web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » TOMJUPITER.CO.UK

Total: 417

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Review: Captain Phillips | tomjupiter
    to a dirty car windscreen providing a stark atmosphere and giving greater contrast to the action that later builds The music also composed by Henry Jackman adds to the mounting and pervading sense of misfortune It cannot be described as melodic or even memorable however it has a thriller esque repetitiveness that is highly effective in playing on the nerves Let s face it any film starring Tom Hanks raises certain expectations with his positive reputation for immersing himself in the roles that he plays The heart warming single dad in When Harry met Sally 1989 his hilarious escapades in Big 1988 and later significant contributions such as Castaway 2000 and the unforgettable Forrest Gump 1994 Tom Hanks has a knack for playing defining roles and whilst he may not be generally viewed as trendy he unquestionably exudes quality and invariably conjures up a certain amount of nostalgia His recent revelation of having developed Type 2 diabetes due to repeated weight loss and weight gain for film roles demonstrates his extreme dedication and commitment This film is no exception and he doesn t disappoint as Captain Richard Phillips C aptain Phillips co stars Barkhad Abdi who if I may I will dub The Stare This is his film debut and he comes across as highly enigmatic He plays Abduwali Muse leader of the Somali pirates who is both cut throat and yet shows glimpses of a sympathetic edge We are given a slight insight into the clan pressures Abduwali faces I ve got bosses he says in justification for his actions One is really left not knowing whether to empathise with him or despise him However by the end of the film he reaches a stage where he has come too far and he displays a ruthlessness that leaves you

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/review-captain-phillips/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • November 3, 2013 | tomjupiter
    on SuA Picturehouse Trailers Just who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home 2013 November 03 Daily Archives November 3 2013 Review Captain Phillips This entry was posted in Film Reviews on November 3 2013 by Tom Tom Hanks Somali Pirates Based on a True Story Does this sound like the perfect combination for a thriller It certainly gave

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/2013/11/03/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Review: Red River | tomjupiter
    opens with Thomas Dunsen John Wayne leaving a wagon train and heading out to Texas to build his own ranch with only his old friend Groot Nadine Walter Brennan They come across a boy who has survived an attack on the wagon train Matt Garth They quickly establish an odd family unit with Dunsen and Garth falling into a strong father son relationship The story then jumps a few years and both the ranch and Garth have grown he is now played by Montgomery Clift Dunsen decides it is time to move the entire herd to Missouri to cash in on all of his hard work RED RIVER is one of those rare Westerns Here cowboys are cowboys We can see the effort and skill that goes into moving a huge herd across a great expanse There are spectacular scenes but also smaller tense moments as well as great joy and excitement it is truly cinematic This is Thomas Dunsen s story John Wayne is a big guy and he fills the screen To begin with this is a reassuring thing we understand that John Wayne is a hero and he will make sure that everything is fine As the film progresses and the problems they face begin to stack up Dunsen becomes harder on his men This is perhaps the brilliance of RED RIVER We see our hero become the villain and the reassurance that once came with his presence on the screen transforms into an almost unbearable threat Garth ends up taking the herd away from him in some wonderfully choreographed and emotional scenes Picked apart in the extras on the disc which are interesting and insightful To see Dunsen s dream become his obsession and then his downfall is a darker film than I had expected and

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/review-red-river/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • R Archives | tomjupiter
    2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home R Category Archives R Review Red River This entry was posted in Film Reviews R and tagged Cowboys film review Howard Hawks John Wayne Masters of cinema red river Western on October 29 2013 by Tom Once upon a time many moons ago Westerns ruled cinema Despite various recent attempts it does not look like they will be back modern audiences have moved on RED RIVER shows us just what a shame this is as we are losing a great setting for fantastic drama and character work Review Rouge Terracotta Festival 2013 This entry was posted in Film Festivals Film Reviews R Terracotta 2013 on June 25 2013 by Tom A real Hong Kong classic 1988 s ROUGE was the first film I saw at this year s festival and proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying film to ease myself into a weekend of cinema Looking for her long lost boyfriend Fleur Anita MUI places an ad in a local paper the twist being that Review THE RAVEN This entry was posted in Film Reviews R on March 12 2012 by Tom A tour of Studio

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/category/r/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Cowboys Archives | tomjupiter
    SuA Picturehouse Trailers Just who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home Cowboys Tag Archives Cowboys Review Red River This entry was posted in Film Reviews R and tagged Cowboys film review Howard Hawks John Wayne Masters of cinema red river Western on October 29 2013 by Tom Once upon a time many moons ago Westerns ruled cinema Despite

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/cowboys/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Howard Hawks Archives | tomjupiter
    Picturehouse Trailers Just who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home Howard Hawks Tag Archives Howard Hawks Review Red River This entry was posted in Film Reviews R and tagged Cowboys film review Howard Hawks John Wayne Masters of cinema red river Western on October 29 2013 by Tom Once upon a time many moons ago Westerns ruled cinema

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/howard-hawks/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • John Wayne Archives | tomjupiter
    Picturehouse Trailers Just who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home John Wayne Tag Archives John Wayne Review Red River This entry was posted in Film Reviews R and tagged Cowboys film review Howard Hawks John Wayne Masters of cinema red river Western on October 29 2013 by Tom Once upon a time many moons ago Westerns ruled cinema

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/john-wayne/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Masters of cinema Archives | tomjupiter
    Trailers Just who am I Top 5 films of 2013 Top 5 films of 2012 Top 5 films of 2011 Home Masters of cinema Tag Archives Masters of cinema Review Red River This entry was posted in Film Reviews R and tagged Cowboys film review Howard Hawks John Wayne Masters of cinema red river Western on October 29 2013 by Tom Once upon a time many moons ago Westerns ruled

    Original URL path: http://tomjupiter.co.uk/tag/masters-of-cinema/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-14