Web directory, archive
Search web-archive-uk.com:

Find domain in archive system:
web-archive-uk.com » UK » T » TQSMAGAZINE.CO.UK

Total: 278

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Time Bandits (reviewed by an 11 year old) | TQS Magazine
    get a bit bored because they wouldn t understand it They might get excited if they thought it was battle axe Hobbit dwarves but then they might get disappointed and not watch How do you think it compares to more modern films Well I didn t realise it was old I genuinely thought it was new Well I realised when I saw the floating head of the creator but no the story and the acting was great Better than the acting in Pacific Rim actually The copy that we watched had been digitally remastered What did you think of the effects Well apart from the floating head the film looked new If they released it in the cinemas again I think people would go and see it The effects looked good but maybe they could release this one for people who don t want the film to change and then one with all new CGI for kids Like one where the head actually looks like a head like a real face then I think more children would go see it Oh the big man with the ship on his head was awesome So strange but cool The director Terry Gilliam is famous for his strange films Do you think you would seek out more to watch Yeah definitely you don t really get films that random now So what did you think about the end I didn t like it when his parents died Maybe the creator could bring them back like if there was a second film but I guess Kevin wanted to live with Sean Connery when he was Agamemnon anyway so maybe he could go find him Would you like to see a sequel Yeah Although Jurassic Park 2 3 weren t very good Maybe Kevin could go find the dwarves again But they were really funny so they could be in a film on their own I would definitely watch that So does Time Bandits stand up with today s kids Well according to Oscar yes A child who was more than a little jealous of Kevin s satchel and polaroid camera but maybe not so much the kids glued to their blood soaked PlayStation games For a generation supposedly desensitised to violence he was surprisingly worried about the fate of poor Kevin s parents Worrying about how and where Kevin would go next conversely he was slightly more upset when the dog dies than when Figit one of the dwarves is crushed by a falling column When discussing the dwarves in the film it became clear that Oscar was very concerned about the political correctness of the film worrying about calling the actors dwarves and concerned about their treatment in the film When I explained that dwarf is not a derogatory term and that the film is in fact very PC not once making light of the actors small stature he was visibly relieved This distraction with political correctness is admirable but ultimately confusing for

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/time-bandits-reviewed-by-an-11-year-old/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Elysium Film Review | TQS Magazine
    her and her sick child Emma Tremblay there is a refreshing lack of sexual tension or even chemistry between them This noble desire to save his friend allows the plot to progress without becoming stuck in the quagmire that can be hastily written romances in an action film Despite Damon s A list status Sharlto Copley steals the show as sleeper agent Kruger who is called in to track down Max His South African accent coupled with his unfailing sense of comic timing just hits the nail on the head creating a menacing yet oddly likeable villain Blomkamp s not one to shy away from the weight social issues of the day but to him the sci fi always comes first Every car weapon and robot has the Blomkamp stamp on it somewhere with a background in CGI he is heavily involved in the minutiae of the film and that makes all the difference Elysium does not take place in some half baked version of the future there is a whole world surrounding the central plot a world we only see snippets of but one that is surely fully formed on a drawing board somewhere This depth of creativity radiates through the film the plot is simplistic but in that simplicity lays its genius At 1 hour 40 Elysium is perfectly balanced taking enough time to form relationships with the characters without dragging out the unnecessary violence that often come with an action movie While the Elysian medical technology gives new meaning to the unbeatable bad guy there is no 20 minute fight scene jumping through spurious reactors and it certainly is not missed By cutting the film down to it s essential parts Blomkamp is able to emphasise the short sharp action sequences the slow motion disintegration of a

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/elysium-film-review/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Film Blog | TQS Magazine - Part 7
    this just missing the point Mario and Luigi just got badass with Mario Warfare December 17 2012 no comments The King is missing and presumed dead Princess Peach is on the run A couple plumbers answer the call of duty and sign up to fight Introducing Mario Warfare Canary Wharf Screen Collaboration with BFI December 7 2012 no comments Season 4 of Canary Wharf Screen which will see Art on the Underground collaborate with BFI to produce a season of films showcasing previously unseen footage rare and restored film Four Stories Premiere December 6 2012 no comments Last week saw the premiere of Four Stories a short film series made in conjunction with Roman Coppola and his production company The Directors Bureau to which TQS was priviledged with an invitation 40 Goodies and 40 Baddies Posters December 4 2012 6 comments Featuring 80 of film s most iconic goodies and baddies these posters were one of our favourite parts of our visit to the V A s Hollywood Costumes Exhibition Hollywood Costume exhibition at V A Museum London December 4 2012 1 comment We took a trip to the V A museum to take a look at their Hollywood Costume

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/category/film-blog/page/7/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • A few fun facts about the Harry Potter films | TQS Magazine
    tour The tour takes in a spectacular handcrafted scale model of Hogwarts Castle It took 86 artists and crew members to construct the first version of the castle which was subsequently rebuilt and altered on numerous occasions for the following 7 films Over the life of the film s production the man hours taken to complete the work on the castle equate to over 74 years The sets The set of the Great Hall was used in all 8 films and features a solid York stone floor It can seat 400 children and the artificially aged house tables even have the artwork and graffiti of apprentice wizards engraved on them for authenticity Behind the high table is the mechanism for awarding house points which incorporates tens of thousands of Indian glass beads contained within four hourglasses Rumour has it this masterpiece of set design was responsible for a national shortage of beads when it was first installed During the filming of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire a giant water tank was built to create the water scene sequences of the Tri wizard Tournament This is the largest underwater filming tank in Europe and Daniel Radcliffe spent so much time in it that he completed his PADI diving certificate The reason for this incessant submersion was experimentation to create the illusion of Harry Potter s webbed hands The effect was finally realised for the screen with very fine ladies tights worn over his hands and arms The largest set created for the Harry Potter films was the Ministry of Magic It took 22 weeks to build the Ministry s Atrium which was large enough to contain 50 London buses From the largest sets to the smallest props no detail was spared in the making of the films In fact

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/a-few-fun-facts-about-the-harry-potter-films/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Film Review: The Lone Ranger | TQS Magazine
    order to reinvent the legend of the Ranger Pumped full of humour and action this adventure western does not fail to entertain and bring us some magnificently aesthetically astonishing images In order to allow for a family friendly film the humour and music cuts in at critical moments to ease the tension Any strong violence is completely avoided by the gaze of the camera The downfall being that the film often feels like it is dragging its heels Throughout the film John Reid represents a figure of the law who does not believe in the use of violence but instead puts his faith in the legal system to bring about justice However it is through a mask that he learns to see the truth behind the façade and embarks on a mission with Tonto to bring their own justice back into town With the mask on Reid becomes the Ranger and can act outside the law with no repercussions much like many of our beloved superheroes making him a superhero of the West Alongside this The Lone Ranger is set in a time when industrialisation is in full swing and a railway is set to be built directly through the settlements of various Native American homelands This particular film with its contrasts between the industrialised and native and the good and the bad represents the idea that cannibalism is the metaphor for unbridled consumerism This metaphor is explored through the character of Butch Cavendish who is a cannibalistic villain whose lust for violent consumption leads him to his doom With fantastic performances by Armie Hammer William Fitchner Ruth Wilson Tom Wilkinson Helena Bonham Carter and not forgetting Johnny Depp who manages to steal centre stage The Lone Ranger is an easy and enjoyable watch never quite getting too serious with

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/film-review-the-lone-ranger/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • WeGotPopUp: The Usual Suspects | TQS Magazine
    was great and the picture was nice and clear as it got dark so if you ve ever pondered that yourself then there s that question answered I went with my pal Lauren and we noted through our tears of loneliness and resentment just kidding we were actually having a right laugh administering squirty cream to strawberries that it s a great shout for a date Cosying up under a blanket to watch an ace film in a lovely outdoor setting with tiny picnic specific versions of food couldn t be a more ideal combination of factors There were food stalls in the gardens the pulled pork and fresh popcorn in particular smelling obscenely delicious We d also until that night completely missed the fact that Gus from Breaking Bad is the main detective in the film A pleasing discovery I m sure you ll agree It rained a little bit and in a thrilling display of practicality and foresight I didn t actually bring the poncho that WeGotPopUp kindly sent me so that was my bad As general note though wrap up warm as it does get sorta chilly sat in the park at night Who knew It was a lovely way to spend a Friday evening and WeGotPopUp are showing a ton of brilliant films in amazing locations over the summer so whether it s Moonrise Kingdom on a rooftop or Jaws at a waterfront bar that tickles your fancy if you want to impress your new bit of stuff with something a touch more inventive than an Orange Wednesday give this a go Peruse WeGotPopUp s many and varied offerings here Write up by Fiona Gales follow her on Twitter Sharing is caring Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Featured Film blog wegotpopup About admin View all posts by

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/wegotpopup-the-usual-suspects/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Film Review: Only God Forgives | TQS Magazine
    pleas unheard by the audience or the unrelenting vigilante cop Chang Vithaya Pansringarm Kristen Scott Thomas steals the show as Crystal a feisty American mom who comes to Bangkok in order to avenge the death of her drug dealer son Tom Burke With a harder exterior than we are used to she drives the films plot and is perhaps the only character we really get to know well That is the films main flaw the lack of dialogue restricts the level to which we can connect with the characters While Ryan Gosling eyes are lovely there are levels of emotion even he struggles to convey with a simple look and head tilt While Drive s simple cut back script threw an element of arthouse into a fairly mainstream movie Refn may have taken it a little far this time There is a danger that the lengthy sometimes uncomfortable silences will alienate the viewer especially those expecting a Tarantino esque Samuri film Only God Forgives is beautiful to watch every shot is brilliantly thought through and the violence is extensive but not all pervasive It certainly justifies its 18 certificate with some interrogation scenes that are not for the faint hearted And while Refn has claimed most of the violence is implied there are most certainly some toe curling moments in there This is not what you would call an enjoyable movie It makes you think and it gives you some wonderful and terrible images to take away with you but the stripped down script affects the plot in a way no amount of beautiful cityscapes and sleazy brothels can counter While the cinematography is no less than epic there is something lacking in the development of the characters that detracts irretrievably from the film Written by Charlotte Keeys who also

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/film-review-only-god-forgives/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

  • The Conjuring Trailer | TQS Magazine
    enjoying positive reviews from its release in the states The Conjuring smashed box office records for the biggest opening weekend for an original R rated Horror movie Watch the trailer below just make sure you turn the lights on first The Conjuring creeps its way into UK cinemas August 2nd Sponsored Post Sharing is caring Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Featured Film blog the conjuring About admin View all posts by

    Original URL path: http://www.tqsmagazine.co.uk/the-conjuring-trailer/ (2016-04-26)
    Open archived version from archive

web-archive-uk.com, 2016-10-24