Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:

Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » R » REVIEWING.CO.UK

Total: 435

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Remember the Individual: Active Reviewing Tips 1.7
    co uk 3 QUESTIONS ABOUT THE PAST Whether you are a new or old subscriber please think about what you have found Plus Minus and Interesting about Active Reviewing Tips and write your response beside the marks below 1 PLUS Point about Active Reviewing Tips 1 MINUS Point about Active Reviewing Tips 1 INTERESTING Point about Active Reviewing Tips 3 QUESTIONS ABOUT THE FUTURE Whether you are a new or old subscriber please say what you would like to see in Active Reviewing Tips in future Keep Change Try 1 MORE QUESTION Any other comments or suggestions Credit Plus Minus and Interesting or PMI is a question sequence that Edward de Bono devised to help people find a third or lateral way of making an evaluative response His official website is http www edwdebono com CONTENTS TOP Reviewing Tips REMEMBER THE INDIVIDUAL A common default pattern of reviewing in a group is when the facilitator asks questions to the whole group This is mistake number one if your priority is to help individuals review their own personal experiences At the heart of the experiential learning process is the learner s curiosity rather than the facilitator s curiosity In fact the facilitator is an optional extra and is not an essential feature of experiential learning To conduct all reviewing as whole group sessions inevitably restricts the time and opportuntiy for individuals to get in touch with express and learn from their own experiences Of course there are plenty of good reasons for conducting reviews at a group level but do you provide the optimum individual group balance in your own reviewing style These 10 tips will help you to facilitate reviewing at the individual level and may help you to think about the optimum balance 1 Encourage learners to generate their own questions before activities and before reviews 2 Encourage learners to set individual objectives in addition to any course or group objectives that may exist 3 Give learners time and a structure that will help them prepare for a group review session This could be alone or in pairs It might involve writing or drawing or collecting symbols 4 To maximise the time for individuals to review their own experiences use a structure like Guided Reflection that takes everyone through their own private review process at the same time 5 Use questionnaires log books tape recorders or word processors any resource that gives individuals a structure and opportunity to make recordings about their experience and their responses to it 6 Establish a rule for one special reviewing session that the focus will be on individual experiences Encourage I and my statements and discourage or disallow the use of we and us You may want to finish the session or start the next session by reversing the rule 7 Encourage the use of visual aids and creative media to help individuals express their feelings thoughts and ideas to each other and the group 8 Create opportunities and develop skills in the

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_7.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Getting Involved in Learning: Active Reviewing Tips 1.6
    to help focus attention on key issues for the second part of the activity Refer back to these during the end of activity review OBSERVERS In preparation for a later review observers take it in turns to withdraw from the activity and make notes or do tape recording or video recording JOGGER CARDS since renamed Goal Keepers This is an unobtrusive way of reminding individuals of their goals or action points during an activity Each individual chooses up to three personal goals or action points arising from a recent review e g I should speak up more listen more not give up easily Each person records each goal on a jogger card as in memory jogger The cards are given to a team of observers Ideally half the group observe the other half in action During the activity observers look out for individuals who do not appear to be implementing their action points and quietly show them the appropriate card Any disputes about this feedback are postponed until the review SOLO REFLECTION Create time out during an activity especially if you are working outside in an inspirational setting Give people space away from the group and time for private reflection away from observers questions and noise A solo break for 5 10 minutes enjoying the view or looking up at the sky provides a pause for thought before resuming or restarting the activity Such breaks often result in special insights that may not be available in the normal setting for reviews CATCHING THE MOMENT FOR REVIEWING There are limitless ways in which reviewing can be introduced within the action alongside the action or in mini breaks during the action All of these help to bring the worlds of doing and reviewing closer together They are also ways of catching the moment and providing reviewing opportunities close to the action Catching the moment draws people s attention to things that they might not otherwise notice or remember There will always be a place for reviews AWAY from the action and AFTER the action Such reviews can only benefit from the insights gained from reviewing IN action But some groups may learn more if you let them find their own solutions rather than continually use reviewing to prompt corrective action When helping people to learn from experience you have at least three opportunities BEFORE DURING and AFTER You should now have a few more options about how to generate reviewing DURING the action Since writing this article I have revisited this topic many times each time from a different perspective These articles are brought together in Active Reviewing Tips 12 2 CONTENTS TOP Site News New Pages Solo Challenge or Anyone Can Veto Anything http reviewing co uk toolkit solo challenge htm 1 0 0 A C T I V E R E V I E W I N G M E T H O D S This ideas list was available by autoresponder for a few days in October and will

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_6.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Reviewing During the Action | Reflection Icons: Active Reviewing Tips 1.5
    and you fall off I believe the same applies to learning cycles The big plus about experiential learning is that you learn in REAL time You see the big picture And you are doing things for real You are not in the slow lane learning one step at a time You are in the fast lane where you must attend to several things at once Experience based learning provides great opportunities for people to switch on all of these different learning skills simultaneously and bring them all together to fire on all cylinders If we impose a one thing at a time learning cycle in review time we risk giving out the opposite message switch everything off except for this one thing we are now looking at Ok there are times when a single focus works well But it may not be good practice to get into the habit of excluding other perspectives while focusing on just one Aside from any other considerations the typical goals of much experienced based learning are broad multi dimensional ones These might be broadening horizons seeing new perspectives bringing out potential whole person development working with others performing on all cylinders coping with change learning to learn The best chances of achieving such multidimensional goals come from working AND LEARNING in multidimensional ways When you next see a one thing at a time approach in an energised group look and listen carefully and you will notice people falling off their bikes as their energy dissipates and their attention wanders But not everyone Some people thrive on carefully sequenced analysis and are able to dismantle and reassemble things to achieve improved performance next time they are in action What about those learners who are unmoved by dismantling and reassembling i e people who prefer to keep things moving and who prefer to learn on the move Reviewing in Action is a strategy that encourages learning WHILE doing It mirrors the strategy of Active Reviewing or Reviewing by Doing strategies that encourage high levels of involvement throughout a reviewing session By combining these strategies the worlds of learning and action are never far apart Don t worry We can handle this holistic stuff we re built for it You can find the articles Active Reviewing and Doing Reviewing at http reviewing co uk articles index htm SUMMARY There are limitless ways in which reviewing can be introduced WITHIN the action ALONGSIDE the action or in mini breaks DURING the action All of these help to bring the worlds of doing and reviewing closer together Learning AFTER the event is an excellent option but is not the only one Next issue REVIEWING in ACTION how CONTENTS TOP Reviewing Tips REFLECTION ICONS Thank you to Ian Cook for these reviewing methods Here is a description of a simple structure for doing end of course reviews People can hang and shape their experience on these reflection icons Light bulb moments These are times during the course when an idea

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_5.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Playback | High Tech. vs. Low Tech. Active Reviewing Tips 1.4
    redrawn onto a giant HAPPY CHART to see what other patterns appear It is possible to chart themes other than happiness such as confidence effort influence motivation etc PLAYBACK 2 QUESTIONS During the playback press the pause button every minute or two or whenever requested to do so Ask everyone to write down questions each time the playback is paused Questions you actually asked at the time Questions in your mind at the time Questions you would like to ask now to anyone or everyone Everyone reads out their questions while the reviewer quickly notes down the subject of each question on a poster Repeat this process for each pause starting a new poster each time The sequence of posters produces an interesting profile of the activity and there will also be plenty of questions to discuss PLAYBACK 3 CHANGES During the playback anyone can request a pause The individual requesting the pause now proposes something they would like to have changed I wish I had I wish you had It would have been better if PLAYBACK 4 SOUNDS REPORT A microphone dummy or amplified is passed round in turn while a video is played back without the sound The holder of the microphone provides a voice over commentary on the action in the style of a news reporter or sports commentator THINKING ALOUD whoever is on screen is passed the microphone and speaks aloud what they were thinking at the time MISSING SOUNDS the viewers provide the missing sounds and words PLAYBACK 5 SIGHTS Before playing back the audiotape or video soundtrack explain that the picture has been lost and you are asking the group to provide the silent film to go with the soundtrack A space for ACTION REPLAY is cleared and it is explained that no props are to be used The audio tape or video soundtrack is replayed The group re enact what happened synchronised with the soundtrack PLAYBACK 6 BRIEFING If there is a verbal briefing of about 10 minutes before a particularly special or challenging activity then record it During the review play back this recording pausing it every minute or when requested and ask each person to recall what they were thinking or feeling at the time PLAYBACK 7 STATEMENTS Before the activity each person records a brief statement about their hopes fears expectations responsibilities predictions etc These recordings are played back after the activity This is less formal and more dramatic than referring to written statements PLAYBACK 8 INCIDENTS If a key incident has been captured on film then everyone is given the opportunity to provide a commentary during the playback or to explain what they were doing or thinking at the time If you want to know more about the HAPPY CHARTS or ACTION REPLAY mentioned above you will find these described in the Online Guide To Active Reviewing Type the words into the site search engine at http reviewing co uk or in Playback A Guide to Reviewing Activities where

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_4.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Reviewing without a flipchart! Active Reviewing Tips 1.3
    the general principle There must be an infinite number of applications One of my favourites is Positions Lay out a rope or indicate an imaginary line on the floor ground Each end of the rope line represents opposite positions on the topic under discussion This could be views about moral issues or views about how well the group is performing or views about a decision that the group is trying to make People then place themselves on the line where to represent where they stand on the issue This is the start of the process and not the finishing point In the space of a few seconds everyone has expressed a view If the purpose is to stimulate group discussion then using a C shaped line works better than a straight line because in a C shape everyone can see each other If the purpose is to help individuals to find someone else in the group who might support and clarify their views on the issue then use a straight line Ask people to discuss the issue with their closest neighbours If the purpose is to encourage movement physically and mentally then choose a suitable time frame including past present and future and ask people to show how if at all their position on this issue is moving Try this variation one person at a time Once you get moving learners may well come up with ideas and variations for developing Positions CONTENTS TOP A Special Feature for Flipchart Users F L I P C H A R T F R E E R E V I E W I N G Do you use a flip chart as a reviewing aid Do you over use your flip chart What alternatives do you use A collective answer to these questions might simply be that the more reviewing methods you know and use the less dependent you will be on any one particular method or resource such as a flipchart An evaluation of your good and bad flipchart habits may help to wean you away from the trainer s comfort zone beside the easel Ask yourself or a colleague or participants What is Plus Minus and Interesting about how I use the flipchart as a reviewing aid Such an evaluation could lead in any direction It might lead you towards investing in the latest high technology visual aids Or it might lead you back to basics to low technology or no technology communication methods A huge variety of communication methods are potentially useful reviewing tools What matters most is that you choose tools that will help the people you are working with to reflect express communicate analyse imagine and plan processes that are found in most learning cycles Yes these processes can all be aided by a flipchart but is the flipchart chosen for the trainer s convenience or is it chosen to optimise reviewing opportunities for participants The above notes come from a longer and more balanced article about flipcharts

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_3.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Resources for Reviewing Active Reviewing Tips 1.2
    represent reviews that are a journey into the unkown reviews that awaken curiosity and lead off in any direction and perhaps long into the night The UNREAD BOOKS could either represent missed opportunities or perfect judgement So remember to take a holiday from reviewing now and again as well as to vary your style CONTENTS TOP Shorts I N T H E S T Y L E O F Let learners vary their style too Ask them to re enact events in the styles of different films or TV programmes For ideas about styles to use in Action Replays refer to the online Guide to Active Reviewing Look up Tools for Change or try out the new Site Search Engine with the words Action Replay W I D E N Y O U R S E A R C H You don t need to be an art therapist to ask someone to draw a picture so why not to refer to Art Therapy for Groups and discover many more ideas simple or advanced which can be used for reviewing Similarly you don t need to be trained in yoga to ask someone to lie down and think you don t need a psychology degree to organise a game you don t need a training qualification to set up a problem solving task adapted from Playback A Guide to Reviewing Activities CONTENTS TOP Feature R E S O U R C E S F O R R E V I E W I N G The feature article below is based on the resources chapter in Playback A Guide to Reviewing Activities If you want more specific references to the resources mentioned please send a brief email request If there is enough interest I will include some full references in the next issue of this ezine But there s no need to head off to your library This article may suggest or remind you of new keywords for searching the internet for reviewing ideas and inspiration using http www search com or your favourite search engine To help you on your way I have also listed some links for you to explore some new ones in the Guide to Active Reviewing plus organised links to many related and useful sites I learned to review in 4 ways 1 FROM OTHER PEOPLE by observation co working and word of mouth 2 BY DEVELOPING NEW METHODS from the need to do so after discovering the limitations of group discussion as a reviewing technique 3 BY ASKING FOR FEEDBACK from co reviewers and from learners if they needed prompting 4 BY ADAPTING IDEAS from other subject areas As I knew of no handbook of reviewing techniques at the time I had little choice but to use the above strategies It also happened to be an enjoyable way of learning Learning from others learning from experience and learning from books are three ways of developing reviewing skills Depending on how you look at it

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_2.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • How balanced are your questions? Active Reviewing Tips 1.1
    idea and that you will either a forward this ezine to a friend or b tell me how to improve it so that you will want to forward it All comments welcome at roger reviewing co uk Feature H O W B A L A N C E D A R E Y O U R Q U E S T I O N S However active or creative your reviewing style the chances are that you will be asking a lot of questions And that the chances are also that most of your questions will be looking for trouble rather than looking for success Here is a list of some commonly used questions paired with some success focused alternatives Negative neutral question Success focused alternative What went wrong What went right What are your needs What are your strengths What did you learn What did you learn to do better What issues shall we put on the agenda What issues can we now take off the agenda How can you improve What strengths could you make more use of What s missing from this group What are the assets of this group What would you do differently next time What would you do the same next time What do you want to achieve What is your recipe for success And what will you now apply that to For more questions for a better layout for more background and for several pages on the subject of reviewing success start at the Questions For Success page http reviewing co uk success success2 htm from where you can readily find 7 more pages on the subject Success is that important Guest Article Tip A N I N V I T A T I O N There are many experienced reviewers subscribed to

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/archives/art/1_1.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Active Reviewing Guide: how to facilitate active learning ~ page 2
    China or host or attend a workshop in any other country please get in touch CONTACT Roger Greenaway Reviewing Skills Training 9 Drummond Place Lane STIRLING FK8 2JF Scotland Send email to roger reviewing co uk or phone On Twitter Follow roger review To receive the latest news of Roger s writings or workshops choose one or both newsletters Active Reviewing Tips for tips articles and news of Roger s open workshops UK and international Experiential CPD for a monthly diary of UK CPD events thoughts for the month from readers and editors Dr Roger Greenaway In my opinion Roger Greenaway is the greatest genius in the area of debriefing or reviewing as he calls it Roger has had a significant impact on the work I do Thiagi Roger trains facilitators educators trainers and consultants to bring out the full benefits of active and experiential learning He works with training organisations training departments and educational institutions worldwide More about Roger What Clients Say around the world Your training has had a huge impact At a guess the training of 8 10 people that day has lead to the use of your tools to at least 500 people plus Your training workshop moving bodies moving minds has certainly done that It opens minds ensures everyone contributes helps people think differently shares different views and develops ideas Dawn Cordy Whenever I point one of my Agile coach friends to your material they are wowed big time And these are people who live and breathe facilitation Nancy Van Schooenderwoert Lean Agile Partners Inc President Roger is highly professional and highly respected in the field of Experiential Learning and Management Development He has successfully worked with senior faculty at Ashridge Business School on two occasions and his techniques are widely used in the organisation Angela Jowitt The active reviewing techniques Roger presented have really revolutionized my whole approach to adventure based learning of far greater impact was Roger s personal philosophy and his immensely positive approach Chan Yuen Li Roger s active and creative reviewing skills are the absolute cornerstone of our work in facilitating team and leadership development at Azesta our clients are continually praising the interesting creative and active reviewing techniques that we use Shirley Gaston I recommend Roger and his work with reviewing He is one of the finest facilitators I know His reviewing method has revolutionised my own work and it keeps on being an inspiration Jacob Lindeblad We have used many of your reviewing tools and transfer strategies in our programs already very effective and innovative Our clients like it we like it my favorite is Metaphor Map which I used a lot as last summarize activity in my program with fantastic effects Susan Zhu Roger showed the capacity to adapt quite easily to our Chilean culture As a result we had an excellent and memorable training 100 of the Roger s work was applicable and practical and very clever and based in deep knowledge and experience Camilo Mendoza

    Original URL path: http://www.reviewing.co.uk/indextra.htm (2016-02-10)
    Open archived version from archive

web-archive-uk.com, 2016-10-28