web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » THOUGHTSONFILM.CO.UK

Total: 458

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • In Time Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    convincing a real problem when so much hangs on that relationship Supporting performances are patchy Cillian Murphy is solid as one of the Timekeepers who is constantly chasing Timberlake and Seyfried and Vincent Kartheiser who some will know as Pete Campbell from Mad Men is effective as Seyfried s rich snake like father But for every good performance there are cringe worthy others particularly Alex Pettyfer Stormbreaker Beastly I Am Number Four as an annoying unnecessarily prominent thug who steals time from people The film is produced written and directed by Andrew Niccol who gave us stuff like Gattaca perhaps the most underrated sci fi movie of the last 15 years S1m0ne and Lord of War weirdly he also wrote The Truman Show And while it s nice to see him get back to his sci fi roots this is decidedly less interesting of a film than he s done before with a lot less to say beyond pure surface level obvious and to be frank quite heavy handed societal statements That isn t to say In Time is a complete waste of time either and a lot more fun than perhaps I ve given it credit for above Like I said it has a fantastic premise and it does allow you wonder what it would be like to live in a society where you literally live on a timer albeit presented in a very slick Hollywood way There are a number of very well shot and choreographed action scenes one car chase on a bridge particularly stands out and a lot of running around to keep the pace swift Not that you should be going into In Time expecting a heady sci fi social allegory but it s disappointing both to see such a cool premise which should have Logan s Run alarm bells ringing not fully taken advantage of and a great director not reaching anywhere close to his past sci fi glory A film more interested in slickness and foot chases than ideas In Time is perfectly serviceable and enjoyable modern sci fi entertainment but overall nothing great This review was previously published at Blog Critics in time movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK on Twitter Follow TOF UK 405 people follow TOF UK NadiaHon DocShort SmokeyB Emfounda CinemaCo Artsploi Beggar M greekman RonaWill gilliany Latest

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/in-time-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • The Ides of March | Thoughts On Film
    Good Luck and Leatherheads standing as neither his best nor his worst effort The film does stumble a few times over its pleasingly brisk 100 minute runtime particularly when it comes to a few of the plot choices writers Clooney Grant Heslov and Beau Willimon adapting from his play Farragut North choose to utilize The script unfortunately takes its eye off the ball here and there sometimes favouring heavy handed dramatic twists one in particular involving Wood s character that ultimately that detract from the overall impact of the film While a perfectly serviceable and enjoyable look behind the flag curtain of politics The Ides of March doesn t push past that to become anything truly memorable The film does not have anything particularly revelatory to say with the simple Even the best of politicians do bad things sometimes barked at just about every turn It is unfortunate a film of this type doesn t bring anything fresh to the table It s a relatively safe piece which relies heavily on its cast but luckily that cast is easily one of the best assembled this year allowing for any glaring problems to be overlooked In short it is a shining example of what a strong cast can do for an otherwise fairly standard political drama This review was previously published at Blog Critics movie reviews the ides of march About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/the-ides-march-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Adventures of Tintin Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    lie in the way in which the overall mystery adventure plot is told Perfectly serviceable for film though the mystery may be the execution of it at times feels languid and stodgy like it s stumbling along from one eye catching setpiece to the next Also the way in which some of the on going mysteries are solved seem rather convenient in order to move things along For instance Tintin will be struggling to think of what do next and with a lightbulb above the head sort of moment will figure it out and off we go to the next mystery Maybe that sort of thing is in the original comics I m not overly familiar with them but it didn t entirely work in this particular adaptation It s just lucky all of those big set pieces are as entertaining as they are or the movie would be in real trouble Author Hergé s wonderfully bold and diverse array of characters are a mixed bag when it comes to how they ve been translated to the big screen this time around The eponymous Tintin works fantastically with Jamie Bell remember it is still him performing despite it being an animation delivering the sense of simultaneous wonder relatability confidence and scrappy determinism the role needs Motion capture master Andy Serkis puts in a fabulous performance as Captain Haddock spouting funny one liners at a rapid pace and providing just about all the best moments of comedy And Tintin s faithful dog Snowy although I felt could have been brought to life a bit better is undoubtedly cute and funny and will definitely be the favourite character of the kids in the audience Where the character translation is less successful with Thomson and Thomson played by comedy duo Simon Pegg and Nick Frost who pulled me out of the film just shot every time they appeared and with the villain Sakharine who may have been effective in the comics but here is the most generic thing in a sea of creativity even if it is fun to see Daniel Craig play the bad guy for a change While The Adventures of Tintin may not have fulfilled all its masses of potential what with the comic being so well loved and the creative talent involved it nevertheless is an enjoyable watch with some spectacular set piece lavish visuals and some fine motion capture performances But ultimately I find myself admiring the film making more than loving it as an overall experience This review was previously published at Blog Critics jamie bell movie reviews peter jackson steven spielberg the adventures of tintin About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/the-adventures-of-tintin-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Contagion Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    it explores the possibility of What if it had been a hell of a lot worse What if I hadn t gotten better It also bluntly draws attention to the fact that we touch our face taps door handles walls mobile phones and of course each other etc more than we might think therefore making you more socially aware I have to admit when walking out after seeing the film my awareness of those around me was heightened It s rare a mainstream film can have that sort of power beyond simply watching it For film buffs the draw will be director Steven Soderbergh himself who is apparently planning to retire after his next few movies who has been a critical success for more than two decades now with films like Traffic Out of Sight his two part Che biopic and even the successful Ocean s trilogy to name but a few However for mainstream movie goers the cast is going to be the draw and what an impressive cast it is with the likes of Matt Damon Gwyneth Platrow Kate Winslet Jude Law and Laurence Fishburne appearing But one of the greatest strengths of the movie is how it utilises that cast It s not in any way showy but plays it like an ensemble It doesn t go out of its way to dramatically introduce a particular star in a way that proclaims Hey look It s Matt Damon but gives them as much or as little screen time as the story needs a case of the actors serving the characters story and not the other way around as it should be With David Mackenzie s Perfect Sense Lars Von Trier s Melancholia and now Soderbergh s Contagion it s clear 2011 has been a year for worldwide apocalypse movies While the other two perhaps paint a more elegant maybe even beautiful view of that sort of story Contagion plays it entirely straight and completely realistic It s not a movie without its problems I think there are some cliche traps it falls into at times but for the most part this is an enthralling almost exhausting experience that s both strangely entertaining in the moment and has you pondering it afterwards This is the level that Soderbergh is able to work at even now and I think if he does retire the film world will be a lesser place without him This review was previously published at Blog Critics contagion movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/contagion-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Midnight In Paris Movie Review
    finding inventive ways to celebrate culture and history The key to enjoying Midnight in Paris is to throw caution to the wind and just go with it Allen is setting up perhaps one of his boldest plot structures in quite some time although he s not exactly known for going beyond dialogue not that s necessarily a bad thing If you have a problem with the main route the film goes down then you re not going to be anymore convinced as the film goes on However if you are willing to invest in the outlandish container for Allen s trademark charming insightful and truthful dialogue then Midnight in Paris is unmissable Sure it s a little too heavily on the glass is half full side of things and Allen doesn t quite seem to know how to wrap up all that he s laid out but for fans it s a melting pot of what makes his films his good films at any rate so rewarding to watch An utter joy This review was previously published at Blog Critics midnight in paris movie reviews About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and Japanese cinema Favourite films include The Big Lebowski Pulp Fiction and 2001 A Space Odyssey Twitter Facebook Related Posts Tweet Leave A Response Click here to cancel reply Name required Email required Website Comment Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter TOF UK

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/midnight-paris-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tyrannosaur Movie Review
    when it needs to be but Considine certainly isn t scared of taking it in some very dark directions All of this wouldn t work half as well if it weren t for the magnificent performances Scottish character actor Peter Mullan is in absolute top form here bringing a reliability to a character that acts pretty awfully at times he would be despicable and wholly unlikable in lesser hands Olivia Colman who some may know from the wonderful sitcom Peep Show is a revelation as Hannah and I think after this we will see her pop up a lot more in dramas as well as comedies The last piece of the acting puzzle is Marsan as Colman s sleazy despicable husband James Marsan has rarely been better even when he s not on screen he has far less screen time than the two leads you feel his presence just as Colman is constantly looking over her shoulder in fear of him Grim but completely rewarding Tyrannosaur is a remarkable debut from Considine Heartfelt yet devastating the film is essential viewing for fans who like their moods realistic powerful and uncompromising Considine is one of Britain s most talented actors working today and with his first film he proves himself a very talented writer director indeed Mightily impressive stuff This review was previously published at Blog Critics movie reviews tyrannosaur About the Author I m a freelance film reviewer and blogger with over 7 years of experience writing for various different websites In addition to my running editing and writing for Thoughts On Film I am also the freelance Film TV editor for Scotland based student magazine website Scotcampus I have a passion for all types of cinema and have a particular love for foreign language film especially South Korean and

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/tyrannosaur-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Drive Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    of a nervous disposition you might want to watch this one with caution It s hard these days to shock with violence purely because there s so much of it in movies and on TV that we ve become somewhat desensitised but there were at least five times at least throughout where my mouth dropped open in shock and awe of how violent it was That may sound like a knock but it s entirely the opposite This is dealing with serious situations and if they involve violence then it should be showcased in all its brutal reality Drive isn t afraid to show what would really happen if for instance someone was shot in the head Violence is not a nice thing so why should the film hide that fact Gosling plays just about the coolest character of the year within the coolest movie That stylish white satin jacket with added scorpion embroidered on the back that steely stare and that a tough demeanour which says don t mess with me or else even if he says only the bear minimum that he needs to a man of action not of words All of these things and more add up to one heck of a memorable protagonist Gosling puts in one of hiw best performances to go along with the likes of Blue Valentine and Half Nelson Drive also sports an impressive array of supporting actors including Brit actress Carey Mulligan Bryan Cranston Ron Perlman Albert Brooks playing wildly against type and Christina Hendricks The film does a good job of allowing each of them to have their time in the spotlight but still keeping Gosling centre stage You can t really talk about Drive without mentioning the soundtrack It s arguably the best movie soundtrack of the year consisting of a combination of original music by Cliff Martinez The Lincoln Lawyer Contagion and existing songs together giving off a distinctly 80s synth vibe which again helps to make the film more than just your average crime thriller The music is almost like a character in and of itself something of a trademark and considering there are lots of segments without dialogue the music fills and overlays those moments quite perfectly Drive cruises a long at wonderfully judged pace quiet and methodical when it needs to be but still turning everything up to 11 if and when the moment calls for that sort of thing For the most part it s more of a stylised slow burner than you might expect more interseted in how things are presented technically but that s part of what makes it so great Absorbing audacious and utterly compelling this is undoubtedly one of the films of the year because perhaps above all else it s entirely unpredictable how many films can you truly say that about these days Drive is out on DVD and Blu ray now This review was previously published at Blog Critics drive movie review About the Author I m

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/drive-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy Movie Review | Thoughts On Film
    as this not holding your hand while walking through the fog It s ambiguous in the best of ways reaching the level of intrigue but not frustration It s left up to you decide what certain things could mean even down to things like crucial character motivations It understands that life isn t simple especially the type of life it depicts and doesn t go out of its way to tie everything up with a neat bow The film is understated but still shocking when it needs to be and even the latter infrequent moments serve a clear purpose and aren t just there for the sake of it in order to spice up the proceedings There s plenty of intrigue in the abundant mystery to hold attention It all unfolds like a jigsaw puzzle being solved at first it looks like a huge jumble but as the pieces of the puzzle get put together the overall picture becomes clearer And most importantly it feels like you re the one completing the jigsaw Next up the cast There are wonderful performances across the board as if that even needs to be said Where do you even start I suppose it has to be with Gary Oldman who puts in one of his best ever performances that s especially impressive given the career Oldman has had one which should bag him his first ever Oscar nomination yes really and there s a good chance he may win too It s very nice to see him take center stage when he s so often supporting others bringing a quiet aged wisdom and inherent likability to the role of George Smiley However the film is arguably as much an ensemble piece as it is a showcase for Oldman The likes of Tom Hardy Colin Firth Ciarán Hinds Toby Jones John Hurt Benedict Cumberbatch TV s modern day Sherlock Holmes Mark Strong and David Dencik are all fantastic in their respective roles each getting their own times to shine at different points throughout Once the who is the spy plot point is introduced you start to look at each of them with distrustful eyes sure one minute that a certain character is the mole before another does something out of sorts and your suspicions turn to them Trust no one suspect everyone The score by Alberto Iglesias The Skin I Live In is subtle yet memorable helping to give the film its pulse And the cinematography by Hoyte Van Hotyema reuniting with his Let the Right One In director is soft easy on the eyes and goes a long way to capturing the Cold War time period so much so that it often feels like it was genuinely made all those years ago If the film lacks anything it s emotionality There s no doubt you care for these characters although that s perhaps down to the skill of the performances but the film keeps you at a distance throughout meaning you might not

    Original URL path: http://thoughtsonfilm.co.uk/movie-reviews/tinker-tailor-soldier-spy-movie-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-16