web-archive-uk.com


Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:


Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » TOPSAIL-ADVENTURES.CO.UK

Total: 192

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Topsail Adventures Ltd - (Nearly) Champions, the 2008 Pilot Cutter Review
    proper started on Saturday which dawned wet and breezy There was frantic action in St Mawes Bay as the fleet jockeyed for position and a collective Ooooff was heard as Hesper and Marian had a thankfully minor collision manoeuvring for the start line Both boats emerged pretty much unscathed which says a lot for the construction of these vessels as we heard the bang from half way across the bay Then we were off tacking out of Falmouth Harbour up to the windward mark some 4 miles out to sea watched from Black Rock by some interested seals After clawing our way up to the windward mark we then had two reaches to cover to the finish line which saw some fantastic high speed action as we all crammed on sail and shot across Falmouth approaches to the finish line back in St Mawes Bay First across the line on day 1 was Iris I think we were some way behind followed by Jolie Brise Mascotte and then us on Agnes although thanks to the handicap given to us by Jolie and Mascotte we finished second Day two dawned even windier than day one and the big boys of the fleet congregated out on Carrick Roads for a bit of a thrash around before the start We have some great video of this that we ll try to get up soon but hopefully the pictures give some sense of what if feels like to see one of these wonderful vessels pounding along Day two was less incident prone but with the greater breeze still managed to be a whole lot more fun than day one We managed a creditable 5th on handicap having passed AJ half way up the final leg in an exciting drag race back to the line

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/LatestNews/Nearly-Champions-the-2008-Pilot-Cutter-Review.html (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Topsail Adventures Ltd
    confirm availability and answer any queries that you ve posted Start Here Trip Details n AR16 05 St Mawes Pilot Cutter Review Which trip you are interested in How many berths How many berths are you interested in Name What s your name Email address What s your email address Phone Number What s your phone number Preferred Contact Method Contact me via email Contact me via phone How would you prefer to be contacted Enquiry Do you have any questions you d like us to answer That s it You re done Now click the submit button over here Pilot Cutter Charter Topsail Adventures offer skippered charter sailing holidays aboard Pilot Cutter Amelie Rose our replica 1850 s Isles of Scilly Pilot Cutter Join us for an adventure sailing holiday along the South Coast of England cruising the Solent West Country and Isles of Scilly as well as around the Channel Islands and Brittany Coast and to traditional boat festivals like Yarmouth Old Gaffers YOGaff the St Mawes Pilot Cutter Review Brest Festival Les Tonnerres de Brest 2012 and Douarnenez Festival 2012 Sailing aboard a Charter Pilot Cutter is an exciting adventure into the world of traditional boats from

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/component/option,com_performs/Itemid,322/formid,183/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Topsail Adventures Ltd - 7 Great Reasons to do Your Competent Crew Aboard a Traditional Boat in UK Waters
    board and more time working the boat and learning stuff It means that popping down below to go to the loo happens when you want to not when the boat finally makes it to calmer waters It means making a cup of tea for everyone is a nice way to get out of the wind for 5 minutes rather than a quease inducing exercise best suited to someone with gecko pads on their hands and feet It also means that you learn to control the boat with ropes cleats bollards and fenders when mooring because you re not simply going to lean out and pull this girl into the berth with a boat hook not on your nelly You re going to learn to control the rig with just rope and tackle all that sail dropping exactly when you want it to using nothing but a turn around a belaying pin to take the tension A busted winch won t be a bother to you because you ll understand the principals involved in managing a much bigger rig with nothing but some blocks some rope someone to sweat and someone to tail 4 Jobs need teams not loners While we re on about sweating and tailing the process by which a team of folks tension up a line it s a good time to talk about the differences in the level of team work involved in working a traditional boat versus the modern equivalent Modern boats replace the need for a team of folks to work together by introducing powerful machinery such as winches and geared or even motorised windlasses that are often operated by a single crew In contrast weighing anchor aboard Amelie Rose is a 3 person job Raising the mainsail usually keeps four crew occupied for a good 10 minutes Learning how to work together with your crew mates is not only good for your soul but also gives you the skills to get the job done aboard any boat when all that fancy modern gear breaks down as it does 5 There s more to do With up to five sails to hoist trim and drop again and some 36 ropes involved in controlling it all there s no shortage of jobs to be done That means lots of repetition of those skills and techniques that you re trying to learn With a modern teaching boat once the main and jib are up there s very little else to do until it s time to pack it all away again The advent of self tacking jibs mean that even a good beat to windward can leave a crew twiddling their thumbs for want of a job that needs doing Tacking Amelie Rose is task that ll keep five crew members fully occupied each with a key part to play in the successful execution of the manoeuvre and that s whilst flying only her basic suit of 3 sails 6 Interesting waters interesting weather If you only

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/LatestNews/7GreatReasonstodoYourCompetentCrewAboardaTraditionalBoatinUKWaters.html (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Topsail Adventures Ltd - Six Reasons to do Your Day Skipper on the Amelie Rose
    a real class act For that I truly thank you Your passion for what you do is evident and I wish you the very best for the future You absolutely deserve it I will spread the word Bruno Nantes France I can t resist telling you again how great was this RYA course I could write down a whole book about the enormous advantages one can find sailing with you and Amelie Rose So if you want any testimony on behalf of a Frenchman I can send you 100 Indeed 100 details made this trip a long lasting success for me First of all I did appreciated your accurate knowledge and your ability to share it with us not only the technical aspect of sailing but also these historic and funny sea stories which are essential to maritime culture 2 6 ho I also thank you for your patience You have always been ready to explain and explain again Your cooking talent was a genuine reward after harsh physical and intellectual efforts Let me also tell you that Amelie Rose is according to me a perfect boat to learn She brought us up to the true maritime spirit giving the keys of the language of the sea I confess I felt proud to be on her as people from other boats were waving at us Thanks to you I have recovered self confidence in sailing David London Excellent all round Teaching was top notch cheerful clear calm and good in allowing students to learn through mistakes Colin Middlesex Thanks again for a very enjoyable and informative trip Just wanted to say that it was obvious to me that you take the instructors role seriously and the course was carried out with great attention to detail I am so glad I

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/LatestNews/SixReasonstodoYourDaySkipperontheAmelieRose.html (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Topsail Adventures Ltd - Want to do RYA Coastal Skipper on a Proper Boat?
    take command of a yacht on longer coastal passages both by day and by night Just like the shore based Coastal Skipper Yachtmaster develops what has been learned on the Day Skipper theory course Coastal Skipper takes what has been learned on the Day Skipper Practical adds a few more tools to the box and then shows how to apply them to safely complete more complex passages Run in a similar 5 day format to the Day Skipper the course will weather permitting provide trainees with the opportunity to experience pilotage and passage making at night as well as spending more time perfecting their boat handling under power and sail There is also an increased focus on passage planning command of the vessel meteorology and coping with emergency situations and adverse weather conditions We re really looking forward to offering this course on Amelie Rose as we think she s the perfect boat for the job Long keeled with a full forefoot heavy displacement and a powerful low aspect rig she s a fantastic sea boat and this course more than any other in the RYA Syllabus is about spending time at sea so they ll be perfect partners We ll be running the courses on an on demand basis in one or more of the RYA Course slots in our schedule although we can put on more dates later in the year if necessary so if this sounds like just the ticket for you contact Nick now on 0800 773 4264 email him at This e mail address is being protected from spam bots you need JavaScript enabled to view it or use the booking enquiry form on our website Call Send SMS Add to Skype You ll need Skype Credit Free via Skype Back Pilot Cutter Charter Topsail

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/LatestNews/WanttodoRYACoastalSkipperonaProperBoat.html (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Topsail Adventures Ltd
    confirm availability and answer any queries that you ve posted Start Here Trip Details n AR16 03 RYA Course Which trip you are interested in How many berths How many berths are you interested in Name What s your name Email address What s your email address Phone Number What s your phone number Preferred Contact Method Contact me via email Contact me via phone How would you prefer to be contacted Enquiry Do you have any questions you d like us to answer That s it You re done Now click the submit button over here Pilot Cutter Charter Topsail Adventures offer skippered charter sailing holidays aboard Pilot Cutter Amelie Rose our replica 1850 s Isles of Scilly Pilot Cutter Join us for an adventure sailing holiday along the South Coast of England cruising the Solent West Country and Isles of Scilly as well as around the Channel Islands and Brittany Coast and to traditional boat festivals like Yarmouth Old Gaffers YOGaff the St Mawes Pilot Cutter Review Brest Festival Les Tonnerres de Brest 2012 and Douarnenez Festival 2012 Sailing aboard a Charter Pilot Cutter is an exciting adventure into the world of traditional boats from Nelson s era

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/component/option,com_performs/Itemid,322/formid,181/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Topsail Adventures Ltd
    availability and answer any queries that you ve posted Start Here Trip Details n AR16 15 RYA Course Which trip you are interested in How many berths How many berths are you interested in Name What s your name Email address What s your email address Phone Number What s your phone number Preferred Contact Method Contact me via email Contact me via phone How would you prefer to be contacted Enquiry Do you have any questions you d like us to answer That s it You re done Now click the submit button over here Pilot Cutter Charter Topsail Adventures offer skippered charter sailing holidays aboard Pilot Cutter Amelie Rose our replica 1850 s Isles of Scilly Pilot Cutter Join us for an adventure sailing holiday along the South Coast of England cruising the Solent West Country and Isles of Scilly as well as around the Channel Islands and Brittany Coast and to traditional boat festivals like Yarmouth Old Gaffers YOGaff the St Mawes Pilot Cutter Review Brest Festival Les Tonnerres de Brest 2012 and Douarnenez Festival 2012 Sailing aboard a Charter Pilot Cutter is an exciting adventure into the world of traditional boats from Nelson s era and

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/component/option,com_performs/Itemid,322/formid,191/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Topsail Adventures Ltd
    holidays aboard Pilot Cutter Amelie Rose our replica 1850 s Isles of Scilly Pilot Cutter Join us for an adventure sailing holiday along the South Coast of England cruising the Solent West Country and Isles of Scilly as well as around the Channel Islands and Brittany Coast and to traditional boat festivals like Yarmouth Old Gaffers YOGaff the St Mawes Pilot Cutter Review Brest Festival Les Tonnerres de Brest 2012

    Original URL path: http://www.topsail-adventures.co.uk/index.php/component/option,com_performs/Itemid,315/formid,23/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive



  •  


web-archive-uk.com, 2017-12-14