web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • GFF 2013: Byzantium Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    really see them play before Saoirse Ronan is a solid anchor for us throughout as she partly narrates her life story which her over protective mother insets on being kept secret There s a very interesting performance from Gemma Arterton who really gets to sink her teeth so to speak into a strong complex and compelling character We also have solid supporting turns from the likes of Daniel Mays as an emotional man seduced into helping the two Tom Hollander as a suspicious self help teacher Sam Riley as a detective who is more than meets the eye and a gleefully over the top Jonny Lee Miller The film is framed as a back and forth between present day where Clara is running a brothel out of the hotel called Byzantium and the past to show how she and her daughter became vampires and just why it is they are now always on the run It partly works but suffers from a feeling of not really being able make up its mind what sort of movie it wants to be the more thriller centric present can sometimes take away from the Interview with the Vampire lite past and vice versa A commitment to consistency of style makes it admirable in intention even as it s flawed in execution It s nice to see Jordan return to this sort of elegant yet grotesque and uncompromising filmmaking with a fresh spin on the well trodden vampire genre Pleasingly unafraid to graphically show on screen the requisite blood sucking and never sparing on the gore this is also unashamedly action packed when it needs to be with a few more foot chases and the like than you might be expecting but it punctuates the proceedings with those rather than becoming the point Overall the film is certainly not without its deep flaws chief among them is the fact that it tends to drag at points and maybe could have done with about 20 minutes shaved off its runtime But this slightly weird slightly off balance and always visually beautiful maternal vampire story is a journey worth taking warts and all This review was also published in The Journal byzantium caleb landry jones daniel mays festivals gemma arterton gff 2013 jonny lee miller movie reviews neil jordan saoirse ronan tom hollander About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-byzantium-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • GFF 2013: Neighbouring Sounds Movie Review
    play here while at the same time feeling like there s a purpose to it all As we re taken on this small journey of interconnected lives made believable with the help of naturalistic performances from its cast the film feels alive and bubbling with energy as much an auditory experience as a colourful visual one The bustling sounds of life mixed with a powerful almost assault like soundtrack of booming noises and abrupt cuts to silence give the film a palpable power Add to that some striking uses of unnerving dream sequences and you have quite a unique experience What really makes the film work is the fact that it s an effective mix of character study and an examination of modern life where people are kept apart by more than just their four walls And by the end it all connects in a way that shocks as much as it leaves you pondering A confident distinctive directorial debut festivals gff 2013 kleber mendonca filho movie reviews neighbouring sounds About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-neighbouring-sounds-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GFF 2013: The Thieves Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    of the titular thieves and so forth The subplots threaten to get in the way and interrupt the momentum of the piece There s a much simpler more streamlined film in there somewhere but it can occasionally get lost in the baggy runtime Even in its moments of downtime it still keeps things entertaining as the characters bounce playful and sometimes not so playful insults at each other quipping about their past experiences with one another and how one is better than the other at a particular task It helps that the cast have strong chemistry together and their clashes of personality makes for an amusing watch It goes without saying that the film sometimes veers into the ridiculous but that comes with the territory There s plenty of inventive action punctuating the proceedings a fight chase sequence involving swinging along the side of a building on wires is particularly impressive and it throws as many twists and turns at you as it can muster in order to keep you guessing throughout The Thieves is a glossy entertaining heist film with an enjoyable mix of high stakes and light heartedness Is it breaking any new ground Not especially but that doesn t really matter when the caper is so much fun This review was also published in The Journal angelica lee choi dong hoon festivals gff 2013 gianna jun kim yun seok lee jung jae simon yam the thieves About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-the-thieves-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • GFF 2013: The Look of Love Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    fine supporting turns from the likes of Poots as Raymond s ambitious yet uneasy daughter Debbie Anna Friel as his estranged wife Jean and a comical Chris Addison as a man instrumental in helping Raymond expand his business But it s Coogan who really shines making the film more than it otherwise might have been Where The Look of Love surprises most is just how moving and emotional it can sometimes be On the surface it s a shallow film about a shallow business empire but through Paul s surprisingly caring relationship with his daughter a health scare scene is particularly affecting it manages to delve a little deeper and make you care more than you might expect It s certainly no 24 Hour Party People what is but The Look of Love is another fun look at a particular period of British history It may not be entirely substantial but it s a fun and engaging watch thanks to Winterbottom s keen eye for a sense of time and place and a screenplay by Matt Greenhalgh Control that at least attempts to leave no stone unturned anna friel chris addison festivals gff 2013 imogen poots matt greenhalgh michael winterbottom steve coogan the look of love About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-the-look-of-love-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GFF 2013: Compliance Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    anyone Without giving too much away the film takes things pretty much as far as it can go without it tipping over into tasteless leaving you with a sick feeling in your stomach and while still having plenty to mull over Despite its outlandish premise we crucially believe in the characters largely thanks to strong performances from Ann Dowd as the manager torn between respecting her employee and respecting authority and Dream Walker as the apparently guilty Becky protesting her innocence while not wanting to get her self in trouble she can t get out of With assured direction that really gets us up close and personal with the uncomfortable events and believable performances from the leads this a small uniquely claustrophobic thriller that is as shockingly compelling as it is intellectually nourishing This review was also published in The Journal ann dowd compliance craig zobel dreama walker festivals gff 2013 movie reviews pat healy About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/festivals/gff-2013-compliance-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GFF 2013: John Dies at the End Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    where you have to be 100 on board or it s going to leave you cold and frustrated It s admittedly visually unique and for the budget the special effects are rather nifty but it s not enough if you don t buy into it completely The weirdness ranges from Dave talking to another past future version of John on the phone even though he s sitting right in front of him to a freezer full of meat transforming into a grotesque monster You get the idea If that sounds like fun you might enjoy what John Dies at the End has to offer but for me it sat on the wrong side of odd quickly disappearing down a rabbit hole of its own self important zaniness and never recovering This review was also published in The Journal chase williamson don coscarelli festivals gff 2013 john dies at the end movie reviews paul giamatti About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-john-dies-at-the-end-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GFF 2013: Stoker Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    like Thirst I m A Cyborg but That s Okay and the aforementioned Oldboy there s still plenty of weirdness to be found in Park s English language debut You might expect something altogether more violent but the film is peppered with shocking grotesque moments rather than flooded with them and is all the more effective for it There s a kind other worldly quality to the film like it s set in darker version of reality and almost feels like a monster movie in disguise the title subtly suggests vampires that never appear Perhaps it s that humans are the monsters and the beauty of the film is you can read into it like that or just enjoy for its stylish flourishes sense of dread or fantastic central performances This is a supremely atmospheric and strikingly well made concoction of family drama mystery thriller and creeping horror gff 2013 matthew goode mia wasikowska movie reviews nicole kidman park chan wook stoker wentworth miller About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet One Comment So I am extremely excited for Stoker fonsbandusiae23 February 27 2013 at 9 43 pm Reply Sources used http thoughtsonfilm co uk movie reviews gff 2013 stoker movie review Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-stoker-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • GFF 2013: Blood Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    built as things move into more thriller like territory when Mark Strong s lone wolf police officer Robert starts to get suspicious Strong has perhaps the most interesting role to play and there s a rather effective plot device in Brian Cox s Lenny father of Joe and Chrissie whose old age forgetfulness serves as not only a way to deepen the character s back story but also to create apprehension over whether or not he ll blurt the truth out while the brothers are trying to cover it up It s very apparent that the film is based on a TV series and it never really manages to break out of the fact that it very much feels like a two part BBC drama Still excellent performances from its first rate British cast elevate the proceedings to make for a compelling watch that lingers in the mind This review was also published in The Journal blood brian cox festivals gff 2013 mark strong movie reviews paul bettany stephen graham About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/gff-2013-blood-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-13