web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • The Last Circus Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    impossible to guess which direction the film is going to go Along with the sheer strangeness of it all the unpredictability is what makes the film so much damn enjoyable This is a surprisingly violent film with more brutal brawling machete chopping and fatal gunshot wounds than you might expect from a film about two clowns vying for the love of a woman It could be construed as being needlessly vicious and sadistic but it s all so bizarre and over the top that you take the violence as part of the silly fun as opposed to it causing much offence One of the great things about film festivals is that you can sit down to watch a film knowing next to nothing about it and be completely surprised by it The Last Circus is most definitely one of those films Its inherent strangeness only adds to the fun instead of being distraction a difficult feat which Iglesia pulls off with aplomb eiff 2011 movie review the last circus About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-the-last-circus-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Project Nim Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    may even say novelty idea at the beginning turns out to be something of a disaster Marsh has already proven himself with the compelling Man On Wire that he is an expert documentarian and he continues to prove that with Project Nim He manages to wring laughs and heartache and everything else in between out of this bizarre tale without getting needlessly sentimental or preachy That s a tough thing to pull off in a documentary Deftly exploring the question of nature versus nurture although I personally would have liked to have seen the issue of what happened to Nim s mother after he was taken away from her explored a little more Project Nim is a fascinating insight into the ways of an animal so close to that of humans and yet so different at the same time skillyfully telling both sides of the story And ultimately in interesting ways it explores the idea that tampering with their natural way of life is surely not a good thing This has audience pleaser written all over it eiff 2011 movie review project nim About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-project-nim-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Elite Squad 2 Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    doesn t lie down Although some may argue it was only inevitable that things moved on from being solely set in the gritty slums of Rio exploring the who and why behind the what and how it does make for a less purely enjoyable experience than the first one Whereas before there was just enough of the politics without going overboard Elite Squad 2 too often gets lost in its own bulkiness However when the volume is turned up to 11 so to speak the sequences are on par with the previous film with plenty of chasing and bullet spraying just what you want and expect from this type of a film Excessive and overstuffed this is a bit of disappointment when compared to the first film But there s more than enough there for those who enjoyed the City of God esque world last time around eiff 2011 elite squad 2 movie review About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-elite-squad-2-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Shut Up Little Man! An Audio Misadventure Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    familiar with this Audio Vérité basically real sounds from everyday life phenomenon despite its cult popularity over the last 20 plus years And as the film delves deeper into the bizarre success it s almost hard to believe it s a true story Writer director Matthew Bate impressing with his first full length documentary tells this weird story with a lot of visual snap crackle and pop bright colours bold fonts and creative montages etc to accompany the audio Despite the primary objective of the documentary being to inform you in an entertaining frequently silly way the film also raises some legitimate questions about voyeurism and the right to privacy Is what Mitch and Eddie did exploitation considering the success the two went on to have Or simply a knee jerk reaction to the noisy neighbours innocently leading to something much bigger This undoubtedly fun and inventive documentary asks those questions which are all the more relevant today taking what is at its core a very limited appeal subject matter and making it accessible and enjoyable for a wider audience eiff 2011 movie review shut up little man About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-shut-up-little-man-an-audio-misadventure-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Our Day Will Come Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    Sure Cassel s character is a racist primarily towards Arabs but it s more to do with one overbearing charismatic having inevitable influence and power over someone who is weaker than him The film isn t necessarily about Cassel s domineering Patrick more how he affects the impressionable and unstable Remy but it s hard not to pay the most attention to him Cassel has a unique presence one which has allowed him to become successful in Hollywood as well as in his native France and this is a juicy role for him that he grabs with both hands stealing just about every scene he is in Just what it is Our Day Will Come is trying to say about youth culture the potential influence of ones elders or even simply what it s like to grow up being different isn t always clear and the film builds to an unnecessarily over the top conclusion But when it works the film provides some shocking laughs and if nothing else it s worth seeking out for Cassel s captivating performance alone eiff 2011 movie review our day will come About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-our-day-will-come-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tomboy Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    ready to accept her gender because of how she looks At a lean 80 minutes Tomboy uses its time well to hit on pertinent issues and questions that are bound to arise when dealing with this sort of subject The short runtime is actually quite a relief as these sorts of films can often drag on for far too long the important stuff often being muddled due to the runtime Writer director Céline Sciamma knows what she s doing and doesn t waste a second getting her points across At once low key yet provocative understated yet brave Tomboy manages to communicate to the audience in an extremely effective way without crossing the line into showiness An impressive second feature from Sciamma the film deals with issues of acceptance youth identity and belonging by intelligent means eiff 2011 movie review tomboy About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest Reviews Hush Movie Review April 18 2016 0 The Jungle Book Movie Review April 18 2016 0 Criminal Movie Review April 18

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-tomboy-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Phase 7 Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    Phase 7 has very little of any of that Most of the film is either spent boringly with the two uninteresting leads bickering in their apartment or exploring the dangers of the mysterious virus and the affects it begins to have on the people trapped in the building both the direct effect of being infected and the psychological effects of being kept quarantined Whenever the film does try to break out from plodding along without much interesting happening the film doesn t seem to know what it wants to be intimate exploration of a relationship amidst a pandemic survival horror or political social commentary In trying to be all three and more it fails to get much right It does offer some fun moments particularly in the ridiculous last half hour however this Argentinean film could and should have delivered in spades but evidently just throwing everything in the cupboard into the cake mix doesn t always equal success eiff 2011 movie review phase 7 About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-phase-7-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Guard Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    laughs along with the winces of embarrassment as opposed to causing outright offence although there are bound to be some people out there who take it the wrong way It works because we re not necessarily laughing at the one liners themselves but rather that Gleeson s character would be so audacious to even say them I m Irish racism is part of our culture he so plainly states when questioned on his racial slurs by Cheadle s perturbed fish out of water FBI agent The story which the astute black humor populates isn t the most original you re going to find with the basic mis matched partner scenario bringing nothing new to the crime comedy genre and the drug smuggling plot not exactly breaking much new ground However this is a comedy which stands on the shoulders of Gleeson and his interaction with Cheadle two more opposite actors you re not likely to find and the veteran actor carries it with apparent ease eiff 2011 movie review the guard About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/reviews-edinburgh-international-film-festival/eiff-2011-the-guard-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-11