web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • EIFF 2013: Monsters University Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    at the eponymous school Before long he meets Mike and through a hijink laden series of events they ending up facing expulsion from the University by the intimidating Dean Hardscrabble Helen Mirren To stop this from happening they must reluctantly work together to compete in the Scare Games alongside a fraternity of dysfunctional monsters You could look at the central college plot in two ways either it s a nostalgic look at that time in someone s life with all the little truths and recognisable attributes some of which will be more known to American audiences or it s just a lackadaisical container for cutesy monster related shenanigans There are times when it sways between both extremes as sometimes the characters and jokes are so clever and funny that the problems with the plot don t matter and at other times you can almost feel the plot mechanics creaking and turning Once again the animation is absolutely beautiful with the vibrancy of the eclectic collection of monsters really popping off the screen along with some awe inspiring photo realistic backgrounds There s also some great voice work from returners Crystal Goodman and Steve Buscemi as well as fun turns from Charlie Day Helen Mirren and Alfred Molina However The real strengths of the film lie in the gags which come at you thick and fast so even if you don t find one particularly funny there will be another one around the corner to make you giggle If nothing else it provides a strong entertainment factor even if it doesn t have that instant classic feeling that Inc so strongly possessed Monsters University lacks of the spark originality once found in the Pixar brand before they started down the post Toy Story franchise sequel prequel route However it fills its conventional college campus plot with genuinely funny gags and creative characters While it may lack the true heart of the original a key reason for that may be the lack of little girl Boo it still makes for an enjoyable if not entirely substantial watch that at the very least gets by on the affection we have for these characters and this world Monsters Inc is released in cinemas on July 12th alfred molina billy crystal charlie day dan scanlon daniel gerson eiff eiff 2013 featured festivals helen mirren john goodman monsters inc monsters university movie reviews robert l baird steve buscemi About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-monsters-university-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • EIFF 2013: The Conjuring Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    classic horror film aesthetic with all the tropes that go along with it while having fun playing around with our inherent expectations It nods its head to everything from The Exorcist and The Amityville Horror to The Innocents and The Haunting using atmosphere and extremely well timed jump scares to great effect All the ingredients of a classic horror are there the large secluded house idyllic family being terrorised creepy children strange noises in the house at night it s all familiar territory but comes off as a loving homage to horrors of year s past than any sort of rip off Just like he did with Insidious Wan makes just as much use of audience imagination as he does on screen effects within the scene to get as much tension and fear out of it as possible For instance in a particularly frightening moment one of the daughters feels a presence in her room standing behind the door All we can see is shadow but by strongly suggesting something is there it makes us do a lot of the work to imagine the worst It s the first Wan horror film not to be written by his Saw co creator Leigh Whannell instead written by twin brothers Chad and Carey Hayes They don t necessarily have the greatest track record with the likes of Whiteout The Reaping and the House of Wax remake on their filmography but they ve crafted a classy and surprisingly emotional story with characters we actually care about On paper some of the horror set pieces might seem silly a subplot involving a haunted doll for example but through courage of conviction and commitment to mood and atmosphere the film pulls it off with great aplomb It s not quite as unique or imaginative as Insidious which even in its lesser moments namely the last 25 minutes is at least trying for something interesting and outlandish but as a bit of good old fashioned horror filmmaking The Conjuring is very well made and very scary carey hayes chad hayes eiff eiff 2013 festivals insidious james wan lili taylor movie reviews patrick wilson ron livingston saw vera farmiga About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-the-conjuring-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: Frances Ha Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    from the HBO series Girls and Michael Zegen as Frances roommates Lev and Benji as well as from Mickey Sumner as her best friend Sophie Shooting it in soft focused black and white makes it pleasing on the eye and gives it a sort of timeless quality in spite of its modern themes and characters And while the colourless visuals may be at odds with the quirky tone to begin with it soon settles into a beautiful and oddly entertaining groove that stays consistent for the rest of the film right up until the utterly perfect punchline ending There s a comfortable rhythm to Baumbach s latest film a laid back sense of comfort about it even as it consistently throws up capriciousness to keep you on your toes While it may be whimsical and even arbitrary it s also deft and full of little truths confident as much in its themes as in its style Sitting somewhere between Woody Allen s Manhattan and the aforementioned series Girls with some added Wes Anderson esque quirkiness thrown in for good measure Baumbach has come up with an offbeat and idiosyncratic character dramedy that s easy to admire and even easier to enjoy adam driver eiff eiff 2013 festivals greta gerwig movie reviews noah baumbach About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-frances-ha-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • EIFF 2013: Desert Runners Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    running and an inherent need to prove themselves Steinman s intimate yet all encapsulating approach gives the film a real sense of power putting us right along with these competitors in some of the world s harshest conditions try to imagine running in 40 degree Celsius heat for 12 hours straight and you get a glimpse of the idea and making you feel determined on their behalf If and when someone drops out part way through you really feel the pain and disappointment of them getting so near and yet so far While it may sound like it would get repetitive just watching people run four races it s anything but Steinman keeps things dynamic jumping from competitor to competitor at different stages and including some shocking turn of events along the way Desert Runners is a dynamic look at an extreme sport most people probably won t have heard of run by everyday people and presented in an involving moving and inspiring way desert runners documentaries eiff eiff 2013 festivals jennifer steinman movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-desert-runners-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: The Complex Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    on a we re left with long stretches of time where just not much happens It s a horror after all and therefore we should be plenty scared but when you get to the half way point and there s maybe only been one or two moments of any real note then we have a pacing issue that ultimately kills the film as a whole As it goes it on we see that not all is as it seems when it comes to Asuka and her seemingly idyllic family But the plot development as well as any attempts at scares seem all too familiar to anyone who s seen a J Horror before There s at least an attempt at something meaningful throughout as it deals with themes of regret sadness and even mental illness but none of it really resonates It builds to bombastic and striking finale which sends you off on a high more than any of what came before but as whole it s just not satisfying as a horror and will be disappointing to fans of Nakata hoping for him to deliver something substantial again atsuko maeda eiff eiff 2013 festivals hideo nakata movie reviews the complex About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-the-complex-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: Sanctuary Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    wilderness abyss that can only end badly The film builds slowly ever revealing back story including some stark flashbacks as to why they re on the run It s gripping in its own quiet way but never does it feel the need to kick things up into generic Scandinavian thriller territory it would have been so easy to try and make this run in the same vein as The Killing even some of its chase sequences are shot in beautiful dream like so mo While the film appears to falter in a last act with a built up moment that is quickly abandoned for a more drawn out conclusion not to mention a bizarre and out of place dream sequence it picks things up again with an emotional send off that makes you reflect on all that you ve seen before Peppered with a wistful score and set amidst often stunning landscape Sanctuary or Faro to use its original language title is a melancholic and quietly powerful exploration of seclusion family relationships and parental responsibility clara christiansson eiff eiff 2013 faro festivals fredrik edfeldt jakob cedergren movie reviews sanctuary About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-sanctuary-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: Stories We Tell Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    laying bare the fact that her mother almost had her aborted Heartbreaking stuff It would have been easy to hide these sorts of details and make it a candy coated account but Polley clearly isn t interested in that It s a refreshing all or nothing approach that benefits the doc greatly giving it a lasting impact it might otherwise have lacked Polley s film is completely open and honest not just with the story its telling but in how its telling it including little quippy moments of commentary from her siblings about the way she s going to edit the footage together that would be left on the cutting room floor by most directors By trying to get the whole story of what happened talking to everyone involved even if it was only tangentially she s trying to paint a complete picture for herself as much as the audience One of her interviewees even points out that allowing everyone to have their say as opposed to telling it from one perspective lacks truth but that s only true if you re on the inside The complete package as its presented here grabs at the heart of that truth and puts it on full display Polley doesn t seem to know quite when to end things with many moments in the last 10 minutes or so fighting to be that perfect sign off line but by that point she s told such a fascinating and heartfelt story in such a compelling way that it gets away with it It s indulgent to a point but that doesn t always necessarily have to be a bad thing when the story and the filmmaking is this good There s something universally truthful in Polley s haunting documentary Everyone has a story to quote the film and while this may be her s it has the power to make you feel like you re part of it It s an insightful revelation of an eventful family history filled with as much joy as tragedy that speaks to how and why we all tell stories of our own lives more than the what of the stories themselves This is powerful and brutally honest documentary filmmaking at its best documentaries eiff eiff 2013 festivals movie reviews sarah polley stories we tell About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-stories-we-tell-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • EIFF 2013: Dummy Jim Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    world to be like The accompanying visual flourishes such as dialogue and song lyrics appearing on the screen in hand written form whenever said sung give the film a unique singular effect that makes it more than just a typical inspirational story It s almost Herzogian at times though it never gets close to reaching that level of impact Unfortunately while visually and aurally interesting to experience there s a peculiar lack of emotion in Dummy Jim Its heart is most definitely in the right place and you can definitely feel the passion and hard work that went into the project but the commitment to this often bombastic approach leaves the viewer feeling cold It s therefore a film to be admired for its boldness and goodness of intention than it is to be enjoyed as the style quickly becomes repetitive and emotionally distancing documentaries dummy jim eiff eiff 2013 festivals matt hulse samuel dore About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/eiff-2013-dummy-jim-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-16