web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » TOMJUPITER.CO.UK

Total: 417

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review: I'm So Excited | tomjupiter
    most recently brought us The Skin I Live In which was a very dark stylish thriller His new film is very much the opposite awash with bright colours latin temperaments and full of comedy music and sex A plane is en route and in the air when the pilots discover a problem which means that landing will be extremely dangerous The crew respond in a variety of ways mainly getting drunk and then performing a full dance routine to the song I m So Excited to cheer the passengers up They decide that the best course of action will be to give their passengers a cocktail which includes mescaline It s not long before various people have coupled off and become a little more amorous Behind the fizz fervour and frivolity is a dark edge though with death also being an important presence throughout the film Each of the passengers has an outrageous backstory which we are given the chance to explore The performances are appropriately dramatic and the cast perfectly put together Almodovar certainly has a touch for casting Some of the jokes are a little blunt and there is certainly a heavy reliance on gay stereotypes although in

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/review-im-so-excited/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • I'm So Excited Archives | tomjupiter
    am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home I m So Excited Tag Archives I m So Excited Review I m So Excited This entry was posted in Film Reviews I Review and tagged documentary film review I m So Excited on April 29 2013 by Tom I m So Excited is the new film from Pedro Almodovar who most

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/im-so-excited/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • April 29, 2013 | tomjupiter
    who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home 2013 April 29 Daily Archives April 29 2013 Review I m So Excited This entry was posted in Film Reviews I Review and tagged documentary film review I m So Excited on April 29 2013 by Tom I m So Excited is the new film from Pedro Almodovar who most recently

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/2013/04/29/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Review: Iron Man 3 | tomjupiter
    in the UK was one of the best films of 2012 and really can t be topped as a summer blockbuster Iron Man 3 had the difficult task of bringing us back down after the heady highlight of Avengers and it achieves this by bringing down our hero Tony Stark Having fought with gods and wormholes he is struggling to make sense of everything and is even suffering from anxiety attacks This time the threat is coming from a new terrorist the Mandarin who is played wonderfully by Sir Ben Kingsley A perfect choice of foe the Mandarin can represent many real world problems and serves excellently to bring the Marvel films back to Earth Kingsley is very good in the role with a performance that will stay with you for a while We also have Guy Pearce as Aldrich Killian leader of a think tank with a grudge against Tony Stark He doesn t get a great deal of screen time but is suitable creepy when needed The real strength of the Iron Man films has never been with the suit of armour but with Robert Downey Jr as Tony Stark and in this more than any other he gets centre stage This time however not as a platform to be a genius billionaire playboy philanthropist but as someone suffering and trying to find his place in a world that has changed around him Having said that the film is full of humour in characters and situations I laughed more during this than for most comedies Iron Man 3 doesn t forget its comic book origins or play it too straight The action scenes are exciting and innovative due in part to the new suit which has the ability to fly around in separate pieces There are also action

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/review-iron-man-3/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Iron Man Archives | tomjupiter
    who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home Iron Man Tag Archives Iron Man Review Iron Man 3 This entry was posted in Film Reviews I Review and tagged film review Iron Man Iron Man 3 Marvel Robert Downey jr on April 26 2013 by Tom I have enjoyed both Iron Man films even though the second had its

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/iron-man/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Iron Man 3 Archives | tomjupiter
    am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home Iron Man 3 Tag Archives Iron Man 3 Review Iron Man 3 This entry was posted in Film Reviews I Review and tagged film review Iron Man Iron Man 3 Marvel Robert Downey jr on April 26 2013 by Tom I have enjoyed both Iron Man films even though the second had

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/iron-man-3/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Review: Star Trek into Darkness | tomjupiter
    the greatness of this And then we get in to the nitty gritty Terrorism against Starfleet by Cumberbatch s mysterious enemy pushes the local officers into a frenzy of anger and vengeance Kirk being Kirk figures out a little more than anyone else so he and the Enterprise are sent on an assassination mission by Admiral Marcus They must use some new fancy and ultra secret photon torpedoes to take out the terrorist who just happens to be hiding on the Klingon homeworld of Kronos see note 4 There is some good old fashioned Star Trek moral angst and Kirk decides to capture this terrorist instead of killing him in cold blood Action follows It s exciting I really appreciate the larger role that Uhura plays in this new film series I think that it s in keeping with what Gene Roddenberry would have liked Upon capturing him it turns out that much like the rumours suggested Cumberbatch is indeed playing Khan and he claims that he is being manipulated by Admiral Marcus who wants to militarise Starfleet Oh lordy Khan This changes the film somewhat I really wish they hadn t done that So let s swing around the sun and go back in time a week to the screening of WRATH OF KHAN I attended Or maybe a few decades to its first release This film you see is iconic Khan and his feud with Kirk is iconic I know the film very very well And suddenly this new Star Trek is being directly compared to old Star Trek in my mind and I m sorry but new Trek just isn t going to win So some more action happens to get our heroes onto Admiral Marcus big battleship see note 5 The film then dispenses with the Admiral and places Khan in his throne as the main villain The brief period of who can I trust is certainly interesting but ultimately the answer is no one so back to the action What I found myself wanting here was for Khan and Kirk to become allies even friends It would have been an interesting flip of the relationship coin and a huge what if which could change everything in future installments of Star Trek After all what s the point of simply remaking the same damn thing What then follows is essentially a replaying of WRATH OF KHAN but with the pieces moved around Same dialogue Same shots Same everything except much much less emotion In WRATH OF KHAN the Kirk Spock dynamic had years of building and we had been a part of it With INTO DARKNESS we re simply told that they re friends and it s just not the same It was too early to tell this tale with these actors the bromance has yet to flourish I won t lie I did enjoy seeing the classic film mirrored in quite a geek way But I also found it very distracting What is interesting is

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/review-star-trek-into-darkness/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • S Archives | tomjupiter
    other Star Trek thoughts I m guilty I got too excited You see I have always been a Trekkie see note 1 I grew up watching Kirk and Spock on VHS I remember watching initially disliking and learning Review Safety Not Guaranteed This entry was posted in Film Reviews S on January 8 2013 by Tom An off beat comedy with a squishy odd romance in the classic Hollywood centre It all begins with the following ad found in a paper WANTED Someone to go back in time with me This is not a joke You get paid after we get back Must bring your own weapons SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED I have Review Skyfall 1 This entry was posted in Film Reviews Review S on November 9 2012 by Tom Of all the traditions of the James Bond series the caption at the ending James Bond will return is the one the producers have been most keen to stick to The films have adapted to changes in cinema sometimes leading the changes and the world not least the end of the Cold War yet Review Snowtown This entry was posted in Film Reviews S and tagged australia film review Snowtown on November 19 2011 by Tom Serial killing Australians are nice people too SNOWTOWN is the story behind the worst murders in Australian history those committed by John Bunting and his friends The film largely follows Jamie Lucas Pittaway a 16 year old victim of sexual abuse John becomes a father figure to him and his brothers strict but caring Jamie Review The Skin I Live In 1 This entry was posted in Film Reviews Gate Cinema S and tagged Almodovar film review The Skin I Live In on September 4 2011 by Tom A look at Almodovar s seriously

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/category/s/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-15