web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • EIFF 2012: Unconditional Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    watch It takes aim at the subject without pulling any punches while at the same time never feeling exploitative or sleazy A difficult line which Unconditional walks with fine precision This is all bolstered by some terrific performances especially newcomers Harry McEntire and Madelaine Clark as the two twins at the centre of the story McEntire in particular has a very tough role to play as he has to both show his willingness to escape from his hard life while not wanting it to be taken too far Christian Cooke is also brilliant as the controlling and clearly disturbed Liam who uses his affluence and promise of a better life to fulfil his needs What s perhaps most engaging about Unconditional is just how unpredictable it is You re never quite sure which direction it s going as it often does change its tone and tact in a way that s fascinating rather than frustrating What could have been a crass or exploitative exercise is rather an impressively handled drama pulled off with intelligence and passion Undoubtedly one of the highlights of the EIFF 2012 so far bryn higgins christian cooke eiff 2012 featured festivals harry mcentire madelaine clark movie reviews unconditional About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-unconditional-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • EIFF 2012: Brake Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    as he struggles with that decision while dealing with everything else around him Dorff is an interesting actor one who is much under appreciated and it s an unusual role to see him take He really gets to shine here as it is pretty much a one man show The film moves along at a brisk pace getting suitably more tense as it goes until an ending that at first seems to completely jumps the shark before setting things right with one which is weirdly satisfying in the moment even if it may not hold up the more you think about it As ridiculous it is at may be at times with dialogue that s often more than a bit clunky Brake is nevertheless an effective enough thriller one with a handle on tension and on making the audience care enough about the main character to want to see him survive the ordeal But it s no Buried brake eiff 2012 featured festivals movie reviews stephen dorff About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-brake-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2012: Exit Elena Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    it nevertheless has some moments of great humour the kind that makes you laugh in that funny because it s true sort of way The bickering between the parents awkward dinner conversations and forced family time are completely believable so much so that it sometimes feels like a fly on the wall documentary or maybe even a home movie rather than a straightforward narrative Presented in 4 3 i e square format Exit Elena is an oddly captivating little film filled with touching and awkward moments alike and has a lead character you can really care about Making the most out of a clearly shoe string budget Nathan Silver s film has a charm all its own that s enough to mask the fact that it s less than the sum of its parts eiff 2012 exit elena featured festivals kia davis movie reviews nathan silver About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The Jungle Book Movie Review April 18 2016 0

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-exit-elena-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • EIFF 2012: Dr. Seuss' The Lorax Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    Kyle Balda have handled it it just comes off as grating and preachy The animation is the real plus point to the film a beautifully crisp and colourful world fully realised The voice work is top notch as well with the likes of Zac Efron Ed Helms and Danny DeVito fitting their characters well although the ads really undersell just how annoying DeVito s character is There as the head finger wagging representation of the film s thinly veiled message he actually drags the movie down even further in spite of him being the eponymous character Delivered in unnecessary and gimmicky 3D they just keep piling on the annoying don t they Dr Seuss The Lorax s few effective laughs stunning animation and clever voice casting fail to cover up just how precious and irksome the film ultimately is And it s so heavy handed with its message that it may as well have the subtitle Cutting Down Trees is Bad Many will be utterly charmed by it but I certainly wasn t chris renaud danny devito dr seuss the lorax ed helms eiff 2012 featured festivals kyle balda movie reviews taylor swift the lorax zac efron About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-dr-seuss-the-lorax-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2012: No Man's Zone Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    is enough to do that on its own without this heavy handed approach A raw and unpolished aesthetic adds a stark reality to the proceedings It may not be what you would call pleasant to look at but it s in this way No Man s Zone has a small success it shouldn t be nice to look at it It s not afraid to show the harsh reality these people have been left to live in No Man s Zone opens with an extended 360 degree tracking shot of a devastated sea front and is an example of the unfiltered gut punch the film occasionally delivers But those moments are sadly wasted on a documentary that overall is slow laboured repetitive and ultimately inert A real shame when the subject matter is so devastating documentaries eiff 2012 featured festivals movie reviews no man s zone toshi fujiwara About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The Jungle Book Movie Review April 18

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-no-mans-zone-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2012: Guinea Pigs Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    punches pulled when it comes to showing infections or injuries In this way Clark is successful in creating a feeling of unease Featuring a premise that s as intriguing as it is downright scary if you mentally put yourself in the character s shoes some effective moments of genuine terror and characters you actually care about Guinea Pigs delivers much of what it promises But once it gets to a certain point the novelty of the premise isn t enough and it goes nowhere satisfying Nevertheless worthwhile viewing for at least two thirds of its runtime and you know what they say about two out of three eiff 2012 featured festivals guinea pigs ian clark movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet 2 Comments The Facility HORRORPEDIA March 13 2013 at 8 57 am Reply Writer director Ian Clark s atmospheric film survives and flourishes on tension and the audience not knowing what s going to happen next Strong performances keep things believable particularly Alex Reid and Steve Evets and the intrigue of the premise carries the film Ross Miller Thoughts on Film Tom May 19 2013 at 12 14 am Reply Congratulations Ross It was great to see Thoughts On Film being quoted on the DVD cover of the horror film The Facility

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-guinea-pigs/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2012: Grabbers Movie Review
    contrived Coyle and Ruth Bradley have a lovely chemistry together and their growing relationship throughout adds a sweetness among the anarchy The alien monsters are fantastically well done craftily utilised to achieve fun scares mostly involving as the title suggests them grabbing their victims suddenly The effects a clear mix of practical and digital used to bring them to life are quite astonishing particularly for a low budget flick and the film doesn t let them go to waste as many other similar movies would We see plenty of the aliens especially towards the latter half and the inevitable climactic showdown and it has the necessary quality of effects to make that very much a good thing It may not be the most unpredictable plot in the world and the end may not come as a total surprise But it nevertheless makes up for that by being a hugely enjoyable imaginative and often hilarious monster movie with as much heart as it has bite A little gem of a film eiff 2012 featured festivals grabbers jon wright movie reviews richard coyle About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-grabbers-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2012: Lovely Molly Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    as many audience members as it frustrates the film tackles disturbing and difficult topics along the way giving you something to think about as it simultaneously creeps you out It takes a seemingly generic horror plotline and does some clever and inventive things with it The film also features a fantastic central performance by Gretchen Lodge conveying a sense of innocence yet danger which makes for uncomfortable uneasy viewing It s a difficult role which involves some tough scenes but Holden really excels in delivering a brave performance While not entirely satisfying as a whole Lovely Molly s ambiguity is often as frustrating as it is bold better off for not insulting the audience s intelligence but worse for leaving too many blanks for them to fill in on their own But it more than makes up for that with an abundance of truly spooky moments and backs that up with some hefty emotional weight alexandra holden eduardo sanchez eiff 2012 featured lovely molly movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2012-lovely-molly-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-11