web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • EIFF 2013: Jiseul Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    if it weren t for the intentions of the soldier pointing a gun at an innocent woman and baby This could have been something of a masterpiece had it not been for certain choices the director makes to fill in the gaps between the Korean soldiers catching up with the villagers Perpetual sequences of the villagers sitting and talking undo a lot of the power the bold visuals and haunting themes conjure Those sequences seek to show the normality the villagers are trying to savour even in this most dire of circumstances but they go on too long and feel distracting and sluggish It s the director s first film and hopefully he can use this to grow as a filmmaker and make something really special next time he certainly shows flashes of great ability here Jiseul says a lot about the power of human resilience and spirit tackling themes of survival regret and loss in a sombre and quietly powerful way It s a shame that it can t keep that consistent throughout or present it in a much more harrowing way to truly match the story It s a gorgeously shot and framed film with faultlessly naturalistic performances from non professional actors but also a bit of a slog at times to sit through never quite attaining the heights the appalling true story demands eiff eiff 2013 festivals jiseul movie reviews o muel About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-jiseul-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013 | Thoughts On Film | Movie News, Movie Reviews, Movie Trailers
    June 26 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Monsters University Movie Review Pixar returns with this enjoyable prequel to their hit movie Monsters Inc June 25 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 The Conjuring Movie Review James Wan director of Saw and Insidious delivers this supremely creepy 70s horror throwback June 25 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Frances Ha Movie Review Noah Baumbach returns with a breezy and enjoyable character dramedy starring Greta Gerwig June 22 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Desert Runners Movie Review An inspiring and moving documentary about people running marathons in four different deserts June 21 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 The Complex Movie Review An underwhelming and rather dull film from J Horror master Hideo Nakata June 21 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Sanctuary Faro Movie Review An expertly judged Swedish father daughter relationship drama with an eerie atmosphere June 21 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Stories We Tell Movie Review Sarah Polley directs this deeply personal and quietly powerful documentary June 19 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Dummy Jim Movie Review A creative but emotionally distancing mix of documentary and reenactment June 19 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 0 EIFF 2013 Days of Grace Movie Review A confusing and grim triple kidnap thriller June 19 2013 EIFF 2013 Festivals Movie Reviews 1 2 Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The Jungle Book Movie Review April 18 2016 0 Criminal

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/category/eiff-2013/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: The Bling Ring Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    Farmiga are home schooled by their mum Leslie Mann which is either an attempt at commentary about education or just a pointless uninteresting subplot Coppola chooses to spend time on Other than Watson the cast aren t as convincing as they need to be and just stand in the shadow of the former Harry Potter superstar who s turned it up to 11 with her exaggerated Californian accent She s the only one who seems to get the joke This is a shallow and vapid film about vapid and shallow people It s somewhat shocking and even entertaining to begin with as we see them break into a house for the first time but it soon becomes clear that it s not got much else up its sleeve but more repetitive scenes of visiting a variety of celebrity houses wandering around proclaiming how amazing all their possessions are It certainly looks pretty and has an eclectic booming soundtrack but it just doesn t add up to much in the end There s a deep and insightful film to be made about this type of celeb obsessed culture The Bling Ring isn t it The Bling Ring is released in cinemas on July 5th claire julien eiff eiff 2013 emma watson festivals georgia rock israel broussard katie chang leslie mann movie reviews sophia coppola taissa farmiga the bling ring About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-the-bling-ring-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: A Story of Children and Film Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    they re connected in some way whether in composition of framing or themes in which they tackle His conviction and passion are palpable while his excitement and enthusiasm for art of form which he describes as the one which has looked at kids more than any other bleeds out of the screen For any cinephile it would be tough to watch this film and not feel a sense of joy A Story of Children and Film is another deft and inspiring slice of cinematic history and analysis from Cousins a man so knowledgable about film that he d put most other people to shame It s an intimate lyrical essay on the unique way cinema can showcase childhood made clear through a mishmash of clips images and accute observations I d encourage anyone who hasn t seen his Story of Film epic to seek it out and this serves both as a delightful appetiser for that and a nourishing standalone documentary in its own right a story of children and film documentaries eiff eiff 2013 festivals mark cousins movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-a-story-of-children-and-film-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: The Sea Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    the tragedy in which it culminates Themes of devotion adolescence and sexual curiosity are glossed over as it feels the need to repeatedly jump back and forth between past and present The terrible editing makes the whole thing feel irritatingly disjointed as scenes are either cut away from too quickly faded out or stitched to another scene with hokey shots of the eponymous sea The dialogue is clunky and unrealistic with characters spouting exposition in a way that insults the audience s intelligence desperately trying to conjure meaning that just isn t there There s some great actors involved including Hinds Charlotte Rampling Sinead Cusack and Natascha McElhone but they are ill served by a clumsy and sometimes unintentionally funny script What could have been a fascinating and melancholic look at memory regret and loss is actually a boring and monotonous character drama It s a shame since there are some good performances particularly from Hinds who does his best with a nothing role and an eerie soundtrack both of which deserve a better film A pretentious mess that s a chore to sit through bonnie wright charlotte rampling ciaran hinds eiff eiff 2013 festivals john banville movie reviews natascha mcelhone rufus sewell sinead cusack stephen brown the sea About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-the-sea-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: Not Another Happy Ending Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    heart to it than just a simple Hollywood rom com even if it too often gets caught up in trying to be idiosyncratic every few minutes such as when it morphs into comical fantasy by having Jane imagining herself talking to her lead character Gillan is inherently likeable as Jane and her subplot about reconnecting with her father played by the talented Gary Lewis is genuinely moving and sees the movie at its most genuine The supporting characters are hit and miss Henry Ian Cusick is a highlight as Jane s pompous boyfriend who s more interested in the sound of his own voice than talking than truly listening to her Ian De Caestecker is funny as Tom s nervy assistant Roddy while Weber has a rather bland and generic character to play with in Tom whose initially reluctant romance with Jane is as predictable as it is sentimental Ultimately Not Another Happy Ending is a charming bit of fluff to be enjoyed on a rainy afternoon when you re spirits aren t high Its twee quirkiness might be like nails down a chalk board for some but for those who like their romantic comedies with flights of fancy and an eclectic soundtrack it s perfectly enjoyable david solomons eiff eiff 2013 festivals gary lewis john mckay karen gillan katie dickie movie reviews not another happy ending stanley weber About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-not-another-happy-ending-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: We Are the Freaks Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    youths of the early 90s supposed to see themselves in these people The humour is frequently juvenile crass and even offensive in places namely when it comes to the mentally handicapped younger brother of Jack s love interest That might have been forgiven had it actually been hilarious as it was intended when all it really delivers is the odd laugh here and there mostly coming from Michael Smiley s unpredictable nutcase Killer Colin who is about the only memorable thing in an otherwise curiously bland film We Are the Freaks is not without its chucklesome moments but mostly it s a smarmy and pretentious affair with a know it all attitude derivative style and uninteresting characters The worst of it is that there is ultimately no point to it whatsoever summed up by a insultingly uncaring final line as we follow these group of self involved young adults complaining and mucking about for 80 minutes Avoid eiff eiff 2013 festivals hera hilmar jamie blackley justin edgar michael smiley mike bailey movie reviews rosamund hanson sean teale we are the freaks About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-we-are-the-freaks-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: The Berlin File Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    the moment it becomes frustrating when it all fails to come together or be properly explained by the end Its political plot dealing North and South Korean relations sets things up for an interesting and brave look at some sensitive real world political issues but the film never has the means to deal with them properly It s far more interested in its action thriller aesthetic and that s fine to a point It just means it s a fun watch but one that doesn t add up to a whole lot One for hardcore fans of Korean cinema in general Ryoo s latest effort is unnecessarily complicated making it hard work when it grinds to a near halt to deal with its political thriller ambitions But it makes up for that with some genuinely exhilirating action that finds inventive ways to breathe life into otherwise familiar situations It feels like something of a hodgepodge of films gone by with shades of everything from the Bourne series to The Raid all mixed together to make for an enjoyable if overly convoluted action thriller eiff eiff 2013 festivals gianna jun ha jung woo han suk kyu movie reviews ryoo seung wan ryu seung beom the berlin file About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-the-berlin-file-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-11