for microformats some of their webapps as have popular social networking sites such as digg facebook last fm linkedin twitter Another interesting use of Microformats is the XFN XHMTL friend network this was the first microformat and is used to describe the relationship between individual s and their various online presences Its really simple and consists of two attributes rel me this is used to show that the link is related to yourself eg the

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022196180/microformats#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Khal Weir - Google Wave first impressions
    way we communicate online Wave has the potential to merge and replace IM Social Networking Wikis Email will be open sourced and has an API allowing developers to write extensions or incorporate Wave in external sites Here are a couple of videos that explain Wave in more detail Google Wave in 2 minutes Google Wave revealed at Google I O 2009 So far my impressions are it s fairly quick and clean but until more people I know are using it its only really useable as a kind of twitter forum hybrid by browsing the with public waves As far as I can tell theres no way of knowing if a person is currently online which seems odd to me and every now and again you are reminded that this is a product still in development as it hangs and gives you a quote from Firefly incidentally Wave gets its name from the show too I m looking forward to Wave being released publicly and using it at work as I think it will be an excellent project management tool We have two offices in different timezones and communication can be difficult We currently use an inconsistent combination of Basecamp

    Original URL path: http://blog.khalweir.co.uk/post/12022195446/google-wave-first-impressions#_=_ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

web-archive-uk.com, 2016-10-26