web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Kung Fu Panda 3 Movie Review
    comes down to it even great emotional weight to the ongoing storyline It extrapolates the sumptuous visual style to greater heights whether it s whizz bang fight sequences or moments of tranquillity that allow you to drink in the beautiful level of technical animation that s gone into making it But it also takes an even more ambitious step than before showing off not only the ever improving modern 3D Hollywood style of animation but presenting entire sequences in a hand drawn style that incorporates traditional Chinese painting It s a visual tapestry that s something of a wonder to behold on the big screen But it s also a film that like its predecessors understands you need more than just visuals to make this work as there s a pleasing amount of work put into making us feel for the characters The idea of delving into Po s past turns out to be a satisfying rather brilliant turn of plotting that s at once full of surprises yet makes complete sense in the context of the saga Kung Fu Panda 3 is a joy of a film vibrant and alive with energy charm top notch voice work memorable gags and a singular visual style that makes you wish you could stay for good in that fully realised animated world angelina jolie bryan cranston david cross dreamworks animation dustin hoffman featured jack black jackie chan jk simmons kung fu panda 3 movie reviews seth rogen About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/kung-fu-panda-3-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The Ones Below Movie Review
    His theatrical background is evident in a film that while achieved with a keen sense of fearful atmosphere feels quite stagey in nature Much like Rosemary s Baby our entryway into the story is an expectant mother whose increasingly fragile and steadily deteriorating mental state becomes a source of paranoia and disharmony we re never quite sure whether what s happening is genuine or not It s this sense of uncertainty that keeps the film dramatically afloat when the thin overly familiar characterization and frankly ridiculous twists and turns in the last act threaten to pull you out of believing in a world that the film has initially worked so hard to make feel genuine Although the execution of its ideas might lack the polished punch of some of its mighty cinematic influences there s an undeniable sense of claustrophobia and unsettling paranoia to The Ones Below that makes it worth a look if not much more than that clemence poesy david farr david morrissey featured laura birn movie reviews stephen campbell moore the ones below About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/the-ones-below-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Witch Movie Review
    and the fear of God Debut director Robert Eggers approaches these things in a strikingly ambiguous and thought provoking manner never feeling like it s jamming sermons down your throat He carefully controls the tone of the film with a sparse but creepily effective score uncomfortably intimate indoor drama populated with loaded silences and elongated shots of the wooded location held hanging to let us ponder and soak in the fear drenched atmosphere It asks fascinating questions about the nature of adherence to religion and stringent belief thereof the way it can be used as a coping mechanism to help in extreme conditions and isolation physical mental and spiritual But it also looks at how it can be misused when fearing forces in the world that you don t understand such as when the father abuses his status within the family to control them as a way to stop what s happening yet inadvertently destroying what he holds dear in the process The Witch is labelled as a horror film and rightly so it does its job as one that gets under your skin in precise detailed unforgettable fashion But it s about a whole lot more than just scaring you with aesthetics seeking to make you think just as much as creep you out anya taylor joy kate dickie ralph ineson robert eggers About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/the-witch-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Time Out of Mind Movie Review
    seen Gere in before As well as meeting and spending time with real people in this situation the actor reportedly begged for change on the streets with passers by never realising who he was That uncompromising approach does lend the film an air of authenticity Gere gives an admirably committed and believably haggard performance giving depth and feeling to the character even when the screenplay isn t always there to back that up The only real subplot going on is George wanting to reconnect with his estranged daughter Jenna Malone but this feels frustratingly underdeveloped with the script not equipped enough to really handle the emotional weight that it should bring Time Out of Mind is a lost soul of a film adrift and wandering sometimes with purpose and sometimes not It s strangely quite emotionally distant keeping its audience at arm s length a lot of the time with a plot that can be quite plodding in nature But however lacking it may be as an emotional rollercoaster it s also an interesting intriguing and admirably sincere portrait of a man in between and a world that to most people is invisible in plain sight featured movie reviews oren moverman richard gere time out of mind About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/time-out-of-mind-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • London Has Fallen Movie Review
    hands on in the name of protecting his Commander in Chief It s a deeply silly film and it feels like it s only aware of that for half the time That niggling issue last time comes into full view here it s a bombastic sequel caught between having a glint in its eye and being deadly serious when it waffles on about how America will prevail Sometimes that America rules the world mentality turns a little mean such as certain lines of dialogue being at best ignorant and at worst downright xenophobic imagine the action movie equivalent of go back to your own country and you re somewhere close You could almost be offended if it weren t all so damn ludicrous Its attempts to be any sort of relevant viewing of real world political and warfare situations the morality of remotely bombing places dubious political allegiances between Western nations etc is foolhardy because it s ultimately nothing more than an enjoyably brainless summer blockbuster that just so happens to be released a few months ahead of time Forget logic forget realism forget originality this is the very definition of a does what it says on the tin popcorn movie By the time Butler profanely tells you how thirsty he is it s time to throw your hands up and embrace the silliness aaron eckhart angela bassett featured gerard butler london has fallen morgan freeman movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/london-has-fallen-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Anomalisa Movie Review
    choice to have all but the two leads look and sound pretty much identical is a fascinating one the name of the fictionalised hotel location Fregoli is actually a real life medical disorder in which the sufferer believes everyone around them is the same person and it lies at the heart of what the film is trying to say Michael sees Lisa as special an anomaly standing out from a world that has grown painfully generic to him But is it proof that soul mates really do exist Or simply rose tinted even delusional wishful thinking that this wonderful singular connection can last forever Kaufman manages to explore these things and much more besides in a genuinely insightful heartfelt way that avoids manipulation while allowing the film to wear its emotions firmly on its sleeve We don t get films like Anomalisa very often Not just because of the distinctive stop motion style but because of how unafraid it is of brutally frighteningly honest introspection Profoundly melancholic awkwardly funny charmingly strange and subtly moving all at once it may not be live action but this is more human than most other movies that you re likely to see anomalisa charlie kaufman david thewlis duke johnson featured jennifer jason leigh movie reviews tom noonan About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/anomalisa-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Grimsby Movie Review
    the inside of an elephant as a hiding place it s this obsession with ridiculing anyone it sets its sights on that changes it from heartily joshing around to just being needlessly mean spirited Being invited to laugh at how ridiculous Cohen is being opposite his straight faced co star to his credit he s never been afraid to make himself look like an utter idiot on screen is one thing but there s something singularly rancid when the repeated butt of a joke is people being accidentally infected with HIV Aids Cohen s previous work however brash had something of a satirical edge making a point about people s preconceived notions and fears about how others should live their lives But sadly that witty backbone has been lost in Cohen s foray into silly vulgar blockbuster territory which takes fat shaming xenophobia and class ridicule to new levels Lewdness is a valid form of comedy but however bold in may be in its attempt to shock you into laughing this is a bad taste that s hard to wash out featured ian mcshane isla fisher louis leterrier mark strong movie reviews sacha baron cohen About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/grimsby-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Hail, Caesar! Movie Review
    Big Lebowski the kidnapping aspect of the plot is merely that an aspect and entirely incidental to the rest of it It s merely the tunnel through which we experience the rest of the frequently hilarious characters and set pieces Unlike the recent Trumbo which dealt with very much the same era but in a weightier way this feels altogether more affectionate The Coens clearly have a fondness for the era and that shows in every impeccably designed frame of the film It pokes fun at the stylising and absurdity of the times but it s more like good natured joshing rather than self satisfied mockery It s like Barton Fink s even goofier cousin Fans of that singular time in Hollywood history will have an absolute blast as the film dips its toes into the different styles from hyperreal noir to high society costume comedy drama to Gene Kelly esque musical numbers It s a juggling act pulled off beautifully The eclectic characters are all brought to life by a game star studded cast that clearly couldn t be having any more fun Though some are admittedly short changed namely Jonah Hill who appears in only a single scene with very little to do or say for the most part each are allowed to make their mark from Clooney s Charlton Heston like megastar to Tilda Swinton s twin reporters desperate for that next big story But it s Channing Tatum who is the real shining star of the film appearing as an all singing all tap dancing sailor in a scene that has to be seen to be believed Clearly the Jump Street franchise isn t the only time he can be funny Hail Caesar may not be the weightiest of offerings from the brothers Coen but the chuckles are far from mirthless here Absolutely bubbling with personality and charm to spare there s a lot of joy to be had in this funhouse of old Hollywood nostalgia alden ehrenreich alison pill caesar channing tatum coen bros coens featured george clooney hail jonah hill josh brolin movie reviews ralph fiennes scarlett johansson tilda swinton About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/hail-caesar-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-11